We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative and worth the price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roy's Hawaiian Fusion

Roy's Hawaiian Fusion
7760 West Sand Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819
(407) 352-4844
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's Hawaiian Fusion is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 3,166 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Dr Phillips Blvd.
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
washington, dc
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Creative and worth the price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I absolutely loved this restaurant. I love going to restaurants, where there are numerous items on the menu I want to try and Roy’s has that menu.
With that said, this is not your 5 star New York dinner, but I can’t remember that last restaurant in Orlando that left a great big smile on my face as Roy’s did.
Appetizers there were too many that we wanted to try so we got the sampler tray, which satisfied everyone at the table, and the lobster pot stickers were the favorite.
We had the Seared U-10 Scallops & Grits, perfect, the short ribs, very good and the Hawaiian Style Misoyaki Butterfish, which was the best. This dish was excellent in presentation, flavor and quantity. The sauce was a well done sweet and spicy broth, yum. We enjoyed the dinner so much we did something out of the ordinary and order a dessert to share. The upside down pineapple cake was very good.
The service was very good.
Wine menu small but sufficient. I would add more French selections, but it covered all regions and price ranges.
I will return to this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    131
    47
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very nice meal, room was loud and cold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The fish was well prepared and perfectly cooked. We shared the greens salad, always a good treat. The dressing is light with lots of subtle flavors, you can't go wrong. I had the Andouille Crusted Snapper, something unexpected and I was suspicious the sausage might overwhelm the fish, but the chef pulled it off. It was an experiment well worth the try. Barbara had the shelfish sampler and from my taste everything was just right. Our waiters agreed the room is very loud and the restaurant is scheduled for a renovation in April to fix it. Our table had the AC coming down on us and one of our servers got my wife a chefs coat. It would have rated an excellent if not for he noise and cold.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie L, Guest Relations Manager at Roy's Hawaiian Fusion, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and we're sorry to hear you were cold! We will surely share your feedback with our Ohana in Orlando. If you visit any of our other locations country-wide and need a reservation, feel free to email me directly at jlee@roysrestaurant.com. I will personally ensure that the manager is informed about your previous experience. We'll make sure the temperature in the room is appropriate!

Mahalo for your feedback,
Jeannie Lee @ Roy's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was responsible for putting together a group dinner and after a little research settled on Roy's. The restaurant staff was extremely helpful and accommodating and there were not problems as the number of our party changed. I had never been to a Roy's but several members of our group had. I thought the food was quite good and not terribly expensive for a "nice" restaurant in Orlando. The service was excellent. My one complaint: good heavens, the noise!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“one of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What can we say... This was a real find on our last evening in Orlando. The food, service and general atmosphere was amazing. It's difficult to describe how great the food was, but it was fantastic quality and the best we have had in a very long time. It maybe worth phoning in advance to make a reservation as it was very busy. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice environment with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place was quite busy, but found a way to accommodate a walk in table of 10. Staff was very friendly, and the menu had some excellent choices. Andouille Crusted Snapper with empura okra & crystal hot sauce beurre blanc, is a MUST try. Such unique flavor, I will return to this place just for this. Excellent appetizers, such as short ribs, and great deserts such as a peanut butter flavored cheesecake.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Hawaiian Fusion also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Roy's Hawaiian Fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roy's Hawaiian Fusion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.