We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes to your Saves list
JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #36 of 329 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hilliard
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Beautiful hotel, outstanding grounds, excellent rooms. Hotel is a 4 star, is somewhat out of the way. There are no park shuttles here, no inexpensive restaurants. If you do not have a car you are stuck at the property unless you take a Town Car taxi. Food is very expensive. There is no were to walk close by. If you have a rental car, you can explore and eat cheaply in the nearby neighborhoods. Parking is a bit of a walk, requires a key card. I got free parking by being a Marriott card holder. Internet is not free. This is probably one of the nicest hotels in Orlando. Pool area is unreal, a huge lazy river. Service is outstanding. Being a large hotel, be warned tips are expected for all services provided.

Room Tip: You will need a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,309
    591
    163
    65
    46
See reviews for
757
343
61
670
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and our two children aged 12 and 14 stayed at the JW Marriott on March 14, 15 and
then returned after our cruised on March 23 for another 3 nights. When we arrived, on the thursday we were very impressed with the entrance and foyer. Beautiful! We were there early and our room was ready early as well. We were very impressed. Off to the pool we went and had
a nice time despite cool weather. No fault with pool bar service or food but, very expensive. We were prepared for this and don't mind since it is a four diamond resort. The next day we spent at the pool and went out for dinner that night. Came back to our room and turned on the light, my daughter screamed because a "bug" was coming out of the bathroom. It was a cockroach, and my husband quickly killed it. I was so disappointed. How gross. I phoned the front desk and told the fellow that we have a cockroach in our room. He seemed very surprised. He appologized and asked if there was anything else? I didn't know how to respond to this. He then asked me if I wanted someone to come and clean up the dead bug. I said yes, and then they could see for themselves what was crawling around the four diamond resort. About 15 minutes later a man came and with a glove and roll of toilet paper picked up the bug and left. No one really made a big deal out of this. No offer of appology or some compensation. When we checked out we made sure the front desk new about our visitor. I really did not want to come back to this resort but it is march break and we needed somewhere to stay after our cruise. So back we went on the 23rd. We got to the resort about 9 am and waited all day for our room Despite seeing others come after us and get their room. At 3 o'clock ,after 3 trips to the front desk to see about our room, my husband demanded a room. We were sent to room 5035. Same setup as last room. Very small beds. Ceiling paint in shower peeling. Window leaked when it rained. The flashing in cracked on the outside and water was pouring in. The safe needed to be opened by security because we couldn't get our stuff out. Sprinkler on ceiling by front door was just a wire or something. This is not a 4 diamond resort if you look at the room or service. The grounds are lovely and so is the property. I will not go back. We are loyal Jw customers. This was a big
disaappointment and not worth the money. This hotel needs to step up the condition of the rooms. And if you have one roach, you certainly have more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Beautiful property on the edge of Orlando, but not far from the airport (MCO). Situated between the Marriott Vacation Club and Ritz Carlton sitting on a stunning 900 acres which includes a Greg Norman 18 hole golf course. My wife and I had a tremendous (pricey at $25 per person) buffet breakfast at the J Dub, but it was worth every penny...come hungry. Even better was the Italian restaurant on the property, wonderful fresh food (we later found out during one of our walks that much of the food is organically grown on the property) and great table service at a reasonable price. Really enjoyed my golf day at the Greg Norman course, I was given a ride from the hotel by a staff member to the golf club house. They have green fee specials in the afternoon and I was still able to get in all 18; along with the two guys they hooked me up with. Our forecaddie was great and kept things moving along. You can use any of the three pool complexes at the property, but we pretty much stayed at the J Dub.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel/resort is one that keeps giving and giving. First of all.....BEAUTIFUL property. From the entry, to the walking path, to the golf course, to the food, to the patios, bars, restaurants, pools, activities, I could go on and on! I was here in January 2013 for a business trip for one week. My room, a double, was big and spacious. I was on the 18th floor and the elevators were efficient and speedy. This is important when company is having a meeting and large groups of people are moving on elevators at once. The food was surprisingly, really good. I loved that fact that I found a herb and vegetable garden on the property that is used by the kitchen. The food seemed to be prepared in a scratch kitchen and it was delicious even for the large banquet dinners. The staff was efficient and helpful. No blank stares when asking about surrounding areas, taxi service and/or restuarants off property. I can easily return here with my family for a personal vacation.

Room Tip: I prefer a high floor with good sunlight and a balcony. Be sure to make this request if important t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We took advantage of the AAA rate during the high season for a quick mother daughter spa get away. Property adjoins Ritz Carlton Spa which is first rate, elegant, and offers Florida resident discounts. Otherwise, this is a pricey spot. Sushi in the JW bar is excellent and the hotel is expansive and comfortable. Find a package which includes breakfast (excellent) and free parking.... Spa pool is beautiful, lazy river pool is huge and great for families. Courteous, helpful staff ; we love coming here every year. Also very close to Sea World and Discovery Cove....

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pools and lake offer a panoramic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great hotel and lazy river pool. Hotel staff was excellent! Fitness center is great. Nice hotel in Orlando area. Easy check in and check out. We visited in March 2013 and hotel was not crowded at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My family and I took a family vacation to Orlando last month and had the privilege of staying at this gorgeous hotel! The Kids loved the lazy river and pool and the service was great! My wife and I were able to get away for a while and head over to the Ritz Carlton restaurant for dinner. Overall, wonderful hotel, great service, lovely rooms and relaxing outdoor amenities. I would highly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
7.2 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
2.4 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#19 of 329 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 3,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#21 of 329 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 2,728 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#51 of 329 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 2,775 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations Suites on International Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes

Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Orlando
#15 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#18 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#21 Business Hotel in Orlando
#28 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a truly memorable luxury hotel experience at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes. We welcome you to our resort in a superb location just moments from Orlando's best-loved attractions. Each of our nearly 1,000 hotel rooms and suites feature elegant decor and luxury amenities, including marble bathrooms and 24-hour room service. Onsite dining options, including fine Italian cuisine at Primo and fresh sushi at the Sushi Bar, are sure to please every palate. Pamper yourself at the onsite Ritz-Carlton spa, or tee off from our Greg Norman-designed golf course. Children will enjoy our Lazy River outdoor pool, as well as a host of special programs created just for them. Though you might be excused for not wanting to leave the resort, you should certainly take advantage of our prime location near Orlando's legendary theme parks. We offer shuttle service to SeaWorld, Walt Disney World, and Universal Orlando Resort - making it easy for your family to enjoy the best of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Orlando Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.