We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We WILL be back with the rest if the family.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paella House

Paella House
12701 S John Young Pkwy, ste 117, Orlando, FL 32837
407-730-6500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #828 of 3,198 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: European, Spanish, Tapas, Wine Bar
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We WILL be back with the rest if the family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Dinner with 6 people just a few hours ago. Service was excellent but I will admit that it was not busy. 2 of us ordered the Sangria which was a little watered down and I will say that it was our least favorite part of the dinner but by no means a deal breaker. The tapas we ordered as app's included croquets, empanadas, soup ,and tortilla Espanola: all were delicious and flavorful. We ordered the Paella Mixta for 6 people. The portions were so that 5 of us served ourselves twice and there was still 2 full portions to take home. The paella was cooked very well with still a little broth on the bottom. The rice was perfect- not soft and mushy and not at all undercooked, the seafood tasted fresh and the seasoning and flavors were all we tAlked about for the first 20mins or so of our meal. Dessert was flan and churros with chocolate, its enough to say that there were no left overs of dessert, although I will say that the churros could have been cooked a minute or so longer to get a little more texture on the outside but with that rich dark chocolate dip who would care?! Richard was our server, his friendly manner and easy demeanor was a treat even with some of our confusion about how to split the check, he was professional and courteous..and patient. The bill came to about $38 per person (with tip included) which when considering we had 4 tapas, 1 paella for 6 (with leftovers), 1 picture of sangria, 2 flan, 2 churros, and 2 coffees= we will be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    18
    12
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Awesome, great food, we all had garlic chicken, over whelming amount for lunch. The yellow rice went well, plus hot crusty rolls. The owner made the meal interesting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wondrous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

What a find. Everything was way way way better than expected. We share fried calamari which I'm a snob about and it was perfect and Chorizo in Brandy for appetizers. This was a new taste and one I'll be back for. We shared a Seafood Paella which took 25 minutes since everything is made to order. It was huge, but at half the size it would have been a steal. Jessica, our server,is a delight, and we caged the history of the place out of her. Her Mom still makes everything and is masterful.
Go! I can't recommend it more highly

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned pretend spainsh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

By florida standards this place was great - sensibl prices, helpful staff, free wifi and the food was smashing. Toilets were lovely too

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“A Trip to Andalusia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

A few years ago during our winter trips to Orlando, we discovered Coast del Sol and loved the paella. Alas, three years ago, we could not find it. But while browsing Groupn, I came across Paella House. Sam vicinity of Orlando - could it be? Yes! Same family with roots in Andalusia and the same great paella! We ordered the paella for two and the garlic shrimp appetizer to tide us over while we waited for the paella (if anyone promises paella in less than 20-25 minutes - leave! It can't be done correctly in less time). The garlic shrimp was scrumptious and the paella was enough for four (a box was brought). After dinner, we enjoyed churros with chocolate - very nicely done. With the bill came a reminder that the tip should be based on the amount prior to discount for the Groupon - very smart since many people might forget and figure the tip on the amount of the check.
Only negative - Costa del Sol used to have Flamenco. That, alas, is no more.
We are thrilled to find our favorite restaurant back in business and would recommend this place to anyone visiting Orlando.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paella House also viewed

Winter Park, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Paella House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paella House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.