We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really folks'! Not a lot here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paella House

Paella House
12701 S John Young Pkwy, ste 117, Orlando, FL 32837
407-730-6500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #886 of 3,255 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: European, Spanish, Tapas, Wine Bar
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really folks'! Not a lot here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Sometimes you can tell quality by the number of people entering or leaving at dinner time. We visited today after reading the good reviews. We sat out front in the parking lot for 10 minutes. No one left or entered. That should have been a clue! There was one other couple sitting in this place containing wooden tables. We stayed. The calamari was good. The dipping sauce was unflavorable. The sangria was flat however the wine was excellent. The hot rolls were very good. We ordered the seafood paella which was somewhat tasteless but ok for locals, I think. Not something that I would return for seconds. The men's bath was dark because only one of the four light bulbs was working. We were there for about 1.5 hours and other than the couple at the other table, there were no other paying customers. This place as potential within the local community that is looking for a Spanish dish. However, beyond the local family related clients, it leaves a lot to be desire. However, I support small family owned businesses and I hope they get a great chef to help the business grow.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    20
    13
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“OK but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

I can't understand all the glowing reviews. It was OK but it was far from five star. We had the house special cold tapa. Presentation was basic, the olives were pimento stuffed from a jar, supermarket quality, also the meats and cheese could have been bought in Publix down the road.

The paella mixta again was OK but the ingredients were not fresh, the chicken and the calamari were rather chewy.

Service was great though, but we were the only customers there on a Monday night.

All in all a resounding average.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Family Operated Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The Paella was great and a huge serving that with leftovers taken home produce another two meals. The service was great as well. This was our second visit and they honored a Groupon with no hesitation or snarling.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“very good food, moderate price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had seven adults enjoy dinner at Paella House on John Young Parkway in Orlando. It is easy to drive to as it is only about a half mile north of the interchange with the Greenway, the east west expressway in south Orlando that goes south of the airport. We made reservations for a Wednesday and they had a large round table set for us when we arrived. The restaurant is located in a low end strip mall, nothing fancy.

The decor was simple and well done and we hoped the food would be even better. That turned out to be true!

Several opted for non-alcoholic drinks but the other five shared a pitcher of Sangria. It was tasty with very small diced fruit primarily apple and orange rind.

The menu is quite extensive with many variation of their signature dish, paella. Three decided to share a Paella Valenciana, the one that had no seafood. The size of the paella is made dependent on the number who order it. Most of the main dishes are made to order so expect about a 25 minute wait. Fortunately we were not in a hurry.

Several ordered hot tapas and a salad for their meal while I tried the cazuela de mariscos, billed as a savory sea food stew in a special marinara. I did not want any of the three starchy sides so I got an extra order of vegetables. The cazuela was loaded with shellfish and fish, and the steamed or perhaps sautéed vegetables, consisting of coarse cut broccoli, carrots, cauliflower, in other word a California blend. We also ordered fried calamari as an appetizer.

The cazuela was excellent, the vegetables healthy but nothing special, the calamari was clearly a mixture of some that were fried once and some twice, with the second, crisper and better tasting. Perhaps they should cook all calamari twice as one does to get crisp French fries. Those who ate the tapas and the paella were delighted with their choices. Most of us ordered a Caesar salad, good but nothing to write home about.

Our waiter, Richard, was attentive without being intrusive, in other words an excellent waiter. We all shared a flan as several in the party had never tried one. It too was quite good but no where near the very best I have had.

Overall, I would certainly recommend Paella House. Some dishes need a little work, such as the vegetables and Caesar salad, and the calamari could be a little bit crisper. The portions are more than adequate. I took half of my cazuela and vegetables home in nice repeatable cylindrical containers. There was also plenty of extra paella which went home in a different directions.

I was disappointed for the restaurant to see so few other diners. No more than two of the ten or so other tables were occupied while we were there though some came by to pick up take out orders. The main courses we tried were very good to excellent. If one is looking for very good Spanish food at a moderate price, Paella House is a fine place to dine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We WILL be back with the rest if the family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Dinner with 6 people just a few hours ago. Service was excellent but I will admit that it was not busy. 2 of us ordered the Sangria which was a little watered down and I will say that it was our least favorite part of the dinner but by no means a deal breaker. The tapas we ordered as app's included croquets, empanadas, soup ,and tortilla Espanola: all were delicious and flavorful. We ordered the Paella Mixta for 6 people. The portions were so that 5 of us served ourselves twice and there was still 2 full portions to take home. The paella was cooked very well with still a little broth on the bottom. The rice was perfect- not soft and mushy and not at all undercooked, the seafood tasted fresh and the seasoning and flavors were all we tAlked about for the first 20mins or so of our meal. Dessert was flan and churros with chocolate, its enough to say that there were no left overs of dessert, although I will say that the churros could have been cooked a minute or so longer to get a little more texture on the outside but with that rich dark chocolate dip who would care?! Richard was our server, his friendly manner and easy demeanor was a treat even with some of our confusion about how to split the check, he was professional and courteous..and patient. The bill came to about $38 per person (with tip included) which when considering we had 4 tapas, 1 paella for 6 (with leftovers), 1 picture of sangria, 2 flan, 2 churros, and 2 coffees= we will be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paella House also viewed

Winter Park, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Paella House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paella House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.