We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roy's Hawaiian Fusion

Roy's Hawaiian Fusion
7760 West Sand Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819
+1 407-352-4844
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's Hawaiian Fusion is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 2,999 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Dr Phillips Blvd.
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic food and service, excellent service, live the wine list! Went for our anniversary and have zero complaints.

. You can spend as little or as much as you like on wine, we had a bottle of silver oak cab suav and it was wonderful.

Lovely meal and highly recommended

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    149
    52
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daphne, Alabama
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“We enjoy returning here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We come to Roy's routinely when we come to Orlando. Normally on a Sunday night to kick off our week at Disney. The food is always great. The service too. We always enjoy it. We had a dinner for 2 at a cost of $140 (including the tip). We were happy with this. This is a loud and vibrant place so don't expect a quiet romantic adventure here. One thing I did notice this time was a deterioration in the "quality" of some of the service. The junior members of the wait staff are seeming to lack in the proper etiquette training and courtesies ... Never experienced this in the past here. This attention to detail was a cornerstone of this place, so I hope it does not slip into the past.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fairly Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Have to say that given the high rating of this restaurant on TripAdvisor we were left slightly disappointed with our visit. The food was very good, but not outstanding, and the service was average. Also, having received OK service the waiter then went out of his way to point out that service was not included on the bill. So much so that it's stuck as one of the lasting impressions of the restaurant in my mind (rather than the food!). The ambience in the restaurant was also disappointing. It didn't feel any different to any other chain restaurant you'll find in Orlando. All in all an OK restaurant but I wouldn't go out of my way to visit, especially for the price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie L, Guest Relations Manager at Roy's Hawaiian Fusion, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are so sorry to hear abut your experience. It is absolutely not all right for our server to point out that gratuity is excluded and we will definitely address this issue with our team. We take such feedback very seriously and would like to speak to you about your visit when you have time. What is the best way to connect with you? My email address is jlee@roysrestaurant.com.

Many thanks for your feedback, and I look forward to speaking with you soon.
Mahalo,
Jeannie Lee @ Roy's Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant in Orlando”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Roy's once again exceeded our expectations when we went there for dinner this evening. We started with the fried green tomato caprese salad which was absolutely fantastic. Then we shared the chicken and Mahi Mahi--both also excellent. The server noticed that the fish seemed a little undercooked as I was cutting into it, and he immediately took it away. I was so pleased that he noticed it himself without my having to say anything that I didn't mind waiting for the kitchen to prepare the new entree. The manager brought out the replacement and offered to treat us to a dessert to make up for the mistake. We gladly took him up on the offer and thoroughly enjoyed the hot chocolate soufflé and pineapple upside down cake. Delicious food, terrific service across the board, and reasonable prices...especially for the quality...what more could you ask for? We will return very soon!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“mixed feelings !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have given Roy's a very good rating but with some mixed feelings. Everything we ate was delicious but we had scallop stuffed with crab for our appetiser at $11 and got just one small scallop. It was lovely but left us wanting more and for $11 this seemed a bit of a rip off. The restaurant was lovely with a good ambience and we were made to feel special as we were celebrating our anniversary.

We were served by several different people so it was hard to complement our server. They were all efficient but its nice to establish a rapport with your server and this was missing.

If the portions were just a little bit more generous I would have given this an excellent rating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Hawaiian Fusion also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Roy's Hawaiian Fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roy's Hawaiian Fusion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.