We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   10000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 329 Hotels in Orlando
Mechanicsville, Virginia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We just returned after a week long vacation. I had some reservations about going after reading some of the reviews, but there was nothing else available within our timeshare exchange for the time available. We decided to risk it. As many writers have indicated, the rooms need to have the décor updated. The rooms were large and we had clean towels, linens and were not bothered with time share sales. They asked when we checked in and my husband said yes, but I declined to go so we canceled with no issues. There were plenty of pots, pans, dishes with detergent, dishwasher detergent. We requested an upper level room overlooking the lake so we could see the fireworks at Disney World. We weren't disappointed.

We had some issues with the stove burners, DVD player and the safe, but the staff was very attentive and came to address these concerns in a timely manner. The elevator was very slow and we took the stairs most days. The housekeeping staff seemed to be using the elevators bringing their carts up & down. The golf carts were often going fast through the parking lots and the complex so we had to be watchful for them especially with small children.

We used the pool and found it to be clean and observed staff using a skimmer and vacuum to remove any debris from the pool. At night the pool was filled with teenagers, but the pool closed at 11:00 so it didn't bother us. A safety concern was noted when a thunderstorm approached and it was quite awhile before security closed the pool. When thunder can be heard and lightning seen, a pool should be closed. We have to remember that not everyone uses appropriate judgment about exiting a pool.

Westgate seems to be trying to run this property as a resort and as a hotel. Management needs to decide what it is going to be. A resort/ timeshare should offer all guests, regardless of whether the are owners there or not, the benefits of the resort, (i.e. pedal boats, fishing poles, etc. and activities) without a fee.

Room Tip: Choose an upper level room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your travel experience at the Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa, with others here on TripAdvisor.

Our goal with TripAdvisor is to create a safe and open line of communication between owners, guests, and Westgate Resorts.

We are happy to hear that you were pleased with your unit and that any issues were able to be addressed by our staff in a timely manner.

Our objective is to provide all guests with superior service and accommodations.

Thank you again for your helpful suggestions on ways to improve our resort.

Sincerely,
Katrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,304
    1,042
    524
    375
    525
See reviews for
1,900
715
54
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bonaire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We booked a studio due to the YBOA rate & it was the best year that I can remember. I was able to choose a room overlooking the pool; 1400 bldg. near the store. There was ample parking in front of the store... Crossing the street to get to the building was a hassle. We walked the grounds, played at the arcade, paddle boating and of course went swimming. Toilet backed up several times; however the engineers came ASAP... The resort is very busy, but hey... It's vacation- ENJOY IT! Overall I enjoyed my stay. We ate at the Smokehouse Grill & it was great! I hope you're on the list for next year!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed so many things about Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa! As you mentioned, we have tons of activities to do on the property. We hope to see you again for many vacation memories to come!

Sincerely,
Lissy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My stay at West gate Lakes was truly awesome! I would recommend this resort to all of my family and friends! The staff was warm and friendly! The amenities were appropriate for all age groups. The rooms were spacious and the kitchen provided ample pots and utensils to accommodate all guests and friends! Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We feel honored that you would recommend us. It’s great to hear our staff was warm and friendly. As you mentioned, our rooms are spacious and we have fully equipped kitchens. We look forward to having you back again soon!


Sincerely,
Idalise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I was leery about staying here because of the reviews. But it turned out to be a very pleasant stay. I was provided with everything we needed including washing detergent, dishwasher liquid, pots, pans, etc. The property is beautiful and the staff waa attentive. Also, it is close to EVERYTHING! I encourage you to visit the website and research for yourself!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your response. We’re beyond thrilled you enjoyed everything our resort has to offer. We love to make all our guests feel right at home by providing them with everything they may need during their stay. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Lissy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

the beds were clean it was a bit loud but the staff were really nice I stayed in the top floor my mum had a big bath 2 people could get in it with space I would stay here. you can only have one laptop on Wi-Fi at one time or you have to pay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
It is fantastic to hear you had a great experience! We love to make our guests stay a memorable one. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Idalise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Check in was quick. That was just about the only good thing. We were walked to the concierge AKA reservation clerk for a tour. Promised 90 min tour but I know how that really works so we declined. The room was large but is in desperate need of updating unless you are cool with 1990 decor.

The room was DIRTY!!! Hair in the tub, food on the refrigerator door handle, "stuff" in the wash machine, what appeared to be mold in the shower. I would continue but I'm busy looking over my shoulder for the unsuspected!!!

Parking was the worse. We got to the resort at 10:00 pm and drove around for 15 mins for a parking spot. We called yto ask for assistance and was told we could park in the registration area and a employee would take us to our room. No thank you.

In short, if you want a cheap big room close to Universal Studio then this dump fits the bill. If you want to have a clean room that doesn't require you to spray Lysol and walk around with shoes on to avoid contact with nasty carpet then keep searching the web.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We are so sorry that you experienced issues with cleanliness of your room, parking, and for any pressure you may have felt by the sales staff.

Our housekeeping team is there to ensure that each room is spotless and ready for our guest’s arrival. We have taken note of this issue and will let the resorts housekeeping manager know.

Unfortunately, with the size of our resort, parking can become an issue and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that may have caused. We are currently working on ways to correct the parking situation and appreciate your patience.

We want to thank you again for letting us know about your concerns as we take all of our guests’ comments into consideration.

Sincerely,
Katrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The resort is nice, lots of facilities, ok rooms and friendly staff but a few things were very bad:

- Parking was terrible. There is clearly not enough parking spaces for the number of rooms. Often had to park very far.

- Our room had a pretty bad smell. Like the smell of fried food. We were in the studio but the joining room had a kitchen. They may have cooked but the smell didn't go away the whole 7 days even after the first day when the staff cleaned the room. leading me to believe the smell is permanent.

-the toilet handle was broken from day one. I fixed it myself. Not sure who was there earlier that wouldn't have noticed that

- The first morning the joining room checked out and at 8am They started cleaning out the room! The cleaning staff were yelling and banging things around. Literally pots and pans. They weren't even arguing, just loud and laughing. It was insane. We were still sleeping and we are pretty tolerant but after an hour non-stop it had already left a bad impression of their service. Seemed incredibly inconsiderate to me. It didn't happen again but was unfortunate it set our expectation the first day.

- the place is loud and busy. Until very late at night (1am+) there are people all over the place, parking lot, hallways, yelling and laughing. Nothing mean, just inconsiderate. Seemed low class to me

- the resort seems to offer lots of cheap weekends to push their timeshare. The weekends were crazy busy and their golf cart sales people are zipping around like maniacs along with all the cars trying to find parking. You get the impression they are trying to fulfill quotas.

Some good things:

- Rooms were clean. Decor was pretty dated but fine

- staff were very friendly and helpful ( apart from that cleaning crew)

- pools and facilities are very nice. Very busy but well laid out.

- check in was fast and friendly

- we had free wifi the whole week

- nice big balcony

I'm really not a complainer. I'm pretty easy going but this is the first hotel I disliked enough to write a review for and can't recommend. Maybe it was the culmination of all the little things but wasn't worth it for the price.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Our staff strives to be attentive and give great service, and we are delighted to see that you experienced that, with the exception of the housekeeping crew. Rest assured the matter of respecting the fact that guests are sleeping and that at all times employees are to refrain from yelling and arguing, as it is not the standards we have in place for our staff, will be addressed. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your unit as well as some of the on-site amenities. We strive to provide exceptional accommodations and a variety of onsite amenities, while being conveniently located to local attractions. We hope that the next time you are in the area; you will stop by again and stay with us.
Sincerely,
Katrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Address: 10000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#162 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa in Orlando, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home! All villas are non-smoking and range from Studio Villas with kitchenette and large jetted tub that sleep 4 to spacious Four-Bedroom Villas with full kitchen plus two kitchenettes that sleep up to 16, all within minutes of Orlando's world-class theme parks and tourist attractions. With scheduled shuttle service to Disney, Universal, SeaWorld and the Orlando Premium Outlets, 7 pools, full service Serenity Spa, Marketplace, Smokehouse Grill restaurant, Sid's Bistro serving Starbucks, extensive Activities program and lakefront Marina there is sure to be something for everyone. Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa is also pet friendly, allowing one pet under 60 lbs (fees apply). Come enjoy your Orlando vacation in comfort at the Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Lake Resort Spa
Westgate Resort Orlando
Westgate Lakes Florida
Westgate Lakes Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lake Resort Orlando
Westgate Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lakes Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.