We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The sparkle has left” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Melrose's Ristorante Italiano

Mama Melrose's Ristorante Italiano
3111 World Dr, Orlando, FL 32830
(407) 939-3463
Improve this listing
Ranked #322 of 3,167 Restaurants in Orlando
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Delight in traditional Italian cooking with contemporary flavors at Mama Melrose's Ristorante Italiano—a colorful, casual and family-friendly restaurant located in the heart of the backlot at Disney's Hollywood Studios theme park. Here, you'll take in the sights of Mama's favorite Hollywood memories as you savor the sumptuous aromas and flavors of Italy.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The sparkle has left”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Our family had to love mama melrose. Tucked away in a quite corner in the studios. The kids loved the pizza. But the past 3-4 times we have gone the service and some of the good items were less than good. The past 3 servers have not given us refills on drinks and seemed annoyed when we asked questions ( we have food allergies...which were on the reservation). This place has simply lost it's sparkle.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    348
    151
    60
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Lyon, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Way too heavy for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We were on the dining plan and the only thing available was this place for lunch. The meals were ridiculously big and wasteful. The calamari and tomato/mozzarella salad were very good. I don't think I'll be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Average Food - Dismal Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We must have gone on the wrong day/time. The food was average (think Olive Garden) and the service as very un-Disney. It took a full 45 mins to get our entrees and then another 20 for anyone to come by after we were done eating. The manager came by to apologize to the other tables but not to ours. Something was clearly going wrong in the kitchen. As we were leaving, the manager came over and asked about our experience. When I pointed out there clearly had been a problem - she sarcastically said "well thank you for your patience" turned her heels and stomped away. We were stunned.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Okay for Disney fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We ate dinner here as part of the Fantasmic dining package. We were unable to book the Fantasmic dining at any of the other restuarants that offered the package. Although hesitant to eat here after a bad experience many years ago, we decided to try it again so we could get preferred seating at the show.
We were pleasantly surprised to find out that the food had improved greatly since our last visit (the previous visit was really bad). The quality of the food was on par with Olive Garden. As with all Disney meals it was overpriced, but that's to be expected when dining at Disney.
Our server appeared tired/overworked, but did his best to offer a smile and answer any questions. The restaurant seemed to stay busy so I imagine he was legitimatly tired. He didn't rush us or ignore us so we were satisfied.
However, we did discover that the seating instructions for the dinner package were not accurate. They gave a time you could "start lining up for entry" so we arrived a few minutes before the time stated only to find out that many people with the dining package had been allowed in for seating way before us. I wouldn't purchase a dining package again because it wasn't necessary to get a good seat. If you want "prime" seating then go for a dining package, but you can get a seat with a good view and not spend the extra bucks.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Olive Garden is better!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

To start off Mama Melrose was part of the fantasmic dinner package so I decided to choose it over the Brown Derby, were I have dined before,to try something new. Big Mistake. Our waiter was Arthur and he was really rude and threw dishes at our face and tried to rush us out.The fried calamari was disgusting and spicy and unpleasant. I also had the steak, which was very untasteful and disgusting. To end the horrible dinner, my child had icecream and when I went to have a sample of it didn't even taste like icecream! So in my opinion it is a waste of money and time , and has food that should not be in Disney Parks , and the service is horrible. I recomend to dine at olive garden for a third of the price and 110% better food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Melrose's Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Mama Melrose's Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Melrose's Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.