We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Tomatoes

Sweet Tomatoes
12561 S Apopka Vineland Rd, Orlando, FL 32836 (Florida Center)
407-363-1616
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 3,104 Restaurants in Orlando
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Florida Center
bridge of weir
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

first time visit to this restaurant during a visit to florida. I love salad and soup however not a huge fan of buffet type meals as sometimes they can be less than fresh. Well this place is just fabulous, the salads were all lovely and really fresh tasting as was the soup. we were a party of 5 including two young kids. we spent time arguing about which was the best soup... all yummy. I dont usually eat baked potato as I prefer sweet potatoes but their bakes potatoes were fantastic, I had two. staff couldnt do enough for us and the meal was very reasonably priced. kids loved the ice cream and cakes. would highly recommend this place good food and good value. One of the best meals i had in florida. And they do take away.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    257
    64
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Family favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Sweet Tomatoes is always a favourite in our family, with something to please everyone.

Huge choice of freshly made salads plus plain veg, toppings, drizzles etc so you can make your own combinations as well.

Then there's soups (jambalaya was kicking!), pastas, pizzas, potatoes, baked items, and lots of dessert items.

If you sign up for their newsletter, they will email you coupons and you can just show the email on your phone - our kids ate free this way, and it was really easy and great value.

Oh and dont forget to try the homemade strawberry lemonade, its really good stuff!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent choice, excellent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My hubby is a big salad fan while i'm not so i was a bit sceptical as i thought there wouldn't be anything for me and my fussy 9yr old to eat but i was so wrong.
As well as the biggest salad bar i have aver seen there were about 6 differents soups all freshly made with fresh bread, jacket potatoes along with all the toppings like cheese, bacon and sour cream, pizzas, pastas, corn bread and then puddings, ice cream along with all the toppings, chocolate lava cake, chocolate muffins, apple and cinnamon muffins and fresh fruit. Drinks were also a plenty with soft and hot drinks.
We went 3 times during our 17 day holiday. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haynesville, Louisiana, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Salad and Soup by the mile!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Oh, what a treat... Relatives picked us up at Rosen Shingle Creek for an evening out. They inquired with us about what we would like to eat for dinner. We agreed that we are not big meat eaters and there came the choice to take us for a new experience. I liked the name "Sweet Tomatoes"... I could smell the basil just thinking about it! There was salad and soup for miles. There were prepared salads and choices of lettuce and spinach and tons of other fixins with which to build the salad of your taste. There was a buffett bar of breads, one of desserts and a line of drink choices. Several chioices of ice cream and toppings made up yet another area of the restaurant. It was seniors discount day... Yeah, a discount! The crowd was diverse... Old, older, younger and the young. Old School music played softly... almost missed it, except you realized something was so calming in the place; it was the choice and tone of the music. I give this place rave and reviews!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartford
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful buffet type salad bar restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This restaurant is a great value, healthy local foods, salads of all kinds, dessert, baked goods, soups,chilis, make your own stuffed potatoes, pizza. Food is excellent, price is great, staff is great. If you haven't tried this you should.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Tomatoes also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Sweet Tomatoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Tomatoes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.