We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good because it is unique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainforest Cafe

Rainforest Cafe
1800 E Buena Vista Dr, Orlando, FL 32830 (Lake Buena Vista)
(407) 827-8500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #349 of 3,167 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Lake Buena Vista
Lancaster,Pa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good because it is unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The food is average, but its a really fun place to go ! Animals swinging, roaring and moving, a thunderstorm, and lots to look at ! The gift shop is nice,too. You may have to wait a bit, even with reservations, but most people are not in a hurry !

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,073
    904
    508
    205
    144
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Good late lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We went mid-afternoon and there was no crowd and we got seated immediately. The food and service were good. We enjoyed the experience and would return. It is a little pricey for the food quality and thus the 4 star rating.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode island
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always a great and fun time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have been to this restaurant several times. It is a great over-the-top restaurant with lots of animals, fish for children to see. The gift shops has tons shirts, and tropically inspired animal toys for sale.

The food here is usually good.. typical American food burgers, steaks, seafood. Maybe a little on higher side for type of food but you are definitely paying for the atmosphere here.

What has really made our experience 10 times better the past few times is when we join the Landry's Select club. The $25 join up fee might be a turnoff to some people, but plus side is you get the $25 back the next time you come back. What makes this card worthwhile is when there is an hour wait…give them the card and you skip right to head of line and get in no matter how busy it is. You also get points for every $200 you spend get a $25 reward off your bill and manager always visits to make sure visit is great. It has been well worth it for us. I know shameless plug but it has saved us hours of waiting over the years.

Overall never had a bad dining experience here. Families with kids you can't go wrong here. They treat kids very well. Food and service has always been good.

If you have time for dessert at the end get the "VOLLCANOO!!" love that lava cake!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flintshire,
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Another world”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Our son loves animals so it was obvious we would go to tje rainforest cafe. We visited early lumch time and had a 15 min wait.

The restaurant was not full but all the staff were training.

I opted for the shrimp stir fry which was delicious and lots of it for $19.99 it was tasty and full of fresh veg and shrimps. In all honesty it was lovely to have something thay wasnt fried.

My husband had the steak, shrimp and rib combo for $29.99 that came with fries and coleslaw and he said it was delicious.

Our 3yr old had dinosaur nuggets with fries and it was a large portion.
Food was served hot and quickly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Eat in the bar if the restaurant is busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My friend and I were foraging for food after the Disney Marathon and dragged ourselves to Downtown Disney. The wait at the restaurant was over 40 minutes but I asked if we could eat at the bar and sure enough the nice hostess pointed to the bar entrance around the corner. We were seated quickly and had great service. We both had the ribs and we thought they were very good. The bar scene wasn't rowdy and it was pretty late so I would even suggest that kids could eat in the bar (there are tables not just a bar top). The bar also overlooks the lake so it's a nice view but it was cold and rainy the night we visited.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Cafe also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Rainforest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainforest Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.