We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Ribs and Brisket” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smoky Bones

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Smoky Bones
3200 East Colonial Drive, Orlando, FL
407-893-1511
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,637 of 3,180 Restaurants in Orlando
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Super Ribs and Brisket”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Brisket is so good that they run out of it no matter how much they make. Ribs are excellent and portions generous. Even the sides are delicious including their baked beans and slaw.

The service, however, is poor. We walked in and the hostess wouldn't seat us until they had made sets of cutlery which they had run out of. the manager had to come over and seat us after waiting for the hostess to make dozens of sets (two for us wasn't good enough for her).
The server, while pleasant, was not to be found and rarely came by our table so we could even try to flag her down. Some training is sorely needed at this location.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Great Food but a long wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Our family had dinner here last night (3/10) & there was about a 45 minute wait (we arrived around 7PM) - no problem there. However, from the time we ordered until the first food showed up at the table - 54 more minutes elapsed and the kids (& adults) were really getting tired of being at Smoky Bones. But things got better from that point - the food was excellent (I had pork tenderloin with their special sauce and it was outstanding). Everyone definitely enjoyed their meal (of course we were all quite hungry by the time the food finally arrived). If you go, I highly recommend the triple layer chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream & chocolate syrup - extremely delicious and 1 is sufficient for 2 or 3 to share. I'll overlook the long wait as an abnormal event on that particular night and highly recommend Smoky Bones.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticonderoga, New York, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good BBQ!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had good servers both times we visited. They have a great menu. Loved the brisket and their smoked wings are great. The asiago chicken pasta was getting good reviews too. The sides are generous sized and so tasty. They have a drink named Strawberry Blonde that was so delicious too. Ending the meal with a hot bag of donuts is the way to go!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Two Thin Slices of Brisket $12.95?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Hungry for a steak, we pulled into Smoky Bones and grabbed seats at the bar because there was a sizable waiting line for tables. A warm and hospitable welcome by the bar staff has apparently been left out of their training program. On a positive note, the draft beer was cold and reasonably priced! That is the only positive we found during out visit.

The menu lists multiple steak offerings; but, the menu makes no reference to portion sizes and you have to ask your server if you want to make an educated decision on what is fairly priced. Based on the portion sizes we were informed of, we then opted to go for the brisket dinner. Who doesn't like a great brisket dinner?

What a shock when our dinners arrived and the plate contained a mere two 1/8 inch thick slices of brisket...with each being about six by one inch in size. Mind you brisket is not the most expensive cut of meat; but, based on the portion size for the price, this restaurant company treats this cut of meat as if it were a prime steak.

We did question the bartender if the portion size was correct and he asked if we wanted the kitchen to recheck our dinners. We said yes and the plates were returned with an additional slice put on the plate and informed we were given 8 ounces versus the standard portion of six ounces. We were asked if we wanted something else; but, based on the server's tone, we just wanted to eat and leave. Note to restaurant, the presentation would have been better if a smaller plate had been used...making the dinner plate look fuller.

The brisket was both a little dry and stringy; the baked potatoes was not cooked through and the "steamed" broccoli must have been resuscitated from the freezer as it was as close to mush as possible while retaining their floweret shape.

A more reasonable menu price of $9.95-$10.95 would have left a better taste in diners’ mouths. Based on local retail grocery store prices we would estimate the cost of the plate was at tops $3.45 (medium baked potato $.15; 2 oz. sour cream $.20; 4 oz. broccoli $.40; 8 oz. brisket $2.50; and 2 oz. BBQ sauce $.20). This was not a complicated or labor intensive meal to prepare.

According to Smokey Bones own web site… "A menu says a lot about a restaurant. Ours says, "Hope you're hungry." We suggest Smokey Bones should review its advertising claims and be a little bit more honest and include portion size information on its menus.

For a first experience at a Smoky Bones, we do not think a return visit will be forthcoming any time soon following our disappointing experience with staff demeanor, value for what was charged, mediocre brisket and overall all food quality.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Average briskets”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Visited this restaurant with coworkers on 25 Novemembe 2014. I was dissapointed the took off the menu a burger with a fried egg. I ordered the brisket sandwich and was not really impressed. I will go again and try something different will write another review.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoky Bones also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Smoky Bones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoky Bones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.