We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Base for a Golf Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes to your Saves list
JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #32 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Home Base for a Golf Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The JW Marriot in Orlando served as the home base for a golf getaway with my son, who flew in from Chicago. We played several area courses over 4 days, including the Ritz-Carlton located just next door on the same property. The staff was cordial and professional upon check-in. We were able to eat at the hotel a couple of times after a full day of golf. The menus in the restaurants are varied and provided some terrific choices. The room was clean and spacious. The central location of this hotel was key to making the weekend successful as there are so many golf courses within a short drive, as well as a short trip to the Orlando outlets. There were so many things going on at this location over that weekend that the experience was never boring. The 7th annual Orlando Exotic Car Show was taking place in the space between the 2 hotels and gave us an opportunity to see some very special automobiles. Overall, the weekend was a success and the JW Marriot played a key role in that success.

Room Tip: A high floor provides a great view of the adjacent golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    557
    151
    61
    43
See reviews for
705
327
59
618
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Powder Springs, GA
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This was a wonderful hotel. It was very clean and beautifully decorated for Christmas! The staff was very nice. The only problem I had was that my key did not work one day due to the fact it was under 2 reservations. It was annoying hiking to my room after they assured me it would work, just to hike back down and tell them it didn't. That was very minor. The food was very pricy but good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We found a roach in our room and they dis nothing about it. When we checked in the man also chose the wrong option which we were overcharged. Beds were poorly made. One worker had an attitude. I am dissatisfied with the hotel. I have stayed at hotels that dont seem as great as this one did, and yet they were better.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazzyVazquez, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. I deeply regret the experience you endured during your recent stay, please accept my sincere apology. The situations encountered have been certainly addressed. Additionally, I have sent you a private message to further discuss the events occurred. I look forward to the opportunity of speaking with you.

Tesha Bailey
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Flight arrived early and they were able to accommodate with a room. Gracious staff upon arrival and check-in. The room was a completely different story. Room was spacious, decor was okay, amenities stocked. Walked into the bathroom to find the sink covered with black grime. Looked like dried up coffee grind mixed with left over shaved hair. Tried to scrub it off but didn't work. Called front desk, within 5 mins a cleaning lady came with bleach. Claims that sometimes water backs up from the sewer. I'm on the 7th flr, highly impossible! Next, found a piece of dried crap next to toilet and spiders. To tired at this point to call the cleaning lady back. Explored resort to find 1 shuttle to Universal daily, pricey restaurants. Back to room to rest to find pubic hair all over the bed! Disgusting! Called front desk asap. Cleaning ladies came within 10 mins. No other rooms available now. Slept on towels that night. Room service was terrible, $36 steak was the size of a baseball w/mash potatoes and 4 brussel sprouts cut in half. $20 in rm service fee, delivery and tax. Won't b recommending this resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazzyVazquez, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review in relation to your recent stay. After reviewing the feedback provided, I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you endured during your stay. I can understand the frustration this may have caused you.

I wish to assure you that your experience in not typical of the high standards we have set for our resort. I have sent you a private message to further discuss the issues encountered. We are highly appreciative of your loyalty to our brand. We will take your valuable feedback as means of improving our overall service. I look forward to the opportunity to speaking directly with you.

Tesha Bailey
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed one night because we had a great deal on the room. Beautiful property and the staff we encountered where excellent.

Futher away from International drive where there were many great restaurants to choose from. If you are looking for a golf vacation and don't plan on doing much more than this is for you.

Room Tip: Overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel managed to provide everything needed for a great holiday for four adults and three young children. The lake view rooms were not huge but definitely comfortable, well appointed and stylish. The children loved the extensive pool and lazy river, which together with the surrounding gardens, created a pleasant and relaxing place to 'chill out' after a day of theme parks. The JW Marriott and Ritz-Carlton together form a really extensive resort just on the edge of Orlando and surrounded by a lovely golf course and landscaped gardens - we loved the feeling of being able to escape to a haven of tranqulity only a short and very easy drive from the Orlando attractions. The restaurants are great and gave a good choice of both family and adult dining. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful and managed to achieve that difficult balance of accommodating the needs of the children without causing irritation to child-free guests. Both hotels have conference facilities and both were very busy with conference guests at the time of our stay so this was very important. My only slight irritation was that it was difficult on some evenings for non-conference guests to secure reservations in some of the restaurants. Overall, a great experience.

Room Tip: Lake View rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Pros: Lazy River, lots of lounge chairs, fair to good poolside service, access to the Ritz next door, excellent gourmet dining, very clean, pretty views of Disney fireworks in the distance. Feels like a Disney resort without the Disney strictness. Very deluxe all around. Marriott Platinum members get upgrades here - we loved our HUGE 1 bedroom corner suite.

Cons: A bit pricey for Orlando, far from all the parks, shuttle to Universal but not Disney, you have to pay to park, you have to bring your own floats for the lazy river or pay double what they cost at Walgreens down the road, useless balconies that are too small, dangerous and therefore have no chairs.

Definitely recommend for family trips.

Room Tip: If you're not "kid people" stay at the Ritz next door, much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes

Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#9 Green Hotel in Orlando
#11 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#16 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#20 Family Hotel in Orlando
#21 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a truly memorable luxury hotel experience at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes. We welcome you to our resort in a superb location just moments from Orlando's best-loved attractions. Each of our nearly 1,000 hotel rooms and suites feature elegant decor and luxury amenities, including marble bathrooms and 24-hour room service. Onsite dining options, including fine Italian cuisine at Primo and fresh sushi at the Sushi Bar, are sure to please every palate. Pamper yourself at the onsite Ritz-Carlton spa, or tee off from our Greg Norman-designed golf course. Children will enjoy our Lazy River outdoor pool, as well as a host of special programs created just for them. Though you might be excused for not wanting to leave the resort, you should certainly take advantage of our prime location near Orlando's legendary theme parks. We offer shuttle service to SeaWorld, Walt Disney World, and Universal Orlando Resort - making it easy for your family to enjoy the best of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Orlando Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.