We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A view from the top you will never forget!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of California Grill

California Grill
Disney's Contemporary Resort, 4600 N World Dr, Orlando, FL 32830-8413 (Walt Disney World Resort)
(407) 939-3463
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 3,180 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $35 - $80
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Walt Disney World Resort
Description: "California Grill is a Signature Dining restaurant that serves up award-winning gourmet dinners and sweeping views atop Disney's Contemporary Resort. Venture into this vibrant and charged atmosphere and watch the creation of culinary masterpieces in the on-stage kitchen.
New Bern, NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A view from the top you will never forget!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

A staff person meets you at the elevator and escorts you to the 15th floor--and the view of the entire Park is breathtaking. Our meal was superb, and everyone was delighted with the service and atmosphere!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    839
    246
    156
    69
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new orleans, la
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Disney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

By far the best restaurant in Disney--excellent food without the stuffiness and $$ of Victoria and Albert's. I'm from New Orleans, so I know good food. My husband and shared the lamb gyro flat bread. He got the butternut squash soup w bacon and the dragon roll as his entree. I got the salmon flat bread and spicy Kazan roll as my entree. Recommend doing that so that you can try a variety and i think it's a better value than spending $40 on one entree you may not like. The food was phenomenal. Excellent service.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food with views to match.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I had been waiting for years to go to this restaurant, and it did not disappoint. The food and service were excellent. My favourite part was watching the fireworks in Epcot and watching Wishes in Magic Kingdom. BOOK IN ADVANCE.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“I expected more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I dined here to celebrate our anniversary on the first night of our Disney vacation. We were on the dining plan and as a signature restaurant it required two table service credits each. While the food was delicious and the service adequate we did not feel that the experience was really special in any way. The views of Cinderella's Castle and the Magic Kingdom are breathtaking IF you are seated at a window but we were not. We were seated at a table against a half wall open to the kitchen where if we glanced even toward the spectacular views we were looking past three or four rows of other diners. I had noted our anniversary on the reservation I had made about four months prior to the trip. They had sprinkled our table with confetti before we were seated and our server did wish us a happy anniversary.

My husband had his heart set on the bison which was supposed to be on the menu. It was not. I was more disappointed than he was because I had made the reservation with that particular entree in mind for him. He ordered a special fish selection that he said was perfectly cooked and delicious. I ordered the oak-fired filet of beef which was also cooked perfectly and delicious, but again, nothing special. The price for each entree was exorbitant. I do not feel that it is worth 2 dining credits per person. I would have been fine with using 1 credit. We both had an apple tart for dessert which he liked more than I did.

We both thought that the atmosphere was kind of "stuffy". This restaurant is closing for a complete renovation and a new menu. I know many people who absolutely love the California Grill, both the food and the atmosphere. We may try it again after the renovation but I would be hesitant to try it for a special occasion again unless they would guarantee a window table. We did enjoy seeing the fireworks from their outdoor rooftop deck but it was quite crowded .

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful service, food, fireworks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Dined here on a recent Saturday night and the restaurant was very busy. Our server, Daniel, was awesome and couldn't do enough to make our meal a pleasure. Started with the cheese board and then I had the filet mignon which was very good. My daughter had the scallops and enjoyed them very much. She was also very impressed with our view of Wishes. We didn't leave the table, but you can go outside to the balcony if your table doesn't provide a view. Shared the chocolate molten cake which was heaven. We were on the dining plan, but out of pocket for this restaurant is expensive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Grill also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to California Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.