We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great food, fun atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MoonFish

MoonFish
7525 W. Sand Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819 (Doctor Phillips)
+1 407-363-7262
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
MoonFish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 3,104 restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Doctor Phillips
Cross street: The Fountains Plaza at Dr Phillips
Description: MoonFish, rated as one of the Top Ten Seafood Restaurants in America, serves the “Freshest Seafood from the Oceans of Planet Earth” with 10-13 species of fresh fish flown in daily from all over the world. In addition to fish-fusion cuisine, MoonFish features mid-western aged steaks cooked over a natural wood-burning pit, a Sushi bar creating the freshest and most uniquely presented sushi and an Award Winning Wine list. The vibrant atmosphere combines modern art and ingenuity along with a Pacific flair to stimulate the senses.
1 review
“Excellent service, great food, fun atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Upon arriving to the restaurant, we were greeted by a cheerful hostess and friendly manager. Our server, Alan, greeted us promptly and recommended his favorites. The appetizers arrived quickly, and the courses were timed perfectly. I decided to go with his recommendation, the Sea Bass. All of the food was fresh and hot, and I did not feel rushed. I feel that Alan exceeded expectations to make us happy, and would recommend Moonfish to anyone in the Orlando area. Keep it up!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    822
    131
    65
    36
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bartow, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Incredible service & food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We've dined at several other "Talk of the Town" restaurants and this is by far the best - only other one that comes as close is Fishbones. This was our first dining experience at Moonfish and we plan to return. We arrived about 10 minutes prior to opening on a Friday night without reservations, greeted promptly and our hostess offered the bar area while we waited for the restaurant to begin 5:00 seating but we decided not to wait in the bar area since we don't drink and the waiting area wasn't crowded. We've made that choice in other restaurants and they aren't always respectful of that choice...not the case here. We were seated promptly at 5 and given a great table near the kitchen area. Our server, Johnathan, was prompt and treated us like we were the only reason he was there. He wasn't obtrusive but engaging, courteous, and provided great suggestions and service.
We began our meal with the Crab/Avocado Wonton and it was full of fresh, tasty crabmeat on top of diced avocado & tomato - all beautifully seasoned - albeit a little too spicy for me, I think most would not find it that way. (I'm a pepper wimp.) The flavors still came through the 'heat.' My husband and I both ordered the Seafood Mixed Grill which was a huge serving and 1 order could have easily served us both with an additional side. That said, we still both managed to complete most of our meal - just taking a small portion home with us. This fabulous dish of 2 different types of oak-grilled fish served along side a dish of 4 seared scallops and 8 shrimp stuffed with a very 'crabby' and beautifully seasoned 'stuffing' was excellent. Also served with the dish on the side were grilled zucchini and a bowl of jasmine rice. Near the end of our meal, John, one of the managers came to our table and spent a few minutes listening to us glow about their restaurant. He asked if we were celebrating any special event and we indeed were - our 33rd anniversary! He proceeded to offer dessert on the house and we chose the chocolate cake - 2 days later, we are still enjoying it. So often large restaurants like this are too loud and not conducive to such a nice celebration, but we found Moonfish to be a perfect blend of all the components of a great meal - nice, clean surroundings; well executed service; and outstanding food.
We plan to return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wonderful food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The food was fantastic from salad to dessert. The service from our server, Rebecca, was equally great. We very rarely go to restaurants on the south side of town but this experience made the drive through I4 traffic worthwhile.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service, Good Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We don't write reviews as often as we should. However, Rebecca explained to us the value of an excellent review on trip advisor. I wouldn't write this review if I didn't have great food, and service. I had the blackened swordfish with mashed potatoes (minus the lobster gravy) and it was excellent. Even the salad that came with the meal had a fantastic dressing and my favorite heirloom tomatoes. Emily had the Mahi. I was surprised at her order with all the other fantastic options on the menu. Much more to my surprise, the piece of fish was excellent. Should I even mention dessert; HUGE, banana cake, with chocolate and peanut butter chips. MMMMMM...The cappaccino to end the evening was perfect. Rebecca was fantastic and we hope she beats the other dude winning the competition currently.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Totally unacceptable service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We will NEVER patronize the Orlando (Sand Lake) Moonfish ever again. We were seated by a less than enthusiastic hostess, after which we sat for 25 minutes.....totally ignored. Waitstaff servicing surrounding tables in a relaxed mode, while acting as if we did not exist.

After 30 minutes we left. We subsequently dined at Roy's across th street, where the service was impeccable and the food was 5 star..... Well deserving of their fine reputation.

We are Michiganders who were spending a few days at our second home here. Be assured that with all of the dining choices available, Moonfish will not ever be our choice... Nor that of our associates.

Shame on you for your rude, careless, disrespectful service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MoonFish also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to MoonFish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MoonFish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.