We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are here for golf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 328 hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“If you are here for golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed one night because we had a great deal on the room. Beautiful property and the staff we encountered where excellent.

Futher away from International drive where there were many great restaurants to choose from. If you are looking for a golf vacation and don't plan on doing much more than this is for you.

Room Tip: Overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    994
    441
    122
    52
    36
See reviews for
585
253
50
489
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel managed to provide everything needed for a great holiday for four adults and three young children. The lake view rooms were not huge but definitely comfortable, well appointed and stylish. The children loved the extensive pool and lazy river, which together with the surrounding gardens, created a pleasant and relaxing place to 'chill out' after a day of theme parks. The JW Marriott and Ritz-Carlton together form a really extensive resort just on the edge of Orlando and surrounded by a lovely golf course and landscaped gardens - we loved the feeling of being able to escape to a haven of tranqulity only a short and very easy drive from the Orlando attractions. The restaurants are great and gave a good choice of both family and adult dining. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful and managed to achieve that difficult balance of accommodating the needs of the children without causing irritation to child-free guests. Both hotels have conference facilities and both were very busy with conference guests at the time of our stay so this was very important. My only slight irritation was that it was difficult on some evenings for non-conference guests to secure reservations in some of the restaurants. Overall, a great experience.

Room Tip: Lake View rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC area
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Pros: Lazy River, lots of lounge chairs, fair to good poolside service, access to the Ritz next door, excellent gourmet dining, very clean, pretty views of Disney fireworks in the distance. Feels like a Disney resort without the Disney strictness. Very deluxe all around. Marriott Platinum members get upgrades here - we loved our HUGE 1 bedroom corner suite.

Cons: A bit pricey for Orlando, far from all the parks, shuttle to Universal but not Disney, you have to pay to park, you have to bring your own floats for the lazy river or pay double what they cost at Walgreens down the road, useless balconies that are too small, dangerous and therefore have no chairs.

Definitely recommend for family trips.

Room Tip: If you're not "kid people" stay at the Ritz next door, much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We spent ten days with our kids in this very nice hotel , we visited nearly all the parks did a lot of shopping and spent also quite some time at the pool.
First of all at arrival for a modest fee we got upgraded to a very nice suite with a normal room for the kids communicating with it which was fabulous. The concierge arranged us a very good restaurant every night and transport was by nice town cars located at the entrance with very courteous drivers since we didn't bother to rent a car. The bar was a great place with great sushi to unwind after a busy day
We really loved the hotel and our kids still talk of of it as the best holiday ever.

Room Tip: When offered an upgrade go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Had a wonderful time staying at the JW Marriott Grande Lakes. This property is also attached via walkway to the Ritz Carlton. When staying at one you get the use of both propoerties pools, which are both perfection. The staff at both hotels are trained to make your experience seamless and perfect and it certainly was. Will stay at no other property while in Orlando.

Room Tip: rooms facing the lazy river are wonderful. you can also see the fireworks at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I just returned from the magnificent JW Marriott Grande Lakes in Orlando and I am always amazed by this beautiful Hotel. I have visited the resort several times and I love to keep going back. It has so much to offer to everyone, specially their kids activities are fantastic, it is a kids oriented Hotel. The Lazy river is one of the main attractions plus several other pools. The gardens and beautiful lakes make a very nice and relaxing environment. The rooms are very well kept and they are very clean. Restaurants are fantastic but, high in prices. It is just a beautiful resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsyvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hubby and I decided to take the kids for a quick Thanksgiving getaway to Florida. We had Marriott points which was nice. They upgraded us to a Lake View room. Over all the Grande Lakes was a nice choice. It is a JW so it was nicer than your typical Marriott. However, the rooms were very small, two double beds, they allowed us to have a rollaway bed which made the room even smaller. Beds were very uncomfortable, housekeeping was inconsistent. We asked for extra towels and extra shampoo soap as they only had enough for two people and we had four. Housekeeping brought it up when asked for and the next day housekeeping took the extra towels out that were not used. Hmmmm. We were on the 26th floor which was really nice as we were able to see the fireworks and a great view of the amusement parks, however, the shower water turned off right in the middle of a shower. This happened the morning after we arrived and brought it to their attention. Maintenance came up and said he would adjust the water pressure. Hmmm, still happened the whole time we were there. I think it was because we were on the 26th floor, when I asked, they said that had nothing to do with it and no other complaints. Hmmm. ok...There is a lot to do at this hotel, the pool was big and had a winding lazy river, sand volleyball those carnival bikes, not sure of the name, canoeing, golfing, arcade and pool service and much more. We had our Thanksgiving dinner at Citrone. The food was excellent so many choices, and the desserts were to die for. The price however, is another story! It was worth it.

Be careful and look at your bill as they charged us for two valet, and something out of the mini fridge that we did not take. They adjusted it, but had we not check we would have paid for that. My hubby is a foosball wizard, and found a recreation staff member to play with. He ended up sending us a basket of goodies to our room. Do not know his name but he was very nice. He did not put his name on the card, it was from the recreation dept staff. This hotel is very large bring your walking shoes!!!!

Room Tip: High floor lake view to see the fireworks, however, keep in mind that your shower may turn off in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes

Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#9 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#11 Green Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#21 Family Hotel in Orlando
#22 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Orlando Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.