We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Vegan Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Cafe Restaurant

Garden Cafe Restaurant
810 W Colonial Dr, Orlando, FL 32804-7312
(407) 999-9799
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #727 of 3,180 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Vegan Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The food was very good and the different types of "food" were close to what they would taste like such as the beef and chicken. The spring rolls are delicious, not greasy at all. I tried the hamburger and it was also very good. The portions are good size. You will take some home with you.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, MI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No Gluten Free Options”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I wanted to eat at this restaurant on my recent visit, but being Gluten free I called to make sure it was safe. There apparently is nothing on the menu without Soy Sauce - therefore - no gluten free options. I was very bummed out because it had been recommended for the vegearian options!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Singapore rice noodle and really yummy "meats". This from a meat-eater!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

I eat meat, but I try to have at least one all vegetarian day a week. If I lived closer, I'd probably go here every time, but because it's about 40 minutes away, this place is just a special treat. The Singapore rice noodle, which I order extra spicy, is so delicious! The flavor is perfect, with crisp peppers and carrots, and my favorite part is the imitation meat. There's "shrimp", "chicken", and "pork", all of which have an amazing and moist texture that, in some ways, beats their real counterparts. (how many times have you eaten stringy dry chicken??)
I've had several other dishes that were excellent, as well as the fresh-made carrot juice. Healthy, quality vegan food!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Vegetarian paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011 via mobile

This restaurant makes you say "Wow...this is fake meat!" It's amazing. This restaurant is 100% veg; however, you'd never know it by looking down at your plate. What a great concept. So good. Huge portions too.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Veggie Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The Garden Cafe is one of the many establishments around town that have turned an old pizza hut into a great family restaurant, but this one is a little different. Along west Colonial just past I-4 before OBT is a little dive called the Garden Cafe. It is a Vegetarian Chinese Restaurant. Now you have had Vegetarian, you have probably had Indian Vegetarian, but his is Chinese Vegetarian. What is great is that normally, I have to order vegetable dishes at restaurants while my wife orders her BEEF, CHICKEN OR PORK DISHES. Than the next week we might go to a veggie place, where she will sit grumpy. My wife, a carnivore, loves this place. She orders their Young Chow Fried Rice and "Chicken" Sweet and Sour and we share it together. Sure they sell the "tofu" based fake me substitutes, but they also sell authentic tofu dishes you can not find anywhere else like Mi Mao and Pi Pao. My favorite is there Wonton Soup and Beef with Broccoli, yum. So don't let the location or building scare you, Garden Cafe is clean and a true Veggie Delight!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Garden Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Cafe Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.