We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, what a benefit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's BoardWalk Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's BoardWalk Villas to your Saves list
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2101 Epcot Resort Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-1000   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Genoa City, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Location, what a benefit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I love to stay at Boardwalk for two reasons, transportation to Epcot and Hollywood Studios by boat is so much better than the bus and entering through the Epcot back door is so very convienent and hassle free. The other reason I like this property is the Boardwalk Bakery but that was closed for remodeling this time. It is very nice to have the bus transportation but they really need to treat people less like cattle and more like walking money which is exactly what tourists are. Since the boat takes you to two of the parks, the only time you take the bus is for Animal and Magic Kingdoms and Downtown Disney or the water parks. They group 5 hotels for the same bus route. So there are times when you spend 30-40 minutes or more on or waiting for those buses when people could be gleefully spending money at one of the parks instead. Beware! If you are going to Downtown Disney during the coming weeks, the most convienent bus stop at the Marketplace is closed, so there is now only one bus stop and pick up at the Pleasure Island area. We did not know this until we were headed for a late light meal and some last minute shopping. We had been at Disney for the week before and never saw one sign indicating this closure, if so I would have shopped and eaten on the Boardwalk to avoid the crowd and hassel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    265
    55
    32
    17
See reviews for
482
147
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

The location is great. Chalking distance from Hollywood Studios and Epcot's rear entrance. The room was not so great. We got a room which was in terrible need of maintenance. There were things broken or falling apart all over the 2 bedroom unit we had. The room was missing light fixes in the bathroom. There were pull handles missing from dressers. The wooden chairs were falling apart and looked unsafe to sit on. The privacy doors between the master bedroom and master bath were broken off their tracks. And then there is the plumbing. My wife used the master bathroom's toilet one late even after returning from the parks. The toilet overflowed and flooded the floor. Repeated calls to the from desk for maintenance and it still took well over an hour to get anyone up to our room. We literally had to wait up late at night for maintenance because of the lousy plumbing, when we should have been getting sleep to handle the next day at the theme parks. PS. The check-in was a nightmare.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our first time in one of Disney's villas. We had a studio. Traveling with my mother. I slept in the pull out sofa bed. Very very comfortable. I had some trouble unfolding it, as it's not your typical sleep sofa. My sister and niece were in another studio room though and they didn't have trouble with their sleep sofa, so maybe it was just me. We had a beautiful view of the canal that runs between the Boardwalk and the Swan and Dolphin. We could see Tower of Terror from our balcony. This was a very comfortable room with all the conveniences we needed, and the best location for feeling like you're still part of the "World" after returning to your room from the parks. I loved being able to walk to Epcot and the Studios, and all the restaurants and entertainment on the Boardwalk. I won't want to stay anywhere else from now on.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just got back from the resort, stayed in a 1-bedroom villa and was very pleased with the entire experience except for two major points:

1. Unannounced closure of the main pool! They did try to makeup for it by allowing guests to use the beach club pool, which is amazing, but we would not have stayed here if we would have known the pool would have been closed. And to make it worse, I had a pool-side room that offered a wonderful experience of construction noise.

2. The rooms need updating badly...the room had a distinct odor and everything showed the wear of 20+ years of Disney guest abuse.

Overall, with the other great resorts on the Disney property, I see no reason to stay here. I do not know how this hotel made the top 25 for tripadvisor this year.

Room Tip: Avoid pool view rooms until construction is complete in March.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Springs, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

When you come to Disney you have many choices to make, including do you stay on property at an overpriced hotel, or do you save money off site or even spend the same, but get some luxury. We decided to celebrate our birthdays and stay on property. We have stayed in at least 10 different Disney properties, so we had a pretty good idea what to expect. After a very exhaustive search, we decided on the Boardwalk Villas. We had considered Disney's Grand Floridian, but i inspected on of the rooms ahead of time was underwhelmed. I was expecting something of at least Hyatt quality, but it just was not there. Also, they will not guaranty you a king size bed and there are not many rooms that have them. The Boardwalk Villas on the other hand do guaranty a king size bed, a kitchen and, most importantly, a terrific location. You stay here for convenience, not luxury.

The Room:

The hotel itself is really a timeshare, and it shows. The rooms are very dated and it looks like our ceiling fan has not been dusted since the date it was installed. But, the room is otherwise clean, very large and overall comfortable. The bedroom is adjacent to a bath area with a whirlpool style tub, sink and spacious closet. There is plenty of room for clothes and lighting is okay, but not great. There is a second room with a sink and shower so two people can easily get ready at the same time. The kitchen comes with everything that you need. When we wanted a blender, we just called for one and it was promptly delivered. There is a siting room. We were on the ground floor and there was a sliding door there to go to the pool area. the bed is comfortable, but the blanket is poor quality as is the bedspread. The pillows are small, but they give enough of them. Lastly, there is small wall safe.

IMPORTANT: The Boardwalk is a large hotel. If you are at a far end you will have quite a walk to get to the bus. You also have to choose the Boardwalk side, with its nice view and noise, or the pool side parking lot view, but its very quiet. We were on the ground floor on the pool side and found the location to the pool to be great and it was blissfully quiet. Ask to be near the elevator and you should be happy.

Location:

This hotel is all about location. By being on the boardwalk, there is nightlife, good food (check out Cat Cora's place) and, most importantly, you can walk to both Epcot and Hollywood Studios. Do not take the bus or boat, you can walk it faster almost every time. We feel we saved at least 30-45 minutes each day we went to those parks. Of all the hotels we have stayed at on grounds, this is by far the best. You do enter Epcot at the World Showcase. We found this to be less congested, but if you have a purse or backpack, they do search them, so get there early enough to go through that process.

Amenities:

The lobby is okay for a hotel of this type. The staff is courteous. You are also close to the convention center, so if you need a business office there is one nearby. The hotel has free wi-fi as do the parks. There are tennis courts, a couple of pools, a game room and rather nice fitness center. There are shops, including a small grocery. We went to the Publix about 10 minutes away to stock up the kitchen. We ate breakfast before we hit the parks, which not only saved money, but got us off to a good start.

So, i rated this above average as far as Disney hotels go and especially for its location, otherwise, I would have given this hotel 3 stars. If you want luxury, you need to consider the Waldorf, but its off property.

Room Tip: Ground floor near elevator on pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My first time in Disney was on my honeymoon. I had no idea what to expect, other than the friendliest people on earth. The Boardwalk is a fantastic location within the Disney property. We walked to Epcot and around the lagoon to the other resorts. We had a one bedroom villa (the in-laws are DVC members and generously gave us the honeymoon). It was large and had two balconies. We had a full kitchen, but didn't cook at all. We went right after the holidays, so the place was pretty quiet. The staff was friendly. There is access to several restaurants on the boardwalk, and an ice cream shop.

Being from NJ originally, the decor was like home to me. They take inspiration from Atlantic City, Asbury Park and Coney Island in the 20's and 30's. My husband also loved it because he's a huge fan of that era.

The place is very large, so staying in a room away from the elevator is a very real possibility. We usually took the stairs depending on where we were. On the occasions when we were too tired to hike up four flights, we'd take the elevator in the lobby and walk to the room. We were near the end of one of the "wings", so it was a decent walk. We didn't mind at all, though. There is a large pool area, as well as two smaller quiet pools. We swam in the main one and it was nice. The decor was really cute. I would stay there again if I ever had the opportunity to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We purchased a time-share at Disney's Boardwalk Hotel over twelve years ago, and our visit last week affirmed that this is the best way for our family to experience Disney World. The location between Epcot and Hollywood Studios is perfect for taking a break between a morning in one park and an evening in the other. And we really enjoy walking the circle around the "lagoon". We stayed in the Grand Villa, a spacious condo-type three-bedroom accommodation. We could see the fireworks and light show at Epcot every night from our balconies, and still enjoy the relative quietness of the Villa. There are only two issues that keep me from rating the Boardwalk a "5" ranking: the decor is a bit dated, and because we enjoy the view facing the Boardwalk the noise is a bit much. But there are plenty of Villas with quieter courtyard views.

Room Tip: We like the view onto the Boardwalk, but there is a lot of evening activity right outside the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's BoardWalk Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's BoardWalk Villas

Address: 2101 Epcot Resort Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-1000
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#23 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#69 Family Hotel in Orlando
#74 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's BoardWalk Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's BoardWalk Villas capture the charm, whimsy and elegance of turn-of-the-century Atlantic City. These Villas, along with adjacent hotel Disney's Boardwalk Inn, put Guests in a prime location to enjoy the carnival sights and ragtime sounds of the BoardWalk, along with the glittering waters and recreation of Crescent Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's BoardWalk Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Boardwalk Villas Hotel Orlando
Disney Boardwalk Hotel
Disneys Boardwalk Hotel
Disney Boardwalk Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's BoardWalk Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.