We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charley's Steak House

Charley's Steak House
8255 International Drive #100, #100, Orlando, FL 32819
407.363.0228
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Charley's Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 3,123 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Charley's Steak House has created a unique dining experience unsurpassed in the industry. The restaurant's namesake, Charley Woodsby, co-founder of the Red Lobster chain, was honored by the Florida Restaurant & Lodging Association with the Lifetime Achievement Award in 2006. After selling Red Lobster to General Mills in 1970, Charley and his son Ron Woodsby developed Talk of the Town Restaurants - the corporate parent to Charley's Steak House. Over the years the Woodsby's have become "beef aficionados" with a steadfast formula for success: feature only Midwest grain-fed USDA Prime & Choice beef, age on-site for 4 to 6 weeks, and have management cut meat daily and season for 30 hours to create distinctive flavor. The steak is then flame-grilled over a 1200° open pit, fueled with a combination of Florida citrus & oak wood. This carefully monitored process provides for quality, tenderness and a tantalizing taste that elevates Charley's to the ultimate steakhouse experience. Since its inception, Charley's Steak House has prided itself on being a traditional steakhouse. But with the rise in number of savvy diners came the need to evolve the definition of 'steakhouse'. Instituting a corporate chef and placing managing chefs at each location, Charley's has advanced into a traditional steakhouse with culinary flair featuring chef-driven appetizers and entrees as well as established menu items.
Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I would nearly say that Charleys is a must visit restaurant if staying near International Drive or Universal Bvd. The staff were very friendly and efficient, the setting is very atmospheric inside dark lighting etc., and the steak.. oh the steak! The portions of everything are huge so take it ewasy on the ordering.. the garlic crushed potatoes, delicious! Very much enjoyed Charleys and considered it worth the money.. a nice treat!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    743
    191
    95
    65
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hazard, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Earns its #1 rating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a truly special steakhouse. Their meat is top knotch and the service very professional. It is a MUST if you are in Orlando. The sides are huge, so be mindful. The steak melts in your mouth and are cooked over open flame.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Wonderful Graduation Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Showing off to my son what a real steakhouse is like. Charley's didn't disappoint. The ambiance, the service (Thanks to Rachael!), and of course the steaks were simply fantastic. My son had the kobe steak. I tried the bison (wow....) and mom got the smallest filet on the menu. Still too big! A great experience and a great meal. Thanks!

J in Dallas

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Uk
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Best steak we ever ate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We decided to go here last minute after our bus driver said that Charley's was the best place for steak and it was the best recommendation we were given. We never knew it was a high end steakhouse until we walked in, but from the moment you see the different steaks and desserts in the cabinet, you know it's going to be good! We were seated quickly, brought our water, took a bit longer for our drinks order (we ordered cocktails and beer which we were recommended by our waiter after we asked, and they were good). We ordered the Florida Gator to start (something different) and it was good but very salty and a little spicy - it also really tastes like chicken! Then the steak tray came along ( I've never seen one if these in my life) they show you all the different steaks, the sizes and a little about them. I initially ordered the high protein T-Bone but once I said I wanted it well done, he advised something different as it would go too leathery. I ordered a different T-Bone, my boyfriend had the same, we also ordered the Parmesan fries, mushrooms and a pepper sauce. We waited about 30 minutes, in the meantime we got bread (the best bread ever!) and our salads. The steak is huge, the sides are huge and the quality of the food was incredible. The steak was cooked to perfection and so tender. Both agreed it was the best steak we ever ate.
While we wanted dessert we were too full so gave it a miss. Bill (including tip) was $187.24 and worth every penny. It's a special occasion restaurant, not an everyday place to eat, so if you want somewhere really good and special, maybe a last night on holiday meal, eat here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley, Alabama
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Dreadful service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

From the exterior, one wouldn't expect this to be such a high $ restaurant. Was not expecting the high prices, but went along with it anyway figuring it would be an awesome experience.

For a pricey steak house, I expect a rather intimate environment. That was absent. I also expect service to be expert to the point of seeming to have mind reading skills. That also was absent. The only way we ended up with silverware for everyone in our party was the take some from a neighboring table. Maybe we didn't "look" like people who belonged in a nice restaurant, being a family with 4 children ranging from 7 to 16, and definitely looking like we had been out enjoying Disney all day, but that doesn't excuse the lousy service we had.

Took 15 minutes for us to get drinks...and one had to wait longer because we were short a glass. Salads were brought to the table along with the question "would you like ground pepper"...3 of us said yes, and it took about 5 minutes for the pepper to come to the table. Maybe they only have 1 pepper grinder for the whole place. Food took about 20 minutes, which was acceptable. The food was very good and portions were large. Drink refills took ages...the waiter would ask if we needed more water, and it would take 10 minutes for him to come back with it. It was a Thursday night...there were hardly any other customers in the place, why did it take so long??

Another odd thing that happened...there were 6 of us. We were given 4 menus. 1 child menu, 3 adult. Why?? The adult menus were entirely too large to open easily at the table, they were heavy, they were just ridiculous.

Very unimpressed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charley's Steak House also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Charley's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charley's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.