We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine's Special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Cafe

Kona Cafe
Disney's Polynesian Resort, Walt Disney World 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Orlando, FL 32830
(407) WDW-DINE
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #201 of 3,100 restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Asian, Polynesian, Contemporary, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Kona Cafe infuses a bit of Asian zest into traditional American breakfast, lunch and dinner fare in Disney's Polynesian Resort. Indulge in the scrumptious cinnamon and banana-stuffed Tonga Toast or choose from a variety of more savory breakfast options like a variety of egg dishes and pineapple macadamia nut pancakes.At midday, satisfy your hunger with an Island chicken sandwich and housemade sweet potato chips, shrimp and scallops, or other tasty entrees. Dine in the evening on delicacies such as a selection of fresh fish, grilled ginger-crusted ribeye steak or coconut almond chicken.As you enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of this Polynesian restaurant, feast your eyes across the onstage open pastry kitchen that prepares divine desserts. Kona Cafe offers authentic Kona coffee as a perfect pairing to these pastries, or as a rich addition to any meal.
norwich, Connecticut, USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Valentine's Special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

On my most recent trip to Kona Cafe for breakfast, i went knowing i was going to get the Samoan - poached egg goodness - imagine my surprise when they had RED VELVET pancakes! With a cream cheese topping - such a delight! the sausage was meaty and flavorful !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    458
    316
    111
    47
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“food awful but good atmosphere and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had dinner here and the food was not any good however the big pineapple drink
was yummy. The service here was better than Ohana and the atmosphere is calmer and more relaxing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great Dinner Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had tried Kona Cafe for breakfast and loved it. So this year we decided to try their dinner. We loved it as well! It is very small so I do recommend reservations. Every table was filled the evening we were there. We each ordered something different. I had the pork chop, my son the steak and my husband fish. All were cooked perfectly and delicious. The desserts were exceptionally tasty and beautifully presented(pineapple upside-down cake-yum!). The service was good but our waiter was sort of spread thin (maybe someone didn't show up?) Next year we will try Kona Cafe for lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Consistent through the years”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Get a reservation early in your planning. The food and service on my previous three trips to Kona was excellent. This time the food was good and service adequate. We started with the Fried Rock Shrimp - with Passion Fruit-mustard sauce. Nothing much to write about, it was “ok”. The Teriyaki Style New York Strip with pineapple teriyaki glaze served with sticky rice and stir-fried broccolini was good, however the steak was ordered medium and came out rare, which was promptly sent back for correction (you should never have to have a steak corrected in a restaurant of this quality). The Sustainable Fish was mahi-mahi, with forbidden rice, swiss chard, and Hibiscus-Beurre Rogue. It was very nice, especially noticeable was the black forbidden rice, simply outstanding flavor. Kids Burger and Grilled chicken were both great and the desert kept them entertained. Although good, I do not believe we will come back, but rather try some other places around the “world”.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

love the coffee, hate the price of a good cup of joe. But not really their fault. Servers more professional than Ohana. Breakfast is outstanding. Lunch was very good and a good value for the money

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Cafe also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida

Been to Kona Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.