We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, not so sure about the karaoke” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimonos

Kimonos
1200 Epcot Resorts Blvd, Walt Disney World Swan & Dolphin, Orlando, FL 32830-8429 (Walt Disney World Resort)
407-934-1609
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 3,176 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Walt Disney World Resort
Nottingham, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, not so sure about the karaoke”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The waitresses were all very friendly and happy to answer our questions and give recommendations. The service was prompt and we though the food was delicious and would have gone again if we'd had time.

I would imagine that the karaoke is a good laugh if you're there with a large group, especially colleagues, but unfortunately when we were there the place filled up with obnoxious "glee" type teens just before it started, which I think discouraged anyone, other than one brave couple, who wasn't completely sure of their singing ability from having a go.

All the info we could find, including the Swan's website, indicates that it's a business casual type affair, but in reality it's pretty casual and jeans and a t-shirt wouldn't look out of place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    62
    24
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great fun.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a few cocktails and appetizers at the bar. Bartender makes good drinks and appetizers were delicious. It was fun watching colleagues that you see only in suit and ties at meetings, getting up and doing karaoke and having fun.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband enjoyed the meal more than I did. I thought it was just average. But definitely convenient if you are staying on the property.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Standard Japanese Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very welcoming staff. Quick service. Prices were reasonable for a hotel restaurant. Very nice tableware. Comfortable seating. Sushi and sashimi and tempura were all perfectly acceptable. Nothing out of the ordinary except for extraordinary service!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service very slow, 1 star food, 4 star price”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We love Japanese food, staying in nearby Beach Club and was told by the staff Kimonos has the best Japanese in the area. Gosh it might be true since that was the only Japanese restaurant we went to in Orlando. The food was in the sold bottom 10% of the NYC Japanese restaurants, but the price was at about top 20%. That's fine, I guess being in Disney World does command a very high premium.

Our waitress was a rude Chinese lady, very defensive, and VERY slow. We waited for an hour for our kids' food to deliver, without any visit from her in the mean time, with any explanation. Since we ordered a lot, and we had hungry kids, we asked her whether she could bring kids' order up before the whole table was ready, and she rudely said the only way they deliver food was when the whole table was ready, so we had to wait an hour for some plain udon (turned out any instant noodle taste better that their expensive udon) to be delivered.

Incredible. Skip them even you have craving for Japanese food, just wait until you fly back to New York, or whatever your city is.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kimonos also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Kimonos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimonos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.