We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most amazing Hotels in Orlando.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #31 of 327 hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One of the most amazing Hotels in Orlando.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I just returned from the magnificent JW Marriott Grande Lakes in Orlando and I am always amazed by this beautiful Hotel. I have visited the resort several times and I love to keep going back. It has so much to offer to everyone, specially their kids activities are fantastic, it is a kids oriented Hotel. The Lazy river is one of the main attractions plus several other pools. The gardens and beautiful lakes make a very nice and relaxing environment. The rooms are very well kept and they are very clean. Restaurants are fantastic but, high in prices. It is just a beautiful resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,029
    460
    129
    53
    36
See reviews for
611
266
54
498
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pennsyvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hubby and I decided to take the kids for a quick Thanksgiving getaway to Florida. We had Marriott points which was nice. They upgraded us to a Lake View room. Over all the Grande Lakes was a nice choice. It is a JW so it was nicer than your typical Marriott. However, the rooms were very small, two double beds, they allowed us to have a rollaway bed which made the room even smaller. Beds were very uncomfortable, housekeeping was inconsistent. We asked for extra towels and extra shampoo soap as they only had enough for two people and we had four. Housekeeping brought it up when asked for and the next day housekeeping took the extra towels out that were not used. Hmmmm. We were on the 26th floor which was really nice as we were able to see the fireworks and a great view of the amusement parks, however, the shower water turned off right in the middle of a shower. This happened the morning after we arrived and brought it to their attention. Maintenance came up and said he would adjust the water pressure. Hmmm, still happened the whole time we were there. I think it was because we were on the 26th floor, when I asked, they said that had nothing to do with it and no other complaints. Hmmm. ok...There is a lot to do at this hotel, the pool was big and had a winding lazy river, sand volleyball those carnival bikes, not sure of the name, canoeing, golfing, arcade and pool service and much more. We had our Thanksgiving dinner at Citrone. The food was excellent so many choices, and the desserts were to die for. The price however, is another story! It was worth it.

Be careful and look at your bill as they charged us for two valet, and something out of the mini fridge that we did not take. They adjusted it, but had we not check we would have paid for that. My hubby is a foosball wizard, and found a recreation staff member to play with. He ended up sending us a basket of goodies to our room. Do not know his name but he was very nice. He did not put his name on the card, it was from the recreation dept staff. This hotel is very large bring your walking shoes!!!!

Room Tip: High floor lake view to see the fireworks, however, keep in mind that your shower may turn off in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The highlight, other than being together, was experiencing the lazy river. It's beautiful, relaxing & fun. Rooms are very nice & the location on a lake is very pretty. We mostly ate elsewhere except for breakfasts, a buffet that was very good & extensive & lasted us til dinner pretty much.

Room Tip: I'd try to get one overlooking the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

First, get out of your room. The decor is a cross between 1975 and a bad beach towel. The views are amazing, the staff is some of the best I have seen and the food was good too. Don’t sit in your room, go to the lazy river, or LKPP - little kid pee pool, and set sail - I’m kidding. The lazy river is nice, the hotel was set to perfection and the rooms are fine, just a little neonishshsh. I was upgraded to a suite, and what a difference. Here comes the staff comment again, GREAT! Stayed here twice and will be here again, but sorry, I don’t golf. You will have to get Old Man Putters swing on the course...

Room Tip: Either side of the building has good views....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

So, I mostly liked this hotel. The JW's in my experience all have beautiful decor with dark wood and wrought iron accents. Very minimalist. This JW had nice sound proofing in the rooms. If the heater hadn't made a lot of noise during the night, it would have been a very quiet room. The pool area is nice. Not as big and wonderful as the one in San Antonio, but nice. The rooms seemed smaller than the JW in San Antonio, but man I love their decorating. I also found the staff to be super nice. Josh at the front desk was so incredibly sweet, I almost adopted him on the spot and volunteered to pay for his college tuition...almost. I also liked the location. It was close to the major highways but we could get in and out of our hotel with little traffic, which is saying something in Orlando.

The only downsides to the hotel are you have to pay for the lazy river tubes ($7) and the "free" Internet in the lobby would bounce you out every two minutes. Not much of a deal on those fronts. But I am planning on staying there again the next time I am in Orlando, so that should clue you in on how much of a problem it was for me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The room was very nice, beds comfortable, bathroom sparkling clean and modern. The service was excellent, they know what they are doing here. Everything we needed was at arm's reach or available close by. About 15 mins to Disney, but if your kids are under 5, the pool, lazy river and play areas on site will keep them happy. Citron restaurant has a great breakfast buffet, kids' menu and service with a smile. There's a Starbucks on premises for coffee addicts. Only downside was the 10 dollars a day for WI FI in your room - you have to go to common areas to access free wireless and the signal wasn't the strongest. Even value hotels nowaday offer free WI FI, so we don't understand why not here? The gym was well equipped and there's a nice spa. My husband was chagrined at not having a chance to golf on their fabulous looking course. We stayed at Hilton Bonnet Creek the last time and the JW was our second choice; it is now our first. They need to offer free WI FI to be "perfect" in their category, however, we would stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Years ago my wife had a meeting at this hotel and I came down at the tail end - and we've been coming back ever since. The hotel is built on a grand scale - soaring ceilings, vast corridors, all lined with marble. The rooms are comfortable - although the balconies are barely big enough for two people. The grounds are lush and beautiful - and the lazy river is fun - although it gets very crowded on weekends as locals show up and walk right in. (I was sorry to see how many people have had valuables stolen there.) The hotel is connected to the Ritz and while it's beautiful, it's a little stuffy - we much prefer the J.W. That said, the Ritz's showcase restaurant "Normans" is amazing and worth every penny. (It ain't cheap.) the J.W.'s main restaurant "Citron" is great for breakfast - the omelette guy Oscar has been there for ages and is a pro! Drinks & sushi at the lobby bar are also wonderful. Only downside is Marriott built time shares on the grounds and were pushing them pretty hard the last time we were there, but a polite "No" usually does the trick. It's a family-friendly hotel so the usual screaming kids are all over, but aside from that it's a very relaxing place.

Room Tip: ask for a Lake View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes

Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#10 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#11 Green Hotel in Orlando
#13 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#23 Family Hotel in Orlando
#24 Business Hotel in Orlando
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Orlando Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.