We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cecil's Texas Style Bar-b-q

Cecil's Texas Style Bar-b-q
2800 S Orange Ave, Orlando, FL 32806-5404
407-423-9871
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #820 of 3,105 Restaurants in Orlando
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Although the food was just ok, the restaurant was set up like a cafeteria setting--no waiter or waitress. My food was warm--it was not hot and I was disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Delish, fast, and lots of variety. I am not a huge fan of the BBQ restaurants in Central Florida, but Cecil's Texas Style BBQ is one of my favorites! The service is always quick, the food is always hot, and the sides are awesome!
We eat there after church on Saturday night! In fact we ate there tonight. I had the chicken, and hubby had the Brisket Burger...I loved mine and hubby almost licked the plate.
It's good! Try it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Fl
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Hot Bbq...Not!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Real bbq should be hot off the grill, dripping with juices & tender. Not here. I ordered 1/2 Rack Ribs with two sides. The carver pulled out a rack wrapped in plastic cellophane & cut my portion out. What? I love ribs and Ive never seen that before. Since the restaurant is cafeteria style where you slide the tray along and serve your own sides you get to see all the happenings. Yikes! The sides were sad. Void of appeal but i chose green beans and sweet potatoe casserole. Definitely canned and the sweet potatoes tasted like canned yams mashed. I will continue to search for fresh superior bbq in Orlando cuz this aint it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Traditional BBQ Texas Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great food at a great price. When you first drive-up you know you are at a traditional BBQ place and when you enter you feel right at home. You get a friendly greeting from the meat cutter as you walk in and he takes the time to not only say hello but help you with the selections offered. From there, you proceed through the selection line and then into the main dining area which has Texas style decor and seating.

I am not sure which is better; the food or the customer service. The food is always better when the restaruants employees make you feel welcome and in Cecil's they appreciate your business.

As for food, I got the pulled pork and would do it again. My friend got the beef brisket - and he would repeat with the same.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynInCT
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“GET TO CECIL'S NOWWWWW!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I went here because my boss was taking me to lunch. Let me start by saying that I don't really care for BBQ. However, it's a free lunch so I can't argue.

Since my boss took me here for lunch about a month ago-I've been back THREE MORE TIMES. The beef brisket sandwich on texas toast is PHENOMENAL! I put some coleslaw on it and get a side of greens and I'm in heaven. It's a little pricey but you get what you pay for. The service is ALWAYS great. I usually see the same people working here from cutting meat to the register-always very nice and they let me try things first.

RUN DON'T WALK TO CECIL'S....worth the drive from anywhere in Orlando.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cecil's Texas Style Bar-b-q also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Cecil's Texas Style Bar-b-q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cecil's Texas Style Bar-b-q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.