We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian Food in Orlando!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Trastevere

Cafe Trastevere
825 N Magnolia Ave, Orlando, FL 32803 (Central Business District)
(407) 839-0235
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Trastevere is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,897 of 3,117 restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Romanian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Granada Court
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best Italian Food in Orlando!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is hands down the best Italian food in Orlando!!! As close as it gets to the real thing! Must get the Antipasto appetizer..

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    32
    23
    4
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a disappointment!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Upon arrival we were very excited. Exterior and interior are very charming. Restaurant is in an old house. We were told we had to wait a few minutes which was fine as it is a very small restaurant. We took the opportunity to peruse the menu. I mentioned to a member of our party that Trastevere was a very cool section of Rome. I was immediately corrected by owner on my pronounciation of Trastevere and was shown on the menu the correct pronounciation. A little abrupt but, OK. We ordered and again I was corrected on my pronounciation of "francaise". OK, I am not italian, but I am not a bumpkin either! Our appetizer a fried cheese ravioli with marinara was frozen in the middle. It was returned cooked minus the two we had cut into and tried to eat. Main courses. Chicken francaise was tender and not overcooked, however, it had absolutely no flavor. No garlic, no lemon, just a pan seared piece of chicken sitting in flavorless butter(?). The pasta was soggy and saturated in the same flavorless butter. The veggies were fresh, albeit overcooked. My husband had veal saltimbocca. Unfortunately, it was as flavorless as mine. To their credit the veal was very tender, just no flavor. The only saving grace was that we had a gift certificate.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I had a great dinner. Loved my eggplant parm!!! I would come here again!!!! Relaxing atmosphere in Downtown Orlando.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food so good that I didn't want the meal to end!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was our first time eating here and we were not disappointed. The restaurant has a quaint atmosphere with lovely background music. The Bruschetta Trastevere was a wonderful combination of flavors and the Insalata Trastevere had crisp, fresh ingredients. My husband had the Pollo Piccata and I had the Pollo Marsala. Both were so flavorful- the kind of deliciousness that makes you close your eyes and savor each bite. We shared a piece of the tasty chocolate cake. The experience and the food were perfect.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Italian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We loved the food and ambiance of this small Italian restaurant. It is nice for a special occasion, was busy just before we got there, so waited a bit for seating and service. The food was worth it! I think they may have been understaffed, but they were surprised with a rush of customers on a Monday night. We will be back on our next trip to Orlando. Not in the normal tourist area so it was a nice change for us! We were the only people in a small room, they seem to have separated areas, decor was very cozy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Trastevere also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Trastevere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.