We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of '50s Prime Time Cafe

'50s Prime Time Cafe
Disney's Hollywood Studios, Walt Disney World, Orlando, FL 32830
|
Improve this listing
Ranked #206 of 3,153 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: 50's Prime Time Café serves classic American comfort food in a TV-themed setting. The restaurant sits across from Echo Lake in Disney's Hollywood Studios theme park.The 50's Prime Time Café menu includes family favorites like golden fried chicken, traditional meatloaf and pot roast, cooked the way Mom used to make it—that is, if Mom were a 1950s sitcom star.Be welcomed into Mom's family and feel at home in her kitchenette. But Mom expects you to mind your manners, so don't be surprised if she tells you to keep your elbows off the table. It's all part of the old-fashioned fun and gentle ribbing that's served up along with the food.TV Tables and Tune-In LoungeFor a special treat at 50's Prime Time Café, grab a "TV Table" that seats up to 4 diners and has a television next to the table that broadcasts clips from popular prime time sitcoms circa 1955 including "Father Knows Best" and the original "Mickey Mouse Club."Bop into 50's Prime Time Café for lunch or dinner. Cocktails, wines by the glass and frosty beers are available from Mom for Guests 21 years of age and older, or relax in the Tune-In Lounge full-service bar and sip Dad's Electric Lemonade or Grandma's Picnic Punch.From the mid-50s knick-knacks and memorabilia that decorate this restaurant to the dessert menu displayed through viewfinder toys, nostalgia is the main ingredient at 50's Prime Time Café.
Grimsby, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lots of fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This restaurant is a blast if you want a fun meal. "Mom" comes to serve you and reminds you to eat your vegetables and keep your elbows off the table. I had the PBandJ milkshake which is to die for (and probably tons of calories, but who is counting right?!). The pot roast and fried chicken were very good. My son tried the meatloaf, which he said was tasty as well. He had a float for dessert and I had the smores which was just like it was made on a campfire. Will definitely be back to this restaurant next time we are in Disney.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    424
    160
    67
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fun meal experience, food is good as well.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The theme of the restaurant is so thorough that it really pulls it off. This takes commitment by every single cast member and they do it perfectly. The food is good. I'm partial to the fried chicken, but the meatloaf and mashed potatoes are delicious as well. We've been twice and don't foresee any sign of slowing down. I'm allergic to peanuts, but I've heard the PB&J milkshake is excellent...by my girlfriend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Every time we visit Disney World, we make reservations to have lunch here. As with all Disney attractions, its restaurants are no exception when it comes to dramatic themes. Here, you get to step into the traditional 1950s home, and eat some of "Mama's" down home cooking. Meatloaf, Fried Chicken, Pot Roast, all kinds of southern comfort food at your fingertips (and Smores!), and all flavorfully well prepared, and generously proportioned. Also, like all of Disney's attractions and restaurants, it is quite pricey. I would strongly suggest adding the Disney Dining Plan (or taking advantage of the promotions for the free Dining Program) when visiting Disney (even the McDonalds on Disney property is pricey- no dollar menu). But, overall, the '50s Prime Time Cafe is a fun, tasty, and family-friendly experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Food, Lots of Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our second visit to the 50's Prime Time Café at Hollywood Studios. I just really enjoy this restaurant. The food is good and reasonably priced (by Disney standards). The adjacent Tune In Lounge is also fun. The staff is always friendly and really funny. The waitress gave our 15 year old son an especially hard time (in a fun and nice way) that had us laughing like crazy. No visit to Hollywood Studios is complete without a visit here. Our favorite restaurant at Disney. I highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Good Food, Fun Service, Great 50's Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I've always enjoyed the 50's Prime Time restaurant at Hollywood Studios, so my 17-year-old son and I made reservations for lunch there on our recent visit to WDW. It's not changed much (if at all) since we first visited, maybe fifteen years ago.

The decor is about the same, from the wallpapers to the furnishings and fixtures. Some of it was pretty familiar from when I was a kid.

The little TVs play B&W clips from old TV shows, e.g., The Donna Reed Show, The Real McCoys, Dennis the Menace, etc. Couldn't really hear the dialog, but with TVs all over the restaurant, playing the dialog loud enough to hear it from the next table would have been a bit much (even though the TVs are all in sync),

We both ordered the sampler platter, which had pot roast, meatloaf and fried chicken. It came with collard greens; I'd never had collard greens before, and they were quite tasty. When someone at the next table ordered the same thing, I noticed that the waitress called it "leftovers" when she brought it out - another fun touch.

Our waiter was pretty good; he told my son to set the table ("tables don't set themselves!") and did a pretty good job of walking the line between pseudo-uncle waiter.

Since this was our first sit-down meal of the trip, it struck me as a bit pricey, but after a few days at WDW you start to get used to how quickly the food bill adds up!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed '50s Prime Time Cafe also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to '50s Prime Time Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage '50s Prime Time Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.