We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charley's Steak House

Charley's Steak House
8255 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819
407-363-0228
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 3,049 restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Charley's Steak House is owned by the Woodsby family and has operated in Florida since 1974. Charley’s serves only three-year-old USDA prime and choice Angus steers, aging them four to six weeks for tenderness & flavor and hand-cutting the steaks daily to ensure consistent quality. The steaks are then flame-broiled over Florida citrus and oak wood in a custom-built pit at 1200º searing in the tantalizing taste that has made Charley’s the #1 steakhouse in America every year since 2007! Charley’s philosophy of providing only the finest extends from the kitchen to the wine cellar. The wine list approaches 1000 selections from scores of exceptional wineries around the globe. Charley’s has been recognized with numerous awards including “Best of Award of Excellence” from Wine Spectator magazine, DiRōNA and Orlando Magazine’s“ Best Steak House & Best Old Favorite”. Charley’s has been creating fans from around the world for nearly 40 years. We look forward to having you become a fan soon!
Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I would nearly say that Charleys is a must visit restaurant if staying near International Drive or Universal Bvd. The staff were very friendly and efficient, the setting is very atmospheric inside dark lighting etc., and the steak.. oh the steak! The portions of everything are huge so take it ewasy on the ordering.. the garlic crushed potatoes, delicious! Very much enjoyed Charleys and considered it worth the money.. a nice treat!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    591
    156
    82
    60
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hazard, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Earns its #1 rating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a truly special steakhouse. Their meat is top knotch and the service very professional. It is a MUST if you are in Orlando. The sides are huge, so be mindful. The steak melts in your mouth and are cooked over open flame.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Wonderful Graduation Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Showing off to my son what a real steakhouse is like. Charley's didn't disappoint. The ambiance, the service (Thanks to Rachael!), and of course the steaks were simply fantastic. My son had the kobe steak. I tried the bison (wow....) and mom got the smallest filet on the menu. Still too big! A great experience and a great meal. Thanks!

J in Dallas

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Uk
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Best steak we ever ate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We decided to go here last minute after our bus driver said that Charley's was the best place for steak and it was the best recommendation we were given. We never knew it was a high end steakhouse until we walked in, but from the moment you see the different steaks and desserts in the cabinet, you know it's going to be good! We were seated quickly, brought our water, took a bit longer for our drinks order (we ordered cocktails and beer which we were recommended by our waiter after we asked, and they were good). We ordered the Florida Gator to start (something different) and it was good but very salty and a little spicy - it also really tastes like chicken! Then the steak tray came along ( I've never seen one if these in my life) they show you all the different steaks, the sizes and a little about them. I initially ordered the high protein T-Bone but once I said I wanted it well done, he advised something different as it would go too leathery. I ordered a different T-Bone, my boyfriend had the same, we also ordered the Parmesan fries, mushrooms and a pepper sauce. We waited about 30 minutes, in the meantime we got bread (the best bread ever!) and our salads. The steak is huge, the sides are huge and the quality of the food was incredible. The steak was cooked to perfection and so tender. Both agreed it was the best steak we ever ate.
While we wanted dessert we were too full so gave it a miss. Bill (including tip) was $187.24 and worth every penny. It's a special occasion restaurant, not an everyday place to eat, so if you want somewhere really good and special, maybe a last night on holiday meal, eat here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley, Alabama
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Dreadful service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

From the exterior, one wouldn't expect this to be such a high $ restaurant. Was not expecting the high prices, but went along with it anyway figuring it would be an awesome experience.

For a pricey steak house, I expect a rather intimate environment. That was absent. I also expect service to be expert to the point of seeming to have mind reading skills. That also was absent. The only way we ended up with silverware for everyone in our party was the take some from a neighboring table. Maybe we didn't "look" like people who belonged in a nice restaurant, being a family with 4 children ranging from 7 to 16, and definitely looking like we had been out enjoying Disney all day, but that doesn't excuse the lousy service we had.

Took 15 minutes for us to get drinks...and one had to wait longer because we were short a glass. Salads were brought to the table along with the question "would you like ground pepper"...3 of us said yes, and it took about 5 minutes for the pepper to come to the table. Maybe they only have 1 pepper grinder for the whole place. Food took about 20 minutes, which was acceptable. The food was very good and portions were large. Drink refills took ages...the waiter would ask if we needed more water, and it would take 10 minutes for him to come back with it. It was a Thursday night...there were hardly any other customers in the place, why did it take so long??

Another odd thing that happened...there were 6 of us. We were given 4 menus. 1 child menu, 3 adult. Why?? The adult menus were entirely too large to open easily at the table, they were heavy, they were just ridiculous.

Very unimpressed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charley's Steak House also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Charley's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charley's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.