We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really fun lunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Be Our Guest

Be Our Guest
Magic Kingdom Drive, Magic Kingdom, Orlando, FL (Walt Disney World Resort)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 3,198 Restaurants in Orlando
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Walt Disney World Resort
Princeton, Illinois
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A really fun lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

As a group of 6 (including 2 cast members) we enjoyed a truly fun lunch. The decor was smashing and the wait was under 30 minutes. While this is a "counter service" place at lunch, it has a real up-scale feel. We found the ordering kiosk easy to use and the food came to the table quickly via our GPS rose. Be warned that the West Wing area may be too scary for little ones. Our first graders likes the photos on-line and in real life it was too much.

We had the pork, ham and cheese, steak sandwich and a variety of cup cakes. All were met with rave reviews. The pork dish was large enough that I split it with DD age 13. Other reviewers mentioned that the Beast only appeared for a short time. This is true. Be Our Guest is NOT a character meal.

This is a great stop for lunch. I am not certain about dinner. While the menu is impressive, getting a beer with dinner may not be worth the additional cost. Our lunch was $10 per person and we all left feeling full. Note that there are free refills on drinks here. This is not the case in many counter service options.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,276
    633
    275
    100
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best fast casual in Magic Kingdom!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Note: This review is for lunch, not dinner.
Look out Columbia Harbour House -- you have competition for the best counter service in the Magic Kingdom! Be Our Guest is absolutely fabulous, both in terms of dining and the experience. Disney has really taken it up a notch with this new restaurant, and it shines.

We dined here in mid-January, shortly after new Fantasyland opened, so the excitement and hype was super high. We all knew we wanted to have lunch here on our day in the MK, and had heard lines were legendary. The reports were right, and we joined a long line of people at 10:45am. Yes, 10:45am, not so long after most in our party had feasted on cinnamon rolls for breakfast at the nearby Gaston's Tavern. The restaurant opened at 11:30, and the line went fairly quickly after that. The staff manning the line was unfailingly cheerful and friendly, and even when half of our party was missing, they allowed us to keep our space in line. Very nice.

Experience: From the time you stand in line to when you sit down, you're in for a visual treat. Beast's castle is impeccably done, from the perspective trickery outside to the grand entrance hall and stained glass art inside. As you wait in line, there's lots to keep you entertained, from the creaking suits of armor in the entry hallway to the books and rich appointments in Beast's library (aka the ordering room). The staff directs you to an individual kiosk with a touch screen. The ordering system is pretty simple, just make your selections, specify the quantity or any special requests, and then pay with a credit card/room key. (Minor annoyance: if you pay cash, a staffer has to direct you to a separate register. Really?!) It's all very similar to the fast casual concept in restaurants like Panera etc.
After ordering, you're handed a restaurant beeper that's in the shape of a rose bud - very cute. From here, you can fill up your soda cup in the dining room and then you find a table in one of the dining rooms and place your beeper on the table. We were very mystified as to how the servers know where to find you to bring your food (the dining rooms are massive and the roses aren't obvious indicators), but Disney magic, I guess. The servers are dressed like the ones from the movie, and bring out the food on massive glass-domed tray carts similar to a cheese cart in a fancy restaurant. Very classy.

Food: I had the steak sandwich and pommes frites (oh Disney, you so fancy) for $11. I was a little nervous, knowing that steak at this price point is usually tough and disappointing. Not this one. This steak was juicy and tender, not fatty at all, and topped with a delicious herbed garlic butter spread. The crunchy French bread complemented it nicely, as did the skinny, crispy french fries. Fantastic! Others in my party tried the tuna nicoise salad, croque monsieur, and the carved turkey sandwich. The tuna nicoise salad was just gorgeous, filled with ripe veggies and topped with a hearty serving of tuna steak. The turkey sandwich was similar to my steak one, but the croque monsieur was kind of tiny and looked a little over-toasted and greasy to me. Everyone raved about their food. For dessert, we each tried one of the cupcakes, and they all received rave reviews. My BF and I split the chocolate and strawberry cream cheese cupcakes between us, and they were both to die for. The chocolate cupcake was moist, rich, and topped with elegant chocolate pieces. The strawberry cream cheese cupcake was equally fancy, with a great strawberry flavor and even little strawberry crunchies on top. Both of these cupcakes were works of art, both in taste and presentation, and way better than the average Disney cupcake or dessert. Highly recommend!

Atmosphere: There are three dining rooms: the ballroom, the West Wing (rose room), or the rose gallery (Belle's room). The West Wing, is the smallest and IMHO, kind of creepy and it may freak out little kids. The hologram effect on the rose where you can watch the petals fall is pretty cool, but the room is very dark and has simulated thunder and lightening. The rose gallery (Belle's room) is very light and airy, like a bright, fancy parlour room with ornate decor. The ballroom is the one you see in all the commercials and the famous dance scene from the movie, and by far the most grand (and noisy). If you watch out the windows at the end of the room, you can see snow "falling" outside - very neat. We sat in the ballroom and loved it - just like being part of the movie.

Pros: delicious food, excellent theming and Disney "magic", overall a must-do experience.
Cons: extremely long wait to get in (but it's worth it!)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“tres bon (very good!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

While we were unable to make a reservation for dinner (RESERVE EEEEEEEARLY), we ate at Be Our Guest using the walk-up lunch service. Like everything at a Disney park, there was a line to get inside, but it moved very quickly, and there were waiters walking up and down the line with menus (so you could choose your food before entering) and cups of cold water. This was a nice service, as the menus provided a bit of entertainment and the water was quite refreshing considering the midday heat of Florida in June.
Once you enter the restaurant, you are ushered to your right (still in a line, but with air-conditioning) where your orders are taken. Listen closely: the knights talk to one another. At the order stations, you will be referred to a cashier who will take your order (menus are provided here as well, if needed) and take your money. You will also be given a pager that alerts your waiter or waitress of your table location. From there, you are free to wander amongst the three dining rooms and choose a table. We chose to sit in the ballroom, which is the main dining room.
When your food is prepared, a waiter or waitress approaches your table with a large glass compartment on wheels, which contains your orders. The wait-staff speaks in French accents, and our waitress stayed in character the entire time she was presenting our food.
The lunch menu consisted mainly of soups and sandwiches, with a few other assorted entrées and a limited selection of desserts. We ordered potato leek soup, French onion soup, two prime rib sandwiches, and a roasted turkey sandwich. The sandwiches, which are served on delicious thick-cut French bread with 'pommes frites' (French fries) are some of the best we've ever tasted. The meat was perfectly cooked, and the greens were fresh and crispy. The soups were excellent as well, particularly the potato leek; both made very good dipping sauces for the sandwiches. Not only was this our favorite meal at Disney, it ranks very high on our list of Favorite Meals altogether. This is not cliché amusement park food; this is food one would be satisfied with at a normal restaurant. Drinks are served fountain style, with free refills.
After gorging ourselves on the unexpectedly good food, we wandered around the other dining rooms to see the rest of the castle. The ballroom was spacious, with a painted ceiling and sparkling gold chandeliers. The 'windows' in the back of the ballroom show a snowy scene and 'snow' falling. To one side is a room that I believe was the library, which was rather plain, aside from the large spinning sculpture of Belle and Beast. The other dining room was the West Wing, decorated in dark purple. Shredded purple swags hang from the ceiling, and a portrait of the Prince is suspended above a fireplace. A 'storm' is raging in this area of Be Our Guest; when the lightning flashes, watch the portrait change to Beast's face. Look quickly, because it returns to the Prince's face in an instant. In the back of the room is the Enchanted Rose, covered by a glass dome. If we were to eat at Be Our Guest again, I would want to eat in the West Wing for the atmosphere.
This restaurant is beautiful, and the food was, as I said, the best in the parks. Highly recommended to anyone visiting Magic Kingdom!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quick service dining in Beasts Castle is good eats and gorgeous atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch. No reservations needed for lunch. We arrived at 11:45 and had a 10 minute wait to get into the castle. Then another 10 to order. The ordering kiosk was difficult for some and made the wait longer than I think it would need to be. $40 for family of 3 (1 kid) including drinks and dessert. The French onion soup was bland. Kids pork was good. Roast beef Sammy delish! Grilled ham and cheese very good. Cupcakes for dessert delish! Dining is GORGEOUS. Food is delivered magically to your table via GPS. So cool.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were really not impressed at all by the Be Our Guest restaurant. It has the potential to have much more atmosphere than it did. Other than the occasional appearance of the Beast who walked down the aisle for two minutes and then disappeared again the place was boring. The food was terrible. My son ordered the French onion soup and hated it. He said it tasted funny so the other three of us tried it and we all hated it and we like French onion soup. The macaroni and cheese was just gross and also tasted terrible. The food is overpriced and there are much better options than this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Be Our Guest also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Be Our Guest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Be Our Guest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.