We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most amazing Hotels in Orlando.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes to your Saves list
JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Weekends
Ranked #45 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the most amazing Hotels in Orlando.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I just returned from the magnificent JW Marriott Grande Lakes in Orlando and I am always amazed by this beautiful Hotel. I have visited the resort several times and I love to keep going back. It has so much to offer to everyone, specially their kids activities are fantastic, it is a kids oriented Hotel. The Lazy river is one of the main attractions plus several other pools. The gardens and beautiful lakes make a very nice and relaxing environment. The rooms are very well kept and they are very clean. Restaurants are fantastic but, high in prices. It is just a beautiful resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Basart74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hubby and I decided to take the kids for a quick Thanksgiving getaway to Florida. We had Marriott points which was nice. They upgraded us to a Lake View room. Over all the Grande Lakes was a nice choice. It is a JW so it was nicer than your typical Marriott. However, the rooms were very small, two double beds, they allowed us to have a rollaway bed which made the room even smaller. Beds were very uncomfortable, housekeeping was inconsistent. We asked for extra towels and extra shampoo soap as they only had enough for two people and we had four. Housekeeping brought it up when asked for and the next day housekeeping took the extra towels out that were not used. Hmmmm. We were on the 26th floor which was really nice as we were able to see the fireworks and a great view of the amusement parks, however, the shower water turned off right in the middle of a shower. This happened the morning after we arrived and brought it to their attention. Maintenance came up and said he would adjust the water pressure. Hmmm, still happened the whole time we were there. I think it was because we were on the 26th floor, when I asked, they said that had nothing to do with it and no other complaints. Hmmm. ok...There is a lot to do at this hotel, the pool was big and had a winding lazy river, sand volleyball those carnival bikes, not sure of the name, canoeing, golfing, arcade and pool service and much more. We had our Thanksgiving dinner at Citrone. The food was excellent so many choices, and the desserts were to die for. The price however, is another story! It was worth it.

Be careful and look at your bill as they charged us for two valet, and something out of the mini fridge that we did not take. They adjusted it, but had we not check we would have paid for that. My hubby is a foosball wizard, and found a recreation staff member to play with. He ended up sending us a basket of goodies to our room. Do not know his name but he was very nice. He did not put his name on the card, it was from the recreation dept staff. This hotel is very large bring your walking shoes!!!!

Room Tip: High floor lake view to see the fireworks, however, keep in mind that your shower may turn off in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djbPennsyvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The highlight, other than being together, was experiencing the lazy river. It's beautiful, relaxing & fun. Rooms are very nice & the location on a lake is very pretty. We mostly ate elsewhere except for breakfasts, a buffet that was very good & extensive & lasted us til dinner pretty much.

Room Tip: I'd try to get one overlooking the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank preplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

First, get out of your room. The decor is a cross between 1975 and a bad beach towel. The views are amazing, the staff is some of the best I have seen and the food was good too. Don’t sit in your room, go to the lazy river, or LKPP - little kid pee pool, and set sail - I’m kidding. The lazy river is nice, the hotel was set to perfection and the rooms are fine, just a little neonishshsh. I was upgraded to a suite, and what a difference. Here comes the staff comment again, GREAT! Stayed here twice and will be here again, but sorry, I don’t golf. You will have to get Old Man Putters swing on the course...

Room Tip: Either side of the building has good views....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csam48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

So, I mostly liked this hotel. The JW's in my experience all have beautiful decor with dark wood and wrought iron accents. Very minimalist. This JW had nice sound proofing in the rooms. If the heater hadn't made a lot of noise during the night, it would have been a very quiet room. The pool area is nice. Not as big and wonderful as the one in San Antonio, but nice. The rooms seemed smaller than the JW in San Antonio, but man I love their decorating. I also found the staff to be super nice. Josh at the front desk was so incredibly sweet, I almost adopted him on the spot and volunteered to pay for his college tuition...almost. I also liked the location. It was close to the major highways but we could get in and out of our hotel with little traffic, which is saying something in Orlando.

The only downsides to the hotel are you have to pay for the lazy river tubes ($7) and the "free" Internet in the lobby would bounce you out every two minutes. Not much of a deal on those fronts. But I am planning on staying there again the next time I am in Orlando, so that should clue you in on how much of a problem it was for me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The room was very nice, beds comfortable, bathroom sparkling clean and modern. The service was excellent, they know what they are doing here. Everything we needed was at arm's reach or available close by. About 15 mins to Disney, but if your kids are under 5, the pool, lazy river and play areas on site will keep them happy. Citron restaurant has a great breakfast buffet, kids' menu and service with a smile. There's a Starbucks on premises for coffee addicts. Only downside was the 10 dollars a day for WI FI in your room - you have to go to common areas to access free wireless and the signal wasn't the strongest. Even value hotels nowaday offer free WI FI, so we don't understand why not here? The gym was well equipped and there's a nice spa. My husband was chagrined at not having a chance to golf on their fabulous looking course. We stayed at Hilton Bonnet Creek the last time and the JW was our second choice; it is now our first. They need to offer free WI FI to be "perfect" in their category, however, we would stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Acornart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Years ago my wife had a meeting at this hotel and I came down at the tail end - and we've been coming back ever since. The hotel is built on a grand scale - soaring ceilings, vast corridors, all lined with marble. The rooms are comfortable - although the balconies are barely big enough for two people. The grounds are lush and beautiful - and the lazy river is fun - although it gets very crowded on weekends as locals show up and walk right in. (I was sorry to see how many people have had valuables stolen there.) The hotel is connected to the Ritz and while it's beautiful, it's a little stuffy - we much prefer the J.W. That said, the Ritz's showcase restaurant "Normans" is amazing and worth every penny. (It ain't cheap.) the J.W.'s main restaurant "Citron" is great for breakfast - the omelette guy Oscar has been there for ages and is a pro! Drinks & sushi at the lobby bar are also wonderful. Only downside is Marriott built time shares on the grounds and were pushing them pretty hard the last time we were there, but a polite "No" usually does the trick. It's a family-friendly hotel so the usual screaming kids are all over, but aside from that it's a very relaxing place.

Room Tip: ask for a Lake View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PanAm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
7.2 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
1.7 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#51 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 3,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#22 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 3,070 reviews
6.0 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 335 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#26 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 3,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes

Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Orlando
#15 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#17 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#20 Business Hotel in Orlando
#32 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a truly memorable luxury hotel experience at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes. We welcome you to our resort in a superb location just moments from Orlando's best-loved attractions. Each of our nearly 1,000 hotel rooms and suites feature elegant decor and luxury amenities, including marble bathrooms and 24-hour room service. Onsite dining options, including fine Italian cuisine at Primo and fresh sushi at the Sushi Bar, are sure to please every palate. Pamper yourself at the onsite Ritz-Carlton spa, or tee off from our Greg Norman-designed golf course. Children will enjoy our Lazy River outdoor pool, as well as a host of special programs created just for them. Though you might be excused for not wanting to leave the resort, you should certainly take advantage of our prime location near Orlando's legendary theme parks. We offer shuttle service to SeaWorld, Walt Disney World, and Universal Orlando Resort - making it easy for your family to enjoy the best of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Orlando Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing