We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Tomatoes

Sweet Tomatoes
12561 S Apopka Vineland Rd, Orlando, FL 32836 (Florida Center)
407-363-1616
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 3,143 Restaurants in Orlando
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Florida Center
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our favourite place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Of all the restaurants and food outlets we have been to in Orlando (we have holidayed there 8 times so far) this is our favourite place. Great homemade, fresh food and something for everyone. We love the fresh salads and especially the soups. Our son loves the home made bread, pizza and ice cream. It is a fantastic place and you can have as much bread, potatoes, soup, salad and dessert as you like. Try it once and you'll return, for sure.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    267
    68
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Always eat at Sweet Tomato when in Orlando but noticed past couple of times things seem to be on a downward slide, tepid coffee, mouldy creamer, in-imaginative dishes. When we were here in May 2013 two hot pasta dishes were both cheese based, n new appealing salad dishes and generally this one desperately needs a re-vamp. Wood Fire Grill put these to shame and they are not even a salad bar!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridge of weir
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

first time visit to this restaurant during a visit to florida. I love salad and soup however not a huge fan of buffet type meals as sometimes they can be less than fresh. Well this place is just fabulous, the salads were all lovely and really fresh tasting as was the soup. we were a party of 5 including two young kids. we spent time arguing about which was the best soup... all yummy. I dont usually eat baked potato as I prefer sweet potatoes but their bakes potatoes were fantastic, I had two. staff couldnt do enough for us and the meal was very reasonably priced. kids loved the ice cream and cakes. would highly recommend this place good food and good value. One of the best meals i had in florida. And they do take away.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Family favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Sweet Tomatoes is always a favourite in our family, with something to please everyone.

Huge choice of freshly made salads plus plain veg, toppings, drizzles etc so you can make your own combinations as well.

Then there's soups (jambalaya was kicking!), pastas, pizzas, potatoes, baked items, and lots of dessert items.

If you sign up for their newsletter, they will email you coupons and you can just show the email on your phone - our kids ate free this way, and it was really easy and great value.

Oh and dont forget to try the homemade strawberry lemonade, its really good stuff!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent choice, excellent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My hubby is a big salad fan while i'm not so i was a bit sceptical as i thought there wouldn't be anything for me and my fussy 9yr old to eat but i was so wrong.
As well as the biggest salad bar i have aver seen there were about 6 differents soups all freshly made with fresh bread, jacket potatoes along with all the toppings like cheese, bacon and sour cream, pizzas, pastas, corn bread and then puddings, ice cream along with all the toppings, chocolate lava cake, chocolate muffins, apple and cinnamon muffins and fresh fruit. Drinks were also a plenty with soft and hot drinks.
We went 3 times during our 17 day holiday. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Tomatoes also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Sweet Tomatoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Tomatoes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.