We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away unless you're a convention attendee” 2 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes to your Saves list
JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Wintervention
Ranked #37 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“stay away unless you're a convention attendee”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

We booked our stay online with Marriott at a discounted rate which the hotel refused to honor upon our arrival, despite our presenting a written confirmation from the hotel showing the discounted rate. After arguing with management for the four days we were there, we were finally given a rate that was still $30/day over the reservation price. The management there is not concerned about customer service, unless you are a convention guest, of which there were literally hundreds while we were there. (One of the convention goers told me that several members of her party got food poisoning from the sushi.) This hotel is pretty, but definitely not the place to stay for a vacation.

  • Liked — comfortable beds
  • Disliked — poor customer service by management
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,115
    507
    139
    59
    40
See reviews for
651
294
56
564
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

Hubby and I spent four nights here beginning Labor day. Wonderful room, absolutely spotless. The turndown service was great and the housekeeper always gave us a big pile of chocolates! Maybe it was due to our tip but I know my husband appreciated it. The fragrance in the lobby is very relaxing and immediately put me in a "vacation" state of mind, though other guests might find it too strong. The staff were quick, efficient and professional without being too pushy or "in your face". The prices at the restaurants are pretty outrageous, but it's a resort so I was prepared. For example, two wrap sandwiches, one margarita and two beers at the pool bar ran $75. It was the best grilled shrimp wrap I've ever had, though! Well worth it. The pina colada was wonderful and I made sure to indulge everyday! Primo was AWESOME. Dinner with a good bottle of wine ran $150 and I didn't regret a cent.

My husband and I LOVED the lazy river. The pool shop (where the innertubes can be purchased for $5) was closed when we first arrived, so we just hopped in and swam around. We discovered it was such good exercise to do it this way that we never even bought the floaties! Late in the week, I made a comment to my husband that I kind of felt like floating, but as we only had one day left I wouldn't bother purchasing one. My husband said, "They aren't free? So this whole time, everyone just thinks we're being cheap?" We got a good laugh about that.

It was a slow week so my husband and I never had any problem getting chairs or service. The only annoyance I had was when a got a cut at the pool and ran up to the front desk to see if they had a band-aid. They were a little too efficient and made a call to security to bring me a band-aid before I could say "don't worry about it". Unfortunately, since I had just trotted up from the pool, I didn't have a cent on me and the security person had his hand out for a tip. Awkward moment that I usually avoid by keeping tip money handy, but oh well!

We also loved loved loved the fitness center. We work out at a pretty nice club and let me tell you--it doesn't have anything on the Ritz fitness center. Absolutely first class, perfect temp, water bottles handy, immaculate equipment, you name it.

I read reviews on TA obsessively before choosing a hotel and I can't remember ever being too disappointed. I am pretty picky about things, but I also have the ability to have fun and just let things GO. You can find fault with any place, but I was hard pressed to find anything to complain about. Go and enjoy!

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Long walk to fitness center
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

We stayed at the JW Marriott in Orlando over Labor Day weekend and absolutely loved it. The rooms and lobby were very nice. Our favorite part was the lazy river pool - it was so tropical! Also - the Marriott did have security at the pool entrance over the weekend verifying that everyone entering the pool area was a hotel guest. So we did not have any trouble with over crowding at the pool and there were plenty of pool chairs! Overall - a great stay!

  • Liked — the Lazy River!
  • Disliked — High priced food
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

This place on the surface is beautiful but the service experience is awful. The kids activities were very lame and the property does not have a water silde, only a temporary blow up kind of slide. The people organizing the kids club were confused and always started late. On Labor Day weekend, they had a Pinata that was a really dangerous situation and an accident waiting to happen. The food prices at pool side for a Hamburger were nuts-- $16!! There were not enough sun umbrellas and the staff does nothing when guests put a towel on their umbrella in the morning and disappear to "own" their spot for the whole day even if they do not use it. What is worse is that they are building a time share and the time share guests will have access to all hotel facilities which means that it will be even more crowded with more people using the same resources. The hotel obviously has a strategy of cutting back on staff to save money. As an example, we had to wait 30 minutes for a table at breakfast. Stay away from this place for now--definitely not worth it.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester County, PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

Just got back from a five day stay at JW Marriott in Orlando. Took the advice for others on this site and rented a car- good choice. Property is on a seculded 300+ parcel, kind of off the beaten path. Room rate included hot breakfast buffett daily for my wife, me and twp kids. Buffett at citron was fantastic! Waiter Alberto was great.. delivered perfect service to us daily and made our stay even better.
Hotel was beautiful and the room was spotless. Staff was extremely friendly, and went out of their way to help and assist at all times. Adjoining Ritz Carlton pool was great too, and the ability to use facilities at the Ritz was outstanding. Valet parking was a tad expensive, but in/out priviledges made up for it. Iced lemo and citrus water in the lobby was a great draw for parched guests, and tasted great. Simple gestures like ice cold lemon water on arrival distinguish the hotel from look alike resorts. We had a great tiem, never had an issue with housekeeping or clenliness and will most definitely return on next trip to orlando.

  • Liked — lobby, pool, staff, room
  • Disliked — valet parking charge
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

We stayed at the JW Marriott Orlando Grade Lakes for four days in March. The pool complex, complete with the largest lazy river I have ever seen, was fantastic for adults and children alike. We spent hours there with our daugther. The jacuzzis in the pool area were secluded and relaxing; one even featured a waterfall overflowing from an open, giant 'clamshell.' The staff were extremely attentive, and the breakfast buffet in the restaurant was gorgeously delicious. I would go back in a New York minute!

  • Liked — The pool area
  • Disliked — Room could have been a bit bigger, but it was still beautifully appointed and comfortable.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

the only complaint I really have is that we got to the hotel early and they couldn't get us into a room. so instead we went straight to the pool which was great. the lazy river was fun. the only reason I marked the rating down was because of the poolside restaurant. the food is going to be pricey that isn't my problem. But when the service at the restaurant was disappointing. they took upwards of 45 mins to make burgers and our waiter checked on us only twice. not exactly worth paying for. everything else about the hotel was excellent. the staff was very generous. they swiftly handled our special requests without problems. our room had a wonderful view of orlando. all in all everything was excellent except for the poolside restaurant. this was a wonderful hotel overall.

  • Liked — the rooms were excellent
  • Disliked — the poolside restaurant service
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes

Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Orlando
#12 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#14 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#20 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#23 Business Hotel in Orlando
#26 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Orlando Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.