We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as Good as Remembered -Very Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Brown Derby

Hollywood Brown Derby
Disney's Hollywood Studios, Walt Disney World Resort, Orlando, FL 32830
407 939-3463
Improve this listing
Ranked #399 of 3,167 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Hollywood Brown Derby restaurant, open for lunch and dinner in Disney's Hollywood Studios theme park, serves contemporary American cuisine. Seasonal specialties include seafood, steak and poultry selections.The fact that the upscale atmosphere harkens back to the Golden Age of Hollywood is no coincidence. The Hollywood Brown Derby restaurant at Walt Disney World Resort is an authentic replica of the famous Brown Derby, a longstanding Hollywood landmark and haunt for Tinseltown's biggest and brightest personalities.""Meet me at The Derby!"" could often be heard crossing the lips of celebrities. Now you can say it, too, and join the glamorous company.The Hollywood Brown Derby restaurant redefines the concept of dining with the stars. The warm wood-paneled walls of this gourmet restaurant are adorned with caricatures of famous faces. The tradition of capturing the likenesses of luminaries began in the original Brown Derby restaurant.Other legacies carried over to The Hollywood Brown Derby can be found on the menu with the signature dishes. The famous Brown Derby Cobb salad follows the recipe created by Bob Cobb, the owner of the historic California Brown Derby. Another Brown Derby original is the light grapefruit cake with cream cheese icing.For an enhanced dining experience, request wine pairings with your meal for Guests 21 years of age and older. The extensive wine list also offers bottle or wines by the glass. Classic cocktails are poured tableside at The Hollywood Brown Derby restaurant.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not as Good as Remembered -Very Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This had always been one of our favorite restaurants...now, not so much. The Cobb salad was still excellent and the same as remembered, but our favorites were gone and the replacements did not appeal to us; we skipped the entrees entirely as a result. Even though it was a beautiful,sunny 80+ degree day they offered no outdoor tables.We strongly recommend checking the menu before you go and not to trust what is on the internet

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    239
    147
    67
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our party of 10 had dinner during Christmas week. Nothing terrible or bad, but we had eaten here in previous years, and the experience this time was far inferior. Service was fine, but somewhat cold, food was not as tasty, and portions were quite a bit smaller. The wine list was really insane. A bottle of literally $10 wine was over $50 and was the least expensive on the list. In previous years, this had been one of our favorite spots at Disney so we didn't mind the high prices. This time we left wondering how could we spend so much on such an average meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious and elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

A lovely fine dining experience. The price is reasonable compared to other fine restaurants, making it an excellent value for Disney. After several meals at their average restaurants, this was a much better deal. I had the filet and my daughter had the chicken. Both were prepared well and presented attractively. A less expensive choice, The Cobb Salad, was delivered to a neighboring table and looked fantastic as well. Treat yourself. It helped make the whole theme park vanish for a while.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent service & food! A great way to step outside of the theme park experience for awhile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Hollywood Brown Derby located in Disney's Hollywood Studios is a recreation of the original restaurant that was located in Hollywood, CA. The restaurant is a gourmet and deluxe restaurant and the food and service reflect that. This is a great place to go to have lunch or dinner and remove yourself from the hustle and bustle of the theme park. Once you are inside, you will feel like you are on a vacation from the theme parks. The staff is very friendly and "on their toes". Water and drinks were refilled without asking and our server was constantly asking how everything was and if we needed more rolls, etc. The pork chop with apple slaw was amazing and a nice, big portion was offered. Menu prices are a bit pricey, but that is what you would expect from a restaurant with top notch service and delicious and top notch food. The Cobb salad is a must try!. For dessert, leave room for the historic and delicious Grapefruit Cake. The cake is light and will satisfy your sweet tooth with a cream cheese icing and real grapefruit used in the cake.

Ask for a booth table... these tables are cozy, a little more private, and you will feel like a star.
This restaurant is great for a romantic dinner or to dine and feel like a star... you will be treated like one!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Some things better than others”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was our first experience at this restaurant and considering it is one of Disney's Signature restaurants I guess we were expecting a little bit more.

The atmosphere and service were good so no complaints there. There were 7 of us in the group and we didn't feel rushed either.

My husband got the appetizer portion of the Cobb Salad and I got the Crab Spring rolls. My spring rolls were delicious and the piece of crab claw was fantastic! Too bad there weren't more of those on there. My husband didn't say too much about his salad.

I ordered the Cobb Salad as my dinner entree as this is their 'signature' dish. I wish I had tried some of my husband's appetizer portion because if I did, I would have changed my dinner entree order. The lettuce tasted like it had been put through a blender! It was so chopped up it was mushy. The toppings were good but not like a 'wow!' It just wasn't that great. On the other hand, my husband loved his Seafood Cioppino. Our friend got the Duck Two Ways and enjoyed that too!

Considering the prices and not totally loving it, I don't think we'll go back here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Brown Derby also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Hollywood Brown Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Brown Derby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.