We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Orlando Marriott Grande Lakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes to your Saves list
JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #36 of 329 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Trip to Orlando Marriott Grande Lakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hubby and I decided to take the kids for a quick Thanksgiving getaway to Florida. We had Marriott points which was nice. They upgraded us to a Lake View room. Over all the Grande Lakes was a nice choice. It is a JW so it was nicer than your typical Marriott. However, the rooms were very small, two double beds, they allowed us to have a rollaway bed which made the room even smaller. Beds were very uncomfortable, housekeeping was inconsistent. We asked for extra towels and extra shampoo soap as they only had enough for two people and we had four. Housekeeping brought it up when asked for and the next day housekeeping took the extra towels out that were not used. Hmmmm. We were on the 26th floor which was really nice as we were able to see the fireworks and a great view of the amusement parks, however, the shower water turned off right in the middle of a shower. This happened the morning after we arrived and brought it to their attention. Maintenance came up and said he would adjust the water pressure. Hmmm, still happened the whole time we were there. I think it was because we were on the 26th floor, when I asked, they said that had nothing to do with it and no other complaints. Hmmm. ok...There is a lot to do at this hotel, the pool was big and had a winding lazy river, sand volleyball those carnival bikes, not sure of the name, canoeing, golfing, arcade and pool service and much more. We had our Thanksgiving dinner at Citrone. The food was excellent so many choices, and the desserts were to die for. The price however, is another story! It was worth it.

Be careful and look at your bill as they charged us for two valet, and something out of the mini fridge that we did not take. They adjusted it, but had we not check we would have paid for that. My hubby is a foosball wizard, and found a recreation staff member to play with. He ended up sending us a basket of goodies to our room. Do not know his name but he was very nice. He did not put his name on the card, it was from the recreation dept staff. This hotel is very large bring your walking shoes!!!!

Room Tip: High floor lake view to see the fireworks, however, keep in mind that your shower may turn off in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,308
    591
    163
    65
    46
See reviews for
756
343
61
670
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The highlight, other than being together, was experiencing the lazy river. It's beautiful, relaxing & fun. Rooms are very nice & the location on a lake is very pretty. We mostly ate elsewhere except for breakfasts, a buffet that was very good & extensive & lasted us til dinner pretty much.

Room Tip: I'd try to get one overlooking the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

First, get out of your room. The decor is a cross between 1975 and a bad beach towel. The views are amazing, the staff is some of the best I have seen and the food was good too. Don’t sit in your room, go to the lazy river, or LKPP - little kid pee pool, and set sail - I’m kidding. The lazy river is nice, the hotel was set to perfection and the rooms are fine, just a little neonishshsh. I was upgraded to a suite, and what a difference. Here comes the staff comment again, GREAT! Stayed here twice and will be here again, but sorry, I don’t golf. You will have to get Old Man Putters swing on the course...

Room Tip: Either side of the building has good views....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

So, I mostly liked this hotel. The JW's in my experience all have beautiful decor with dark wood and wrought iron accents. Very minimalist. This JW had nice sound proofing in the rooms. If the heater hadn't made a lot of noise during the night, it would have been a very quiet room. The pool area is nice. Not as big and wonderful as the one in San Antonio, but nice. The rooms seemed smaller than the JW in San Antonio, but man I love their decorating. I also found the staff to be super nice. Josh at the front desk was so incredibly sweet, I almost adopted him on the spot and volunteered to pay for his college tuition...almost. I also liked the location. It was close to the major highways but we could get in and out of our hotel with little traffic, which is saying something in Orlando.

The only downsides to the hotel are you have to pay for the lazy river tubes ($7) and the "free" Internet in the lobby would bounce you out every two minutes. Not much of a deal on those fronts. But I am planning on staying there again the next time I am in Orlando, so that should clue you in on how much of a problem it was for me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The room was very nice, beds comfortable, bathroom sparkling clean and modern. The service was excellent, they know what they are doing here. Everything we needed was at arm's reach or available close by. About 15 mins to Disney, but if your kids are under 5, the pool, lazy river and play areas on site will keep them happy. Citron restaurant has a great breakfast buffet, kids' menu and service with a smile. There's a Starbucks on premises for coffee addicts. Only downside was the 10 dollars a day for WI FI in your room - you have to go to common areas to access free wireless and the signal wasn't the strongest. Even value hotels nowaday offer free WI FI, so we don't understand why not here? The gym was well equipped and there's a nice spa. My husband was chagrined at not having a chance to golf on their fabulous looking course. We stayed at Hilton Bonnet Creek the last time and the JW was our second choice; it is now our first. They need to offer free WI FI to be "perfect" in their category, however, we would stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Years ago my wife had a meeting at this hotel and I came down at the tail end - and we've been coming back ever since. The hotel is built on a grand scale - soaring ceilings, vast corridors, all lined with marble. The rooms are comfortable - although the balconies are barely big enough for two people. The grounds are lush and beautiful - and the lazy river is fun - although it gets very crowded on weekends as locals show up and walk right in. (I was sorry to see how many people have had valuables stolen there.) The hotel is connected to the Ritz and while it's beautiful, it's a little stuffy - we much prefer the J.W. That said, the Ritz's showcase restaurant "Normans" is amazing and worth every penny. (It ain't cheap.) the J.W.'s main restaurant "Citron" is great for breakfast - the omelette guy Oscar has been there for ages and is a pro! Drinks & sushi at the lobby bar are also wonderful. Only downside is Marriott built time shares on the grounds and were pushing them pretty hard the last time we were there, but a polite "No" usually does the trick. It's a family-friendly hotel so the usual screaming kids are all over, but aside from that it's a very relaxing place.

Room Tip: ask for a Lake View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

I travel 40 weeks out of the year and have been doing so for over a dozen years.....safe to say that I've had my fair share of great and terrible experiences. My stay this hotel( I'm a platinum Marriott guy) was not great and it was all due to the shower situation. Over each of the 4 days I was there the shower was barely hot and the pressure was terrible. At several points during each shower the water actually stopped running....not even a drip. After a minute or so it came back on and there was hardly enough water to rinse off. I certainly don't expect that at a top line JW hotel. I called the front desk and they apologized but said there was nothing they could do. What a shame becuase the rest of the hotel is very nice as long as you don't need to get clean. :)

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
7.2 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
2.4 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#20 of 329 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 3,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#22 of 329 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 2,727 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#53 of 329 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 2,775 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations Suites on International Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes

Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Orlando
#15 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#21 Business Hotel in Orlando
#29 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a truly memorable luxury hotel experience at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes. We welcome you to our resort in a superb location just moments from Orlando's best-loved attractions. Each of our nearly 1,000 hotel rooms and suites feature elegant decor and luxury amenities, including marble bathrooms and 24-hour room service. Onsite dining options, including fine Italian cuisine at Primo and fresh sushi at the Sushi Bar, are sure to please every palate. Pamper yourself at the onsite Ritz-Carlton spa, or tee off from our Greg Norman-designed golf course. Children will enjoy our Lazy River outdoor pool, as well as a host of special programs created just for them. Though you might be excused for not wanting to leave the resort, you should certainly take advantage of our prime location near Orlando's legendary theme parks. We offer shuttle service to SeaWorld, Walt Disney World, and Universal Orlando Resort - making it easy for your family to enjoy the best of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Orlando Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.