We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Cafe

Kona Cafe
Disney's Polynesian Resort, Walt Disney World 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Orlando, FL 32830
(407) WDW-DINE
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #205 of 3,093 restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Asian, Polynesian, Contemporary, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Kona Cafe infuses a bit of Asian zest into traditional American breakfast, lunch and dinner fare in Disney's Polynesian Resort. Indulge in the scrumptious cinnamon and banana-stuffed Tonga Toast or choose from a variety of more savory breakfast options like a variety of egg dishes and pineapple macadamia nut pancakes.At midday, satisfy your hunger with an Island chicken sandwich and housemade sweet potato chips, shrimp and scallops, or other tasty entrees. Dine in the evening on delicacies such as a selection of fresh fish, grilled ginger-crusted ribeye steak or coconut almond chicken.As you enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of this Polynesian restaurant, feast your eyes across the onstage open pastry kitchen that prepares divine desserts. Kona Cafe offers authentic Kona coffee as a perfect pairing to these pastries, or as a rich addition to any meal.
Forest City, Iowa
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We were very excited to get some sushi at WDW. A reservation opened up and we took full advantage. We walked around the Polynesian and Grand Floridian before our meal, which was amazing (we never get to see these properties), and then went to dinner.

Our appetizers were scrumptious and the bread was amazing. For our entree, we tried a couple of different types of sushi, I highly recommend the Crab Rangoon Roll! The staff was very friendly.

We didn't eat dessert here, but rather went down stairs and got a Dole Whip! :)

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    454
    313
    109
    47
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“a welcome surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

there were several choices at this particular resort... we chose it for its sushi.... outstanding .... fresh and surprisingly priced.
we actually went there twice during our stay and chose different dishes to get the full monty of the restaurant and were continually amazed at how delicious each dish was.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Basic food fast and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Just your basic grub but like all things Disney they make you feel glad you came! Have a magical day!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Too much ($$$) Too Late”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Arrived for our dinner reservations at 8.00 PM as they were made. We had 13 family members. I am standing here at 8:35 PM writing this review awaiting our tables so keep that in mind as you read in all fairness. Of course I'm going to have a lot more attention to detail on this one as the evening precedes. At 8:45 they came to us and offered other options. Two tables with separate servers or we could continue to wait. We took there offer of separate tables and separate servers. We were seated at 8:55 and were served with bread and water by 9:00. 5 family members at my table three of us order the duck and the two others pork chops and Pan Asian noodles with chicken. We liked the duck but the portions were too small. The pork chop was good and mushroom bread pudding was ok. The Pan Asian noodles were too salty but other than that were good. Really expensive for what you get and I'm sure the long wait didn't help my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast at Kona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great service and very good food for breakfast. I highly recommend the Big Kahuna breakfast, the pancakes are wonderful! The restaurant was busy but we did not feel rushed at all. There isn't much greenery in the restaurant, but we sat by huge window overlooking lush greenery that was very beautiful and relaxing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Cafe also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Kona Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.