We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated and overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bosphorous Turkish Cuisine

Bosphorous Turkish Cuisine
7600 Dr Phillips Blvd, Ste 108, Orlando, FL 32819
(407) 352-6766
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bosphorous Turkish Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #353 of 3,168 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Turkish, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Bosphorous Turkish Cuisine has been established since 2004, and has been family owned and operated ever since. Our first location (on Park Avenue in Winter Park, FL) has firmly established our presence as the premier Turkish restaurant company in Florida. This location (opened in late 2012) was our first endeavor into the South Orlando market - and we're so glad to be here! We're very excited about our newest location, and are quite proud to say that our food, wines, and high level of service are identical to our Winter Park location. Come experience our authentic Turkish cuisine, made in-house, from scratch - every single day. We look forward to seeing you at Bosphorous Turkish Cuisine in Dr. Phillips!
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

First the positives. Nice location including outdoor seating. Friendly staff. Overall not bad but food is average at best and very overpriced.

I ordered an Adana kebab which is actually very simple to make but very hard to find properly done in the US or at least outside of the NY area. It wasn't bad but the meat was a little tough and seemed bland, lacking some of the spice/flavor I would expect.

My wife ordered Iskender Kebab. Amazing that such a simple tomato based sauce can be so complicated for some restaurants to get right. We think it was ketchup or something similar. Asked to have it returned and manager did, no questions. Chef came out and asked what we would like instead. Settled on lamb shish kebab. The lamb was in 2-3 inch size chunks and very tough. I have never ever seen chunks of lamb that size before.

Had a lunch size kebab for my son. Same comments as mine.

Walked out of there with a $100+ bill for 2 adults and 1 child. Overall, the food was way below expectations and prices were probably $30-40 higher than I pay in DC. Tourist related due to Orlando?

I will not return to this restaurant. Hopefully we can find other alternatives on our next visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdsexter, General Manager at Bosphorous Turkish Cuisine, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
While the results of your dining experience are far from our aspirations, we appreciate the feedback. Our team is constantly trying to learn from experiences and better the product that we provide our guests on a daily basis. Please accept our sincerest apologies for a dining experience that did not meet your expectations.

Even though there is no way to change the outcome of when you came for dinner, we would love to have you back in the restaurant to give us a second chance at exceeding the expectations and reputation. Regardless, we will definitely use this feedback to improve in any way we can.

Warm Regards,

Chris Southern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    22
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Brunswick, NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Turkish food on Sand Lake Drive - awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We visiting this restaurant in 2011 in Winter Park, FL & looked forward to returning this year. Was fortunate to find they took ownership of a turkish (formerly Anatolia) restaurant on Dr.Phillips, right off Sand Lake.
You must get the Lavoosh bread! everything is so fresh and prepared to ordered. We ordered the two appetizers together for $10.50 (eggplant mix and yougurt dip)and their Shepard salad to share. A lot of food. Then we ordered a single portion of lamb shanks which came with 2 & we were stuffed. But who can't resist their special baklava which has cheese in the middle! We took 1/2 of it back.

This is our 'go to' place. We hate the chain places & want to try some nice family owned, stand alone restaurants. They put their heart and soul into their food and it shows.

Also, right across the Sand Lake is a Lebanese place called Cedars - also excellent!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdsexter, General Manager at Bosphorous Turkish Cuisine, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
One of the best compliments we can receive is the notice of our hard work and 'heart and soul' that goes into our food. We genuinely appreciate that recognition!

Thank you so much for helping our family owned business! We love nothing more than satisfying our guests to the fullest..

Warm Regards,

Chris Southern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another Turkish Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We've ben regulars at their Winter Park location for years, and were thrilled that they opened one closer to our home in Dr. Phillips. We came on Friday night, and were thrilled to be listening to live music (was a violinist and a pianist at the time).. The patio is beautiful this time of year, as the plaza was already decorated for the holidays..

The menu is the same as in Winter Park, so we knew to order the Lavas bread (hollow bread) right away with an assortment of cold appetizers. From there I had the Beyti Kebab (a little spicy, lamb kebab, just the way I like it!) and my wife ordered Chicken Adana kebab served in "the traditional yogurt style"

Everything was delicious as usual. Service was attentive but not overbearing.. They were busy, and we waiting about 15 minutes to get a table outside but it was well worth the wait. We'll be regulars here.. and may just have to swing by from time to time for a Turkish coffee and some of their pistachio baklava - by far the best we've ever had

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdsexter, General Manager at Bosphorous Turkish Cuisine, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
It's great to hear your experience with us in Dr. Phillips was just as good as your past experiences in Winter Park. Thanks for helping contribute to our success at our new location in Dr. Phillips!

By the way, we definitely recommend reservations on the weekends.. with the weather as nice as it will be - outside dining on the patio will be prime-time!

Warm Regards,

Chris Southern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This restaurant is special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have gone to this restaurant many times on Saturday nights and are delighted with it. The food is excellent,we usually order a lamb dish and the portion is tremendous. The servers are wonderful and very attentive.Add to this they have Flamenco musicians that perform outside while you are having dinner. If you chose to eat inside the restaurant is beautiful/

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdsexter, General Manager at Bosphorous Turkish Cuisine, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
The music will keep playing every Friday and Saturday night! We appreciate the feedback, and are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us!

Warm Regards,

Chris Southern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I was here while traveling on business and no one else would go with me! I had a great meal humus and babaganoush as an appitiser with iskander kabob as an entre. I really enjoyed it. I also ordered the kanuf which was tasty but should have had more cheese. It was however cookers when ordered!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdsexter, General Manager at Bosphorous Turkish Cuisine, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We're very glad to hear you decided to be bold and try our restaurant alone! We can't thank you enough for your business and look forward to seeing you back at the restaurant soon.

In regards to the kunefe, thanks for the feedback. Creating the perfect balance of cheese and shredded pastry is difficult but we''' continue to focus our efforts on perfecting it!

Warm Regards,

Chris Southern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bosphorous Turkish Cuisine also viewed

 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 

Been to Bosphorous Turkish Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bosphorous Turkish Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.