We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maxine's On Shine

Maxine's On Shine
337 N Shine Ave, Orlando, FL 32803
+1 407-674-6841
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #210 of 3,007 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: Bistro, Wine Bar, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Livingston
Transit: Lynx bus drop off w/i .25 mile.
Description: Good Day to You! At Maxine's...On Shine our goal is simple "We Seek To Elevate The Experience of Engaging Others In A Highly Entertaining & Enlivening Epicurean Environment!" As a Neighborhood Restaurant located in the Heart of The City Beautiful, We Welcome YOU to the Parlor of a Friend's Home in the Colonialtown Neighborhood. Diverse, Comfortable & Delicious w/ a Splash o' Sexiness. One of the greatest blessings in life is to put a smile on another's face & we look forward to seeing yours!
Windermere, Florida
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We finally got a chance to try Maxine's on Shine and it was delightful! Located in the middle of downtown Orlando, amidst small nestled house, this is definitely the place to dine. Parking is basically limited to the street, but certainly worth the hunt. There are tables outside and inside as well as ample seating at the huge bar. Reservations are suggested, as this place tends to draw a crowd. We managed quite nicely, dining at the bar. Starting off with two mimosas which are offered in small, medium and large portions - we opted for the medium and large. I chose the shrimp and grits and my husband had the chicken and waffles. OMG ! Everythig was delicious and the portions were very large. The atmosphere is laid back, wait staff is friendly and diners ranges from singles, to couples with children. Acoustic entertainment also adds to the charm.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    9
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Trul a hidden gem!!l”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We live in Brevard County and only get to Orlando on weekends when we take a "mini vacation." Last night was one of those occasions.We found it using our GPS and thought were lost when we saw that it was located in a neighborhood.I think this might be the coolest part of the whole thing.Surrounded by houses.

We had a 7 PM reservation and it was a little chilly outside so we sat inside.Our server could not have been nicer.She gave us excellent recommendations on wine and and menu items.About 730 a three piece band started playing on the small stageIn the dining area.All in all it was quite pleasant.

The bottom line is that place has a lot of ambience.The crowd was made up of every conceivable age group. Service was great and the food was excellent what more can you ask for?

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Wish we had one in our neighborhood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is such a great little restaurant. It's tucked away in a downtown Orlando neighborhood. We hadn't been in awhile and decided to make reservations and check it out again. I'm so glad we did. The food was excellent. You can check out the menu's on their website. The calamari was fantastic, light batter and not a heavy fried feeling. The mussels were a big hit and I loved the spinach salad. There was also live music but it wasn't so loud that you couldn't enjoy the company of someone across the table. I'd recommend to anyone looking for a great dinner out plus it supports small business! Like the title says I wish there was one in my 'hood! Don't be deterred by the champagne (sparkling wine) in a can - it was actually quite tasty!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“awesome anniversary surprise!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

we had been to this restaurant in the past when it was a different name...so we were surprised and a little apprehensive to eat here when we saw the new name and the totally different menu...but were we ever so happy we stayed and gave it a shot...the food was very good and the service was also...we sat outside and we felt comfortable and enjoyed the mixed variety of people who frequent the restaurant...there was local people there and guests arriving in limos...the diversity of this place and its location alone makes it worth the trip...highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a small trendy hangout with a good variety of interesting things to eat

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Glad we found it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We decided to meet up at Maxine's on Shine because a friend lived in the area. It's located on a downtown residential street, and I never would have noticed it if someone didn't point it out. We had great food, funky atmosphere, and a very friendly, knowledgeable staff. We enjoyed everything. I had a bacon-smoked gouda grilled cheese ... yes. Desserts -- although pricey -- were amazing. I plan to go back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxine's On Shine also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Maxine's On Shine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxine's On Shine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.