We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best meal I have ever experienced.. Flavours will blow your mind!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jiko - The Cooking Place

Jiko - The Cooking Place
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge, 2901 Osceola Pkwy, Orlando, FL 32830
407-939-3463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 3,000 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Jiko – The Cooking Place fuses the bold flavors of traditional African, Indian and Mediterranean cuisine at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge.Twin wood-burning ovens roar and the soothing, warm colors of an African sunset bring energy to this remarkable restaurant. The menu features modern cuisine with an African flair. Delight your palate with dishes that change seasonally, such as braised short ribs, Chermoula-roasted prawns, and Peri Peri roasted chicken, along with conventional favorites. Take a culinary tour of Africa with tantalizing appetizers such as grilled wild boar tenderloin, crispy beef bobotie roll and brick oven-fired flatbreads. Watch the chefs prepare each meal in The Cooking Place, a show kitchen with a rich atmosphere befitting the beauty of this unique restaurant. Jiko also offers 2 tantalizing wine-and-dine experiences: Jiko Wine Dinner Series: Four times a year, Jiko partners with renowned winemakers from South Africa to take you on a culinary journey. The chefs prepare a 6- to 8-course meal carefully designed to complement the unique characteristics of the African terroir. As you dine, the winemakers paint a picture of their vineyards through the taste of their wines—and Jiko's Wine Room transforms into a mixture of flavors, friends, aromas and conversations that go into the night.Jiko Wine Tastings: Every Wednesday, explore the South African wine regions as you taste unique wines paired with artisanal cheese.Whether you're seeking a decadent wine dinner or a vibrant accompaniment to your meal, Jiko offers wine options to suit your style.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The best meal I have ever experienced.. Flavours will blow your mind!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Wow.
This place is incredible, we was 15 minutes late as we have just flew in from England for our honeymoon In Orlando, but this did not bother them, we went to the bar and had a cocktail each, highly recommend the "Hanging out in Cape Town" very strong though
We sat and 'Oscar' was our waiter, he was so friendly and helpful, we had some bread come to our table with this fantastic butter they specialise In, the flavours was unreal
We ordered the duck roll, and wild boar for starters both Absolutely out of this world, and I had the pork loin for mains which was sweet and full of flavour same for my spouses lamb, cooked to perfection and defiantly the best meal I've had in a long long time x worth the money ! And it's quite dress....

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    755
    205
    78
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wray, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I was really looking forward to Jiko on the last night of our vacation. The food was so spicy that our teenagers couldn't eat it (and they are very adventurous eaters). I would have thought that the waiter might have warned us about the spice. Also my husbands scallops were raw and cold. This was after waiting for a long time and the waiter admitting that they had to redo our meal once already. For the price, I would like to see Jiko be better all around. With so many good choices at Disney, we won't be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

What a gear to place to summon up your African adventure, Disney style. Make sure you make a reservation, and be prepared to wait a little bit. Stroll through the resort, marvel at the amazing lobby, and then be ready to sample some African culinary delights. The menu consists of mostly American friendly items, but the atmosphere is great. Make sure you try their soups and the zebra deserts!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

The food was excellent. By far the best we gave had at a Disney resort. Our server, Ron, made suggestions, and all if his suggestions were delicious. This restaurant is for couples or families. If you have young kids who can't sit still for very long, bring things for them to do, as there is no entertainment to keep them occupied. After dinner we walked past the pool to the Savannah Overlook and enjoyed seeing the animals. We can't wait to go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A little pricey - but very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Had the opportunity to dine here last weekend. I think they are a little overpriced but the food was outstanding and the service was very good as well. The wine list was fairly good too with a wide variety of prices and all from Africa. Between the three of us, we had monkfish, lamb, and scallops. All were done well, the scallops a little cool temperature wise. We had a nice bottle of white wine and my husband had two African beers. Overall everything was great but I think the price is too steep for the food. I will say they were not huge portions too thank goodness. My favorite at WDW is still The California Grill, but Jiko is also good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jiko - The Cooking Place also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Jiko - The Cooking Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jiko - The Cooking Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.