We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sundaes to die for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ghirardelli Soda Fountain & Chocolate Shop

Ghirardelli Soda Fountain & Chocolate Shop
Downtown Disney, Marketplace, 1710 E Buena Vista Dr, Orlando, FL 32830
(407) 934-8855
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 3,263 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sundaes to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

What better way to watch the world go by but to sit on a gorgeous sunny day eating a Ghiradelli's ice cream sundae. Plenty to choose from on the menu, and you can opt to sit inside or out. It is very popular so you may have to wait for a table, but worth it. It is a little more expensive than most ice creams, but it is a Disney complex and it is very nice Mmmmm.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    804
    343
    90
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Night time treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a lovely way to end the day if you are close to Lake Buena Vista.Choices are awesome -our favourite is the peanut butter sundae with hot fudge;however this is 1 to share & 2 spoons essential.Sometimes this is very busy but the entertainment close-by & night time viws are spectular ,particularly on balmly early fall evenings.A must try!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chickamauga, Georgia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
“Another Great Ice Cream Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We visited Ghirardelli's shop shortly after lunch on Tuesday, Sept. 25, 2012 for a dessert break. We first got our free samples from the chocolate shop, the pumpkin spice/carmel squares (I had my birthday button on, so I received two samples) and as always, they were wonderful.

We then went next door to the soda fountain/ice cream shop for a cold treat. They were very busy for a Tuesday in September, but then so was all of Disney World this year.

I got the simple two scoop vanilla waffle cone dipped in chocolate, while my friend got a full sundae with chocolate ice cream and strawberries on top. Both dishes were excellent as always and a terrific treat for a hot, humid day.

We'll definitely be visiting again on future trips.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Icecream Sundae”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This place is always always busy, but it's pretty good..... A fun place to get an icecream sundae if you can find an open table. Nothing out of this world, but the icecream is pretty good..Right in the middle of Downtown Disney.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The only place you should be getting dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location at Downtown Disney (which is free parking and entry).
Prices are perfect for the product you receive. $10 per person unless you are sharing.
All desserts are ice cream based with your favourite toppings, sauces and flavours blended in, shakes are available.
You could easily share anything on the menu.
I when for the peanut butter gold rush for $9 and it was unreal, a lot of people had their famous 3 scoops ice cream cones so they didn't have to sit in, but this doesnt speed up your waiting times.
Now the waiting times....the queues are long but go down quickly, once you order you receive your number to go and either stand outside or find a table to wait until your dessert is delivered to you. It is worth the wait.
Do what I did, went for dinner elsewhere in downtown Disney, had a walk after to make room and then went in at about 10pm, short wait for a long awaited dessert.
They are open till 11:30pm most nights, so no need to rush.
Only issue is that I don't really think the resturants around it meet the standard to match with this amazing place. Try Fultons Crab House for the seafood lovers out there or Paradiso 37 to mix it up with a tequila drink or two.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghirardelli Soda Fountain & Chocolate Shop also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Ghirardelli Soda Fountain & Chocolate Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghirardelli Soda Fountain & Chocolate Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.