We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid food and wine!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artist Point at Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge Resort

Artist Point at Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge Resort
901 Timberline Dr, Orlando, FL 32830-1000 (Walt Disney World Resort)
(407) 939-3463
Improve this listing
Ranked #143 of 3,263 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Walt Disney World Resort
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Solid food and wine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Artist Point is an old favorite. The menu is Pacific Northwest influenced and the wine list represents the same area. The salmon and game options on the menu are worth the visit. Atmosphere is not romantic - very rustic decor and high ceilings are a recipe for a loud dining experience earlier in the evening. The best time at Artist Point is late - after 9pm. Be sure to order the smoked portobello mushroom soup!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    194
    91
    38
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Meal at Disney World”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was easily the best meal we had during our stay at Disney World, though of course it was also the most expensive. But prices aren't really out of line with what you'd pay for an upscale restaurant in the real world, and everything was truly delicious. We started with the Mixed Field Greens Salad and the Smokey Portobello Soup. The salad was perfect, and the soup was one of the standout dishes of the trip. I got the signature Cedar Plank Salmon, which they actually bring out on a burned cedar plank before sliding the salmon onto your plate. It was tender and tasty, with, yes, a hint of smoky cedar. My wife got the prawn and crab "hot pot" which was nothing like Chinese hot pot and everything like Thai green curry. But also very good, and nicely spicy. We ended with the berry cobbler. Wish I could have had it all to myself, but we were already too full to begin with!

Service was smooth and friendly. The room itself is very nice -- a tall, open space with windows facing out over the "river" and trees of the courtyard -- though the furniture could stand to be updated. The rest of the public spaces in the hotel are filled with beautiful rustic or arts & crafts furniture, but the tables & chairs in Artist Point were just basic restaurant/cafeteria furniture. No matter, it's still a great dining experience at Disney World

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“My birthday trip to Disney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I dined here during my birthday trip to Disney. We had a wonderful evening. The food was fantastic. Both of us had the Smokey Portobello Soup - Exceptional!! I had the filet mignon and my wife had the buffalo steak. I wanted the airline chicken but was told it is no longer on the menu. The entire meal was delicious. Yes, the dessert portion of the cobbler is somewhat small but who needs 800 more calories after such a filling meal. We made reservations the day before and had to wait 30 minutes beyond that time to be seated. I presumed this delay was because they were busy (several people were waiting to be seated). However, we noticed multiple empty tables once we were seated. Short staffed on a Wednesday night? Our server was very nice. I agree with another reviewer that the character uniforms the servers wear seem out of place in a "fine dining" atmosphere. We would certainly dine here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Incredible meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

attentive service, fabulous steaks, very nice wine list. Actually, there is nothing I don't like about this place, except maybe the dollars I spend there!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“busy place rises to the challenge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Since the closure of California Grill (for renovations), this restaurant has gotten busier. The chef and staff have risen to the challenge. We found that the quality and originality of the dishes have gone up. It is now on our list of top places in Orlando.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artist Point at Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge Resort also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Artist Point at Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artist Point at Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.