We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unremarkable experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Fish Cafe

Flying Fish Cafe
2102 N. Epcot Resorts Blvd., Disney's BoardWalk Resort, Orlando, FL 32830
407-939-3463
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 3,178 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An unremarkable experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

As Disney regulars, I guess my family had higher expectations for a signature restaurant, which is quite pricey. I had the veggie sushi appetizer; it was all right, albeit bland, but the pieces were too big. The calamari wasn't anywhere near as good as the calamari at Mama Melrose's in MGM (now Hollywood Studios). I enjoyed the potato, corn and leek chowder. Moving onto entrees, almost the entire table ordered the tuna. My piece was full of what I assume was tendons, making it difficult to eat. The flavours weren't great anyway so I didn't feel the need to clean the plate. I'm told the salmon was dry but had a nice crust. Desserts varied greatly. My husband loved his cheesecake, and grandma loved the sorbet trio. The bread pudding seemed like it had been sitting for awhile and could have used more sauce.

Overall, I'm not sure we would return. We'll probably go to Jiko or Artist Point instead.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    186
    91
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“disappointed to say the least!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

ok. this is a disney "signature" restaurant right? first problem: we were given a pager when we had reservations? who does this? outback maybe. second: this is flying fish cafe and there are more beef entrees than seafood. typical salmon and tuna (yellowfin!) and only snapper. where is the halibut, shrimp, scallops, etc? signature dish is the filet! are u kiddin me? third problem. under staffed! server "didi" htrying to do everything! pick up plates, take orders, serve wine, cash tickets...way too much for any human being! he spilled drink in my lap, forgot wine list, forgot to poor my wife wine, plates left on table forever, bill wrong, overcharged. no attempt at any comp, lots of apologies! in short, or long, avoid this place! go to jiko instead, where they truly understand good service for 30-40 dollar entrees! dvc club members.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Spendy but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Although reknowned for their seafood, I liked their beef actually! Advanced reservations a must! Lovely atmosphere. The service and attention to customers was above and beyond what I expected. I felt like my needs were anticipated.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, OH
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Signature, but not stuffy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Don't be worried about attire at this Signature restaurant. Come as you are and be welcomed.

Dress code says a collared shirt is required....not true.

Service was great and food was well prepared. We were lucky enough to be seated a table close to the open kitchen.

It's fun to watch the chefs work. I opted for the Potato wrapped Snapper. There's a reason why it's their signature dish. Very good and highly recommended.

Give it a try, you won't be disappointed!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“One of the best in Orlando”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My family and I decided to give the Flying fish a try after a very positive experience I had while travelling on business several months ago. Boy was my family impressed with the Flying Fish. We made reservations (highly recommended) and were seated immediately. Our waiter, Diddi, provided excellent and professional service. The quality, taste and preparation of the food was top notch. Bear in mind that this is not a cheap Disney restaurant and if you cannot afford to spend at least $40 per person, you might as well go somewhere else. I highly recommend the bread pudding and dark chocolate mouse for desert. In all, I highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish Cafe also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Flying Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Fish Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.