We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salad and Soup by the mile!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Tomatoes

Sweet Tomatoes
12561 S Apopka Vineland Rd, Orlando, FL 32836 (Florida Center)
407-363-1616
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 3,153 Restaurants in Orlando
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Florida Center
Haynesville, Louisiana, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Salad and Soup by the mile!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Oh, what a treat... Relatives picked us up at Rosen Shingle Creek for an evening out. They inquired with us about what we would like to eat for dinner. We agreed that we are not big meat eaters and there came the choice to take us for a new experience. I liked the name "Sweet Tomatoes"... I could smell the basil just thinking about it! There was salad and soup for miles. There were prepared salads and choices of lettuce and spinach and tons of other fixins with which to build the salad of your taste. There was a buffett bar of breads, one of desserts and a line of drink choices. Several chioices of ice cream and toppings made up yet another area of the restaurant. It was seniors discount day... Yeah, a discount! The crowd was diverse... Old, older, younger and the young. Old School music played softly... almost missed it, except you realized something was so calming in the place; it was the choice and tone of the music. I give this place rave and reviews!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    579
    267
    68
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hartford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful buffet type salad bar restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This restaurant is a great value, healthy local foods, salads of all kinds, dessert, baked goods, soups,chilis, make your own stuffed potatoes, pizza. Food is excellent, price is great, staff is great. If you haven't tried this you should.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvidTraveler57
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

If we are in a city and they have Sweet Tomatoes, we will go there to eat dinner. We love the large salad offerings, the large variety of soups to choose from, pasta, baked potatoes, frozen yogurt, fruit, and pizza available.

The price is reasonable for all the offerings available and most importantly, is very clean.

I'd give it more stars if they could open more locations!

Never disappointed at Sweet Tomatoes!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice buffet, but too expensive for what you get.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The food is good but not anything amazing. It depends heavily on the "theme" of the month and if you get lucky on how it was prepared that day. The main reason I find it's average is that the prices are becoming outrageous for the options available. I'd rather go to a sit down for those prices.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Love love love this place
Partner who is a very fussy eater even loved this buffet, not just for vegitarians and salad lovers they offer a variety of everything soups, baked potatoes, pizza bread, frozen yoghurt, fruit juice, smoothies, and obviously you full salad bar.
well worth a visit

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Tomatoes also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Sweet Tomatoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Tomatoes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.