We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream resort in Orlando - lock your things in the room safe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #27 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Pasadena,CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Dream resort in Orlando - lock your things in the room safe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just returned from attending a conference at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando.(what an enormous complex... you need to know which part of the center your meeting is in before you get there otherwise you will walk miles.) I am a Marriott elite member, so I chose to stay at the JW Marriott Grande Lakes 4 miles away... a very easy drive. I got a very reasonable AAA rate. The hotel is situated on enormous green grounds with a golf course, and the Ritz-Carlton is part of the complex, separated by the conference center. It is an enormous property with beautiful pools and views of the small lake, and there are walking paths all around. I was upgraded to a nice suite, and although there was a safe in the room, I thought that my medication pill box would be safe in a clothes drawer. It was stolen, teaching me an important lesson about keeping your valuables with you at all times or locked up when you are out of the room. I must comment on the restaurant Primo.. I was alone for this trip and had such a wonderful meal there the first time that I ate there every night. The wait staff were outstanding as was the food. So overall... definitely recommend this hotel and/or the Riz next door.

Room Tip: request a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazzyVazquez, Administrative Assistant, Rooms Division at JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding our resort and amenities. I am very sorry to learn that you are missing a medication pill box. Our records indicate a room change took place during your stay and that the missing item was reported to our Loss Prevention department. I will monitor for any returned items that fit your description. Your experience is highly unusual to the standards we pride ourselves with, hence I would like to offer a genuine apology. We look forward to your next visit.

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,630 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    987
    437
    119
    52
    35
See reviews for
579
251
50
485
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Because of the issues that ensued as a result of our stay we were disappointed. Our room was moved due to the inconveniences that my husband and I experienced and I did not feel as if the issue was handled in a manner that I would expect from the Marriott. The first room had a very loud noise that would start intermittently throughout the night from the heating unit. My husband had to get up four times in the middle of the night to try and turn it off.The new room that we were moved to still had an annoying noise coming from the heating system that woke us throughout the night. And apparently someone had just been moved from that room too. We were not compensated in any way for having to move rooms.At 7:30am we received a phone call from the front desk to look for an item that a previous customer may have left behind. That was very unprofessional. We did have high expectations for the Marriott and unfortunately we were let down

Room Tip: Choose a room that has poolside view, there are stark differences between the rooms on opposite side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazzyVazquez, Administrative Assistant, Rooms Division at JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We take all feedback very seriously as it is our goal is to always ensure our guests are satisfied with their service experience. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet your expectations, and for that we are truly sorry. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

AAA++++++, all the staff are so nice and helpful. The grounds are so pretty. I ate at every restaurant and had nothing bad to say! great place for couples and small families. the ritz carlton is connected, so you use their premises as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

From a quick check in until a quicker check out, everyone on the premises was top notch in service. We were there for a long weekend and couldn't have been treated better. The grounds, pool and interior areas were perfectly clean and staffed well. Even the staff from the Ritz next door, assisted me in finding my way around ( left property map in room). The Organic garden outside the restaurant was well suited for the grounds. Lots of area seating to enjoy the beauty-trees, fountains, lake, and gardens. The room was very comfortable and bedding was superior. Easy to find off the Grande Lakes entrance. We will be back.

Room Tip: Higher floors with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Do not use this hotel for business purposes. There is no concierge floor or lounge and you will not get a breakfast voucher, since it is a resort. The hotel responded that we should have read the fine print for the Gold/Platinum privileges. Won't be necessary for our next time at this JW.

The hotel is filled with kids carrying huge floating rings, easily filling up the elevators.
The swimming pool is like being at a Disney waterpark.
Walking back from a business meeting (we changed location to the nearby Ritz for this meeting) we had to dodge kids plying football in the hallways.

We tried to get a 1 hour extension of our checkout to accommodate a meeting and we not able to get this done. The front desk told us several times that they would not give us any late check out. You better be out by 11 am!

We will use the Waldorf again next time, or might give the Ritz a try for our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazzyVazquez, Administrative Assistant, Rooms Division at JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We deeply regret the disturbance you had to endure during your stay. At times, our locale can mean extra activity with families and kids. We always try our best to accommodate all of our guest’s needs. On your next visit, we will be delighted to extend a late check-out if availability permits. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Room was nice and comfortable, but walls paper thin. I could hear children, TV, and even a bag of Doritos open in the room next door. Had to buy ear plugs in order to sleep.

Parking at $18 daily and overnight is unreasonable. This is Orlando: people drive here, parking is NOT at a premium. There's plenty to go around for guests. It's not like we're in Manhattan.

They added 20% plus $5 delivery fee to our room service. No free Internet. Even when paid for, it kept dropping.

I'll give it a fair. There are better hotels in Orlando, and better JW Marriotts. I expected better from this company.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The resort was outstanding. Food is excellent, but pricey. Staff is exceptionally helpful. Rooms are large, nicely appointed. High speed wireless is fast but you must pay for it. The pool is large. To use the lazy river you need to buy an inner tube which costs $7. The biggest drawback to the resort is that it is so darn far from everything. They do offer a free shuttle to the Magic Kingdom which runs 3 times a day. A cab to downtown Disney will set you back $35 plus tip one way

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes

Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#8 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#19 Family Hotel in Orlando
#21 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Orlando Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.