We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and cheap!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
7055 South Semoran Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32822
407-992-8818
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #770 of 3,088 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Barbecue, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food and cheap!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My fiancee and I went here when we stayed at the Wyndham hotel Use your key card to get 10 percent off. Two full meals was under 20 bucks. I highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    47
    27
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Excellent Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I loved the food and the friendliness of the staff and customers. I would definitely go there again.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ribs Reign”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very good food and service. the portions were large and the desserts called for a carry out. There were a lot of items on the menu so anyone could find something for their taste buds.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UPstate NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“absolutely no frills, but the food is good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is probably the equivilent of your hometown dive that has great food and little atmosphere. if so, you have found home away from home. don't expect fine china, but just the essentials to eat a picnic dinner. oh yeah, plenty of napkins. food is excellent, waite staff is great, and the price is right. it is great for families on a limited budget. enjoy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not here if you are in a hurry!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Eaten at Sonny's BBQ many times and most of the time the food is rather good. However at this location the service was slower than a snail could crawl and by the time the food was brought to us it was not even warm. Also, the place was not that crowded either. The only way I will ever eat here again is if and when I have nothing else to do!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonny's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.