We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive mini-vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   10000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off Room Rate
Ranked #172 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Floodwood, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Inexpensive mini-vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We saw a "deal" to this resort if we signed up for a 90 minute Timeshare presentations. I read many many reviews for this resort and paid particular attention to the timeshare presentation reviews because I had never been to one. I asked advice from friends, and I googled about timeshares. So we had a game plan. Agreed, 90 minutes was all we would stay. We also agreed we were not there for any " freebies" or discounts. So all in all, that worked out. The presenter knew from the get-go we did not want to be there, he asked us why and we were honest up front. So there was no high pressure, but it was 2 hours, not 90 minutes. We did not take a tour because we actually were there a day and a half before we had to go to the presentations. In that time we saw all the resort had to offer, no need to tour. Now all that being said, we were very impressed with our accommodations. We were in bldg. 2600, on the 4th floor. It was so very lovely, just like the pictures on the website. The view of Turtle Lake, the roomy balcony, the huge living space, the kitchen fully supplied with very nice dishes, flatware, new appliances, washer dryer. We had 3 flat screen TV's but not happy with the limited channels and no way to know which were the channel listings. Beds were so comfy, everything so clean, not a bug insight. Great water pressure in showers and huge spa tub with jets. But the jets were too loud. Every staff person we encountered was very polite and helpful, if they could understand us and we them. The pool area in our section was never crowded, it was well maintained, and heated pool water was nice to get into. Our MAIN complaint was one we saw many times on the reviews we read, heavy traffic and parking spots too close together. We had someone ding our car door. We have had our car 6 yrs. and this was the first door ding which was a real downer for my hubby who takes so much pride in his car. Also he didn't like that when you were pulling out from a parking lot, the bushes stuck out too far and you had to creep out slowly because of oncoming resort traffic and golf carts. It is very easy to get into and out of the resort from the main roads and freeway. All in all as much as it had to offer and as lovely as the accommodations, we would not stay again, it's too big! We paid $169.00 for 4 days and 3 nights. Great value!

Room Tip: Ask for bldg. 2600, room # 2642. Fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. We appreciate your comments and are glad you found us to be a great value. Making memorable stay experiences with our valued guests is what we do best! We invite you back, and hope to see you again very soon.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    892
    431
    324
    448
See reviews for
1,609
603
51
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We loved our stay.
We have been expended 2 weeks between January 14, 2014 and January 29, 2014. We had a one luxury badroom with Jacuzzi, Leaving, Kitchen and Laundry Machine.

We have some minor issues but all of it has been solved.
We will back soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We are honored you chose to stay with us! We are happy to hear you had a great time! We pride ourselves in many things, from superior customer service, to our beautiful grounds. But we also work hard to provide a diverse assortment of amenities that all of our guests can enjoy. It’s great you took part, we love it! Please come back and visit us again soon!

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Ive stayed here alot over the past few years I would recommend it To any one ! I always stay in the studio never had any issues ! Love the screened in porch, jacuzzi hot tub in the room ,the fridge & microwave ! Mostly all the pools are warm... The grounds & lakes are beautiful.. love all that they have to do there..the staff is friendly too ! I work for a hotel & I would still stay here instead the price is great too ! I'm a huge fan !

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We value your review and repeat business. We’re thrilled that you always enjoy your stays with us at the Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. Making memorable stay experiences with our valued guests is what we do best! We invite you to please stop in again next time you are in town.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My husband and I exchanged our timeshare into this resort. I am not sure if people who are not timeshare owners get different accommodations, I did hear something to this effect.
After I exchanged, I saw some REALLY great reviews and some REALLY awful reviews here. So I called the property and told them that I was nervous about the reviews, and they put us into a renovated room.
Positives: This place is absolutely gorgeous! It is right on a lake, the units have patios or balconies, and there is so much to do. We took time to rent bikes, play mini golf, go paddleboating, and visited the activities center for crafts with the 10 year old we borrowed for Disney (he went home with lots of GREAT memories!). There are 7 pools on property, some with bars (depends on time of year whether bars are open or not). We had 2 minor issues when we had to call housekeeping and they were very fast. The hotel staff was always very helpful and curteous. There are shuttles to Disney, Universal, and Sea World that save you daily parking fees ($15 at Disney, $22 at Universal). A Disney rep is right on property and there are people to help you with park tickets. If you do the timeshare tour, you can get discount Disney and Universal tickets, plus a card to use all the amenities on the resort grounds for free. There are a restaurant and a convenience store onsite. Of course the store is pricey and they only have name brand items, but when both my hubby and I were too sick to go out we were grateful that we only had to pay $5 extra to have the store deliver meds. There is even a Starbucks in the main building! The unit itself was a very nice size and had all the amenities you expect from a timeshare. The kitchen really helped us save money as we packed lunches and snacks in a backpack when we went to the parks and ate in the unit at night. We had a very comfortable stay and the location was very convenient. Oh, and this is a pet-friendly resort. (We had intended to bring the dog but changed our minds when we invited the 10yo to go to Disney with us- it would have cost us over $200 for the pet fee at the resort, then when we went to the theme parks we would have had to board her outside the Disney gate for $35/day.)
Negatives: One of our biggest peeves was that a place this size does not recycle! It killed me to throw out so much in the trash. We also were not thrilled with the internet fees. They are $9.99 per day, but if you get a week, they charge you $39.99 (also a 3 day option). That is quite high- I think most places charge $2 per day if they charge at all. AND- you can only use one device at a time! That is ridiculous! You can't use the internet in the bedrooms as there is extra fireproofing, and the signal is spotty in the rest of the unit. We also did find a roach on the first day, so I called and they sent someone out to spray immediately. Found one the next day. Then at the end of the 2nd week we spotted another. I saw reviews on here with bugs. It's actually quite easy to see that the roaches can get under the door rather easily as there isn't a seal between the door and the doorjam. The small towels drove me crazy- both bath and beach towels. For a resort this size, I was surprised at the limited selection of TV channels. While it was GREAT to have the shuttles available, they sometimes were not the most convenient. There were 3 to each park in the morning and 3 from each park at night. The ones to Universal were great. But the first one out of Disney (the stop is actually at Epcot, you have to transfer to go to any of the other parks) was 7:30pm- and Animal Kingdom closed at 5pm. Perhaps when it is busier there are more shuttle choices. We did make it work, which saved us $15 per day, just not the most convenient. And I had a huge issue with the timeshare tour- that was supposed to last 90 minutes but lasted 3 hours! We were led to believe that people who exchanged didn't get a full tour, but that was not the case- we were just being shown the property at 90 minutes!
Overall, we were satisfied with this resort. We would stay here again, but we'd do a few things differently if we come back.

Room Tip: It was rather noisey near the main pool. Then that one was being cleaned so the other pool was noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. Thank you for letting us know what we are exceling in and some areas that need work. The satisfaction of our guests is our top priority. We hope you will stay with us again and allow us the opportunity to not just meet but exceed your expectations.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We exchanged to this resort for two weeks between January 11, 2014 and February 1, 2014. We had a 3 bedroom unit both times to accommodate 10 family members going on a cruise and to visit the theme parks. We stayed at the resort prior to and after the cruise. We stayed in buildings 400 and 1000 both of which have not been renovated yet and while clean really need updating. Our unit in 400 had a broken hide a bed and we had to struggle to accommodate everyone in our party. Staff at the resort were all friendly and helpful. It is well located for those visiting the parks. We have stayed here before and probably will again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. We strive to provide an exceptional vacation experience that exceeds guest’s expectations and we apologize that we fell short. We will certainly share your review with our staff, as we are always looking for areas to improve. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Definitely a dated resort, but it is fairly nice...staff is very friendly and if the weather is nice you are never far from a pool or hot tub or bar...my room was, as I stated, 1980s looking, but overall well maintained...keep in mind this is a RESORT...meaning your room will probably not be near the front of the property...you will need to take a free shuttle or call for a golf cart...a minor inconvenience...the free shuttles to the parks is also a plus.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We’re so glad that our staff was friendly and you enjoyed our well maintained resort. As you mentioned, we are a big property and we do accommodate our guests by providing transportation within our resort. Thank you for choosing with stay with us and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Idalise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island ny
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We traded a timeshare to stay here and everything was great. Clean, up to date unit well supplied All staff was pleasant. No pressure to take a tour.Another plus is it is pet friendly. We were very pleased over all Only compliant you have to pay for wifi which is surprising Stayed the last week in Jan

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed our rooms and our staff was pleasant. We love to hear when our guests have a great experience with us. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Idalise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Address: 10000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#137 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa in Orlando, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home! All villas are non-smoking and range from Studio Villas with kitchenette and large jetted tub that sleep 4 to spacious Four-Bedroom Villas with full kitchen plus two kitchenettes that sleep up to 16, all within minutes of Orlando's world-class theme parks and tourist attractions. With scheduled shuttle service to Disney, Universal, SeaWorld and the Orlando Premium Outlets, 7 pools, full service Serenity Spa, Marketplace, Smokehouse Grill restaurant, Sid's Bistro serving Starbucks, extensive Activities program and lakefront Marina there is sure to be something for everyone. Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa is also pet friendly, allowing one pet under 60 lbs (fees apply). Come enjoy your Orlando vacation in comfort at the Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Lake Resort Spa
Westgate Resort Orlando
Westgate Lakes Florida
Westgate Lakes Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lake Resort Orlando
Westgate Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lakes Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.