We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pool Yet!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up To 20% Off Resorts
Ranked #28 of 329 hotels in Orlando
Ann Arbor, MI
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Pool Yet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel is much nicer than I expected. This is a high end, luxurious, large hotel. Wow, what a complex. It's very close (10 mins) to Sea World and not too far (20 mins) from Disney and Universal. The pool was remarkable. If you wanted to relax and let the kids play in the pool "all day" this is the place for it. It's several pools linked by a "lazy river" We were there for a few days around the new year. The weather wasn't hot, but wasn't cold either. The pool area was virtually unused. We utilized it in the morning and night. New Years eve, we were able to see the fireworks at Disney and Sea World from our balcony. The hotel put on their own fireworks display. They launched from the on premise golf course and completely blew my expectations away. Better than Disney, better than Sea World. They were incredible. Very nice surprise. If I had to find a down side, it would be the cost at the restaurant. Breakfast buffet, way too expensive.

Room Tip: Pool side is a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    915
    394
    110
    51
    34
See reviews for
545
227
49
436
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hauppauge, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Traveled to this hotel as part of a business trip that doubled as a family get away. Was joined by my wife, and our nearly two year-old daughter.

Hotel is beautiful, and very well kept. All staff were very kind and accommodating throughout our stay. Room was spacious and comfortable.

Attractions in Orlando are nearby (but far enough away not to be trapped in tourist only zones). Food/drink prices are high but comparable to other luxury resorts and/or anything in Disney World.

Fantastic pool with both parts good for adults and child (lazy river). Be mindful to bring your own tubes (or go buy at walmart or target nearby) as JW Marriott tubes are vastly overpriced.

If you are looking for a quick end of the day drink, the lobby bar actually has a fantastic (manager suggestion) wine list (albeit overpriced compared to normal bar rates - i.e., glass of ZD Cabernet - while not easy to find - not worth almost the entire price of the bottle).

Highly suggest utilizing the valet parking, as self-parking, especially during the hotter months, would seem to be a lot of work (i.e., pretty decent distance between hotel entrance and self-parking lots).

Like all Marriott properties, there is a fee for wifi unless you have achieved a certain Marriott Rewards status (this particular attribute of Marriott's always bothers me - see my other reviews).

In summary, very nice property, friend staff, just remember to plan accordingly to save from being overcharged where possible (i.e., wifi, drinks, etc.).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed at the JW Marriott with my family over the Thanksgiving holiday and found it to be a perfect resort hotel. The common areas (lobby, restaurants, hallways) are stunning. Not overdone and stuffy in a Ritz-Carlton way; just bright, airy and classy in an approachable way. This is the kind of resort that you can feel equally comfortable taking the kids on a nice vacation or taking a romantic getaway. In short, there's something for everyone.

The lazy river alone is worth the price of admission as it is actually a viable alternative to some of the amusement parks -- without the lines! In addition, there's volleyball, bocce, tennis, walking trails, a great gym and lots of (pricey) food choices. The rooms are very comfortable, if not as impressive as the common areas, and having a separate shower/bath was very appreciated.

The only downside? The persistent time share salespeople scattered throughout the hotel. It's not all bad, though. You can get $150 off Disney tickets just by listening to their pitch. Be prepared, though. They will make you feel as if you are passing up the deal of the century. If you can get through this, you can save a lot of money on Disney tickets.

Overall, this hotel is highly recommended -- especially for the government rate I received (less than $100/night). I would gladly go back without hesitation. One of the best Marriott properties I have stayed in, by far.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

This Marriott resort and adjoining Ritz Carlton are separated by a huge conference center and spa and fitness center. Guests at the Marriott can use the facilities and restaurants of the Ritz. My wife and I find the lobby sitting area and bar of the Ritz to be more comfortable than that of the Marriott. The fitness center is large and well equipped. The pool are behind the Marriott is huge and very elaborate with lots of trees and shrubs. Both the Marriott and the Ritz have superb high end restaurants along with other family style restaurants. My wife and I prefer the Ritz for breakfast and lunch. If you stay for two or more nights and love good food be sure to try both of the high end restaurants which have chefs who have been recognized with James Beard awards.

RGinTally

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights whilst I attended a business meeting within the hotel complex. Hotel is of a high quality with rooms very spacious (had 2 double beds despite being there on my own). Staff were very professional and attentive whether I had a question or request. The hotel is set within lovely grounds with an outdoor pool, tennis & Golf course. We ate at Primo one night (Chef's table which in reality was a long table with high chairs near the open kitchen). Food was fine but nothing to write home about, especially with main courses costing up to $30. Overall nice stay and can see why this is a step up within the Marriott range.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the J.W. Marriott in Orlando for a long weekend at the end of November 2012. It's a beautiful resort with a fabulous pool area. It's adjacent to the Ritz Carlton and parts of the property are shared by the two hotels. Everything is top notch, very clean, and beautiful. My only complaint would be that the service at the pool was slow but it wasn't a huge deal. It's in a good location, a short drive to the theme parks, yet away from the craziness. I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Let's say you take a shuttle from the Orlando Airport, believe me, you are going to have a little pep in your step when you say... oh where am I staying? the JW Please.... That's all you need to say! The absolutely fantastic JW Resort stands proud next to its cousin the Ritz in Orlando's Grand Lakes area.

I have lived in Orlando, and passed JW multiple times but only when I moved to another state did I appreciate it so much more. We have a fascination with the JW group of hotels because you know the resort is going to be well done. We have stayed at the Waldorf Astoria in FL and other nice places but JW stands apart because of it's location and resort amenities.

Definitely go for the breakfast because they do have a nice spread., especially on the weekends.
The location is central to Universal, SeaWorld, and the Disney parks.

Stay here. Get a high floor room. Don't sweat it if you don't get a lake view room, other rooms views are just as beautiful.

Last but not the least, we had a couple of issues with our bathroom and when we brought the issue up with the Manager, he promptly took care of it.

Kudos! Great customer service, fun stay and will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes

Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Marriott Orlando
Orlando Marriott
Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#25 Business Hotel in Orlando
#25 Family Hotel in Orlando
#28 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#28 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.