We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Dinner! Had to go back for happy hour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MoonFish

MoonFish
7525 W. Sand Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819 (Doctor Phillips)
+1 407-363-7262
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
MoonFish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 3,175 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Doctor Phillips
Cross street: The Fountains Plaza at Dr Phillips
Description: MoonFish, rated as one of the Top Ten Seafood Restaurants in America, serves the "Freshest Seafood from the Oceans of Planet Earth" with 10-13 species of fresh fish flown in daily from all over the world. In addition to fish-fusion cuisine, MoonFish features mid-western aged steaks cooked over a natural wood-burning pit, a sushi bar creating the freshest and most uniquely presented sushi and an award winning wine list. The vibrant atmosphere combines modern art and ingenuity along with a Pacific flair to stimulate the senses.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner! Had to go back for happy hour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We made reservation for a Sunday night, the place was booming with business. There was a bit of mixup with our drink order that wasnt completely resolved, but the waitress was nice, attentive and informative. I ordered the Corvina and my husband had the steak, and although mine was good, the wood fired smokiness and melt-in your-mouth texture of the steak was to die for. We had sushi for appetizers that were tasty, with a slight spin on traditional sushi.
The service and food was so good that we decided to go back a couple of days later for happy hour. We were not dissapointed. We both had the fruit infused martinis, a deal at $4 a drink, plenty of oysters as that is a treat for us living on the praries, tuna tacos, and a few rolls of sushi. We topped things off with dessert, these are meant to be shared as it is a huge piece of cake.
Location was great, close to our hotel which was near Disney. Glad we decided to gamble and try this place out.
I will absolutely be recommending this place to my friends and family when they go to Orlando.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    969
    161
    75
    43
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Knowledgable attentive waiter called Shaun,great choice of wine to go with the lobster,atmosphere excellent,will be going again when next back to the USA later this year,tried a few other local restaurants in dr Phillips but moonfish stood out

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lived Up to the Trip Advisor Rating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

As with most of my dining experiences while I am traveling, I trust the recommendations of this site to lead me to great dining locations. Wonderful dinner. Great atmosphere and prompt service. I sat at the bar during the hectic happy hour and still had great service. I had the triggerfish covered with lobster mousse and green beans. Excellent. The fish serving was large and very fresh. Highly recommended,

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent recovery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

What an excellent recovery. We had eaten here previously and found the service and food excellent. We decided to try again with my daughter and son in law. The waitress seemed to have too many tables. She pushed for our appetizer order before our dinner order (mistake). We gave her it. We waited for a long time for our drinks and mine had obviously been in the cocktail shaker with ice for a while. It was colored water by the time it got to me. My son in laws shrimp turned up 15 mins after the rest of the group and just before his dinner. 5 of us had perfect food. Again my son in laws main course was all wrong. The Manager apologized and took the price of the our son in laws meal off the bill. He seemed genuine. We saw one other table complain. Having said all that we will go back but maybe not with extra guests until we can be sure they get it right next time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“It could have been perfect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Had 8pm reservations on a Friday. We were seated promptly after running the gauntlet of patrons leaving and waiting on the valet. Our server was attentive at first. Checked on the availability of a certain sushi item, then took our order.
We split an order of fried green tomatoes, a generous serving, but we're a bit disappointed without some accompaniment. Hubby' s selection turned out to be unavailable. We both ordered the nori crusted ahi tuna. And waited, waited, waited. Between our salad and the eventual arrival of the entree was a very unacceptable 40 minutes. Water and iced tea glasses sat empty for long periods, as our server seemed reluctant to come to the table knowing our entrees were extraordinarily
delayed.
Then came our fish, on a large brick of a pink salt lick. Yeah probably trailing on a trend to justify adding $10 to to price. It was a fail, because it was on a curved plate which was too small, and the brick sat too high, allowing the sauce to puddle under the brick, where it couldn't be enjoyed. But the fish itself was excellent, and the roasted cream corn was delicious. Hubby had such a good memory of his visit years ago, this was a let down. Oh, someone should take the valet's cellphone away,as there is no excuse for him to be cheating away while patrons are waiting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MoonFish also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to MoonFish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MoonFish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.