We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New family friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6550 Adventure Way, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Kissimmee, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“New family friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

This hotel opened recently in the area of Universal studios. My daughter and I decided to stay there during the Labor weekend. It is amazing. The check in process is very fast and the attendants are very friendly. The theme of the hotel is the 60s and 70s and is pretty neat. The rooms are brand new with very comfortable beds and include a mini fridge. The best thing of the hotel is the bowling alley but the waiting time is between 1-2 hours for a lane. You can wait having some snacks and drinks in the area. They have 3 different food stations in the food court or you can use the restaurant for dinner. The pool is not that big, considering all the rooms in the 3 different buildings of the hotel. It's also hard to find a beach chair but the lazy river is very nice for the kids. They have buses that take you to the parks and also have an extra hour at the Harry Potter area before the park opens. In general, it is a very nice hotel with thing to enjoy other than the Universal theme parks.

Room Tip: Far from the lobby and the food court
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universal's C, Manager at Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure when we can make such an impression on our guests! It seems like you had a wonderful time, and we hope there are many fun stays to come!

Have a swell day,

Universal’s Cabana Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,170
    1,137
    412
    175
    117
See reviews for
2,502
667
48
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at Cabana Bay. We have visited Orlando many times and have stayed at Disney and the Royal Pacific. Cabana Bay has been by far our favorite hotel. We were treated like we stayed at a deluxe hotel and were really pleased with the amenities and the staff. The staff at Cabana Bay and the Universal parks made our family vacation a wonderful experience! We couldn't be happier.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universal's C, Manager at Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for a great review! It thrills us to know that you enjoyed so many aspects of our resort. It’s also wonderful to know that we have become your new favorite hotel.

Thank you for your kind compliments on our Team Members and the resort in general. Can’t wait to have you visit Cabana Bay again!

Have a swell day,

Universal’s Cabana Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Given the recent opening of this property, my husband and I had minimal expectations. Our experience, however, was amazing! The property is very retro, which makes it that much more fun! The theme is the 50's, and there are artifacts that make it very appealing. Phones with dials, old time movies played in the dining room, plastic chairs in the rooms. The staff is friendly, helpful, and knowledgable of the resort and surrounding areas. The beach pool and lazy river were fantastic! I look forward to returning to Cabana Bay very soon. Nice job Universal, with a great price!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universal's C, Manager at Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for a great review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of our resort and that we were able to provide a fun, happy and memorable experience for you and your family.

We can’t wait to have you back at Cabana Bay!

Have a swell day,

Universal’s Cabana Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Great atmosphere and a ton of things to do makes this hotel a great place to stay. We stayed for two days and never had to (or wanted to) leave the hotel.
I would give it a higher rating if I could. My family didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universal's C, Manager at Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We’re thrilled to hear you had a wonderful time.

We wish you didn’t have to leave either! Looking forward to having you back at Cabana Bay soon.

Have a swell day,

Universal’s Cabana Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

we sent 10 days here, 1st time inn Orlando, and we were very impressed with the hotel.
brand new, and clean.
big room with 2 doubles & bathroom/shower ( for UK standard)
shuttle bus was brilliant - we never waited ever more than 5 minutes. we utilised the 1 hour early entrance a few times and grabbed a starbucks from the hotel for the bus - which is about 5 mins.
starbucks onsite was a godsend for coffee lovers.
The Dinner which is kinda like a food hall is good enough, good mix of usual burgers pizza and healthy if you want it. around $8 for a main. the good thing is you can eat in or take away, either eat at pool or take to room. we ate quite alot at City walk which the shuttle bus takes you too.
we had no problem getting in any restaurants, we got in everyone we wanted too easily.
pools are great for kids open till about 10 and show pool side movies everynight - was pretty cool.
the lazy river is a much after a long day at the theme parks grab a ring and a cocktail and float on by - lots of fun.
2 big pools with water features for kids
free wifi in rooms lobby and at pool,
mainly family and young couples.
highly recommend for a family fun trip
loads of plugs and usb ports everywhere - great for gadget geeks

only downside is hotel complex is big so you can walk a fair bit from one side to the next, but not end of the world

Room Tip: all rooms seem similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universal's C, Manager at Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thanks for staying at Cabana Bay with family and your helpful review. We appreciate your mentioning many of the features which made for a pleasant vacation. Looking forward to having you back at Cabana Bay soon!

Have a swell day,

Universal’s Cabana Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

This is a huge hotel located in a great place with access to Universal via shuttles as many times as you want, very convenient. However, there's a $10.00 per night charge per car. It has several pools and a lazy river that was fun and refreshing. The atmosphere was nice, music from the 50s and 60s playing all the time. However, being a fairly new hotel we expected it to be in totally perfect condition and clean. Our room had dust in areas around the TV and closet vents, bathroom, fridge was dirty with particles of food on trays, and was not cool enough. The door handle of the fridge was unscrew, I had to screw it back. I requested a handicap room and there was no access ramps anywhere near this room. This was brought up the attention of a staff member who completely understood and told us they were working on it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

I am truly disgusted by my stay at Cabana Bay. If you're looking for a relaxing atmosphere, DO NOT go to the pools. The lifeguards feel it necessary to constantly blow their whistles at any little thing anyone does wrong. Not only is it distracting to other lifeguards who are supposed to be scanning their water and ensuring safety of guests, but it is distracting to patrons of the pool as well. A loud whistle every five minutes is less than ideal. Also, the hotel insists on only buying alcoholic beverages at the atomic tonic bar by the main pool. I completely understand this rule, however, they do not monitor guests alcoholic intake, AT ALL. There was an extremely intoxicated woman who physically abused her child in the pool. Other guests had to move a child to a safe environment, and the woman refused to leave the pool. When she finally exited the pool, she proceeded to push in a lifeguard. The worst part of the whole situation was the management. The "security guard" stood outside of the pool and watched the woman swim for the next thirty minutes, screaming obscenities and endangering other guests. When the woman would hug the side of the pool, the security guard continued to stand there, and didn't even reason with the woman or ask her to exit the pool. When suggested that police get involved, management refused and said they were unable to get police involved. Uhhh, excuse me? Meanwhile, staff decided the best way to take charge of the situation was close the pool. BECAUSE OF ONE WOMAN. Guests were livid, and understandably so. Finally, they came to their wits and called police. He showed up and within two minutes she carried on, assaulted the police officer and was arrested. In front of hundreds of families and children, including my two-year-old nephew. The woman even accidentally punched my mom while "swimming." No one received apologies. I emailed customer service at the hotel, and never received a follow up email. I was never even acknowledged. I urge you to stay at a different hotel. The management is extremely unprofessional and it is disgusting how they conduct business. I will NEVER stay at cabana bay again.

Room Tip: We had a room by the pool and it was extremely loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort

Address: 6550 Adventure Way, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1800
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort is a moderate and value priced property offering guests their choice of family suites complete with kitchenettes, or standard rooms, plus a wealth of recreation. With two huge pools, a lazy river‡ , bowling alley, and more, it's unforgettable family fun at a great value, right in the heart of Universal Orlando's theme parks and non-stop nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.