We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun with a nice menu selections” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whispering Canyon Cafe

Whispering Canyon Cafe
Walt Disney World, 901 Timberline Drive, Orlando, FL 32830
(407) 824-3200
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #364 of 3,166 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Whispering Canyon Cafe in Disney's Wilderness Lodge smokes up pulled pork, ribs, chicken, baked beans, corn bread and more that will satisfy any cowboy or cowgirl in the family.In this rowdy, family-style restaurant right out of the Old West, start your morning with a bang-up breakfast of favorites such as buttermilk pancakes, omelets or an all-you-care-to-enjoy Canyon Skillet.Later in the day, bring your posse by for lunch when we're serving up burgers, salads and sandwiches, or stop in for dinner and be tempted by steak, fish or salads. And we can wrangle the heartiest appetites, 'cause we've got lunch and dinner Canyon Skillets, too. Be sure to save room for the Canyon Apple Pie!
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fun with a nice menu selections”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This place is loud or should I say rowdy in a fun sort of way. The wait staff are energetic and they play games with the kids through out the meal. They do tend to raise their voice for effects. All for fun of course. The food is not cheap but it is very filling. I opted for a salad but my husband went for all u can eat ribs or some sort of meat platter. I didn't realize until I read the lunch menu while waiting out front after the meal, you could actually order the same all u can eat platter at lunch for almost 1/2 of the dinner price. Ouch!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    334
    177
    72
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Rowdy Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a fun place to take the family! It has decent food, not fabulous, but good for Disney. It is served family style, unless you choose something like a steak from the menus. The atmosphere is the true attraction here. The restaurant has a western theme. The wait staff are all trained to be friendly but a bit boisterous. If you ask for ketchup LOOK OUT! They do entertainment for kids. Usually at least once an hour they have a kiddy pony race. It is a great place to be entertained, but if you are looking for peace and a tranquil dining experience, look elsewhere!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“This is one of our Top 3 meals at Disney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We love coming here for lunch because they have the smoked sausage in the all-you-care-to-eat skillets. Both my husband and myself had the skillet, so they brought out 1 big skillet and plates. Then when you want more you just tell the waiter what items you want more of. Great meal!!! Plus, they have fun activites for the kids and the waiters are a little rude, but its more of a fun rude!!! For instance, my husband we so thirsty that they decided to just bring him a huge glass of tea with tons of straws, instead of a reg. sized glass.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Atmosphere almost as lively as the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Pretty disappointed with this place, to be honest, Only option was $30 all you can eat BBQ. Quality was OK but for the price - really? Appreciate this is a top disney hotel but unless you are really hungry you are unlikely to get close to value for money. Milkshakes were good (and bottomless), dessert was OK. Atmosphere pretty loud, and kid focussed which was not a problem (and lots of info on that on other reviews). Server tried hard, but when the bill came back more expensive then Fogo de Chao which is in another league as far as food quality goes then I wished I'd gone there! Depends on how you want to spend your money I guess. We're probably also a 'quieter' family who are not as bothered about the whole 'ketchup' thing - if you are a bit more 'rootin tootin' to quote other reviews than maybe you'll love it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“ok food, fun atmosphere, way overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Overpriced BBQ restaurant with just ok food. I had the angus burger which was super dry. My kids had the all-you-can eat BBQ which was WAY too much for 1 kid so I asked the server if my kids could share 1 and she let them. I would recommend at least trying to do this. They will not let you order more but 1 round of food was plenty! My mom had the tuna melt over wheat bread and she said is was very good. getting food took quite awhile and we were there for lunch.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whispering Canyon Cafe also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Whispering Canyon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whispering Canyon Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.