We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   10000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #168 of 327 hotels in Orlando
Syracuse, New York, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Decent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Definitely a dated resort, but it is fairly nice...staff is very friendly and if the weather is nice you are never far from a pool or hot tub or bar...my room was, as I stated, 1980s looking, but overall well maintained...keep in mind this is a RESORT...meaning your room will probably not be near the front of the property...you will need to take a free shuttle or call for a golf cart...a minor inconvenience...the free shuttles to the parks is also a plus.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We’re so glad that our staff was friendly and you enjoyed our well maintained resort. As you mentioned, we are a big property and we do accommodate our guests by providing transportation within our resort. Thank you for choosing with stay with us and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Idalise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,882 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    972
    805
    389
    289
    427
See reviews for
1453
537
43
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
long island ny
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We traded a timeshare to stay here and everything was great. Clean, up to date unit well supplied All staff was pleasant. No pressure to take a tour.Another plus is it is pet friendly. We were very pleased over all Only compliant you have to pay for wifi which is surprising Stayed the last week in Jan

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed our rooms and our staff was pleasant. We love to hear when our guests have a great experience with us. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Idalise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Visiting westgate without a rental car means a lot of cabs. There is a reataurant on site and the food is good but if you want variety and something a bit lighter, you have a 4-5km walk up the road - not really a bad thing, just something to be aware of.

There are several pools to choose from and various theme nights. It is easy to relax here. If you like to swim in the lake, remember you are in Florida and there are gators. The biggest I saw was about 6 feet.

Walking through the resort you realize it is quite big. They offer activities either group or solo. Shopping, Universal and Seaworld are all close by via cab or shuttle.

Dont be fooled by the advertising of its own grocery store/market. It is 400sq ft store with junk food and the very basics to get you through the day.

All in all I enjoyed my stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We value and appreciate all our guests and owners. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, we are a big property and we work hard to make sure our guests receives a quality vacation experience. We’re glad you enjoyed our pools and location. Free shuttle service is provided to theme parks and we advise our guests to reserve prior. Thank you for choosing Westgate Resorts and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Idalise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We received an upgrade at check in, the check in staff was professional and very polite.
We got an apartment at building 700, very large 2 bedrooms, living room, complete kitchen and balcony with in house washer and dryer but the decor was too outdated for me...one bedroom had 2 queen beds and the master a king with a big jacuzzi. Everything was clean and comfortable.
The resort is nice, the place is huge with tennis courts, marina, mini golf, bbq spaces and pools all over the resort. It is a good place for families with teenagers lot of activities for older kids but not for younger ones.
It is a busy place with lot of noise, people, cars and golf carts moving around, not a relaxed space.

Room Tip: ask for a room/apartment on the remodeled buildings, old ones have 80's decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback. We are so happy to hear that our staff was professional and very polite. As you mentioned, we are a big property and we do have plenty of resort amenities for our guests and owners to enjoy. We take all of our guest’s comments into consideration as we are always looking for way to improve. Thank you for choosing Westgate Resorts and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Idalise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Plainfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We booked this hotel for a short vacation. We have an 8 month old w us. We woke up in the middle of the night w bugs all over the counter. Then went into the bathroom and found more!! When we called to complain they said they would exterminate the room but of course we couldn't be in the room for hours due to the fumes. I told them we weren't comfortable w that because of our 8 month old. No compensation, no money off room - nothing! I would never recommend this hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We value and appreciate your feedback. We understand you had some issues during your stay. We are located in Florida and issues like this may occur due to warm weather. However, we want you to know that our maintenance staff do run through pest control maintenance throughout all of our units. We also would like to advise you that we do not use toxic chemicals when treating a room. Rest assured, we care about our guest’s health and safety and we take all precautions to avoid anything from harming anyone. We hope you allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future!

Sincerely,
Idalise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Our stay at this resort was excellent. We liked our room, it was spacious and very clean. Location was in close proximity to the parks. We took a ride to Tampa, only one hour away, we went to the zoo and it was well worth it.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your response. We are thrilled you had an excellent stay with us. It is great to hear that you made use of our convenient location and enjoyed our spacious rooms. On behalf of the entire Westgate Staff, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you soon!


Sincerely,
Idalise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Me and my family were in an apartment for a holiday in Florida. Nice and clean place. The parking lot it's a bit complicated, there are few spots in front of the buildings, so there's a good chance (if you don't get in very early) that there won't be room for your car, so you'll have to park a little far away. Other than that, everything was pretty great. Very secure and great cleaning service.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
We are delighted that you had a great stay with us at the Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. During times of high occupancy, our parking situation sometimes can be challenging. Please accept our apologies if you were inconvenienced. If available, our employees would be glad to give you a ride on their golf cart. We appreciate your comments and look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Address: 10000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#127 Business Hotel in Orlando
#146 Family Hotel in Orlando
#168 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa in Orlando, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home! All villas are non-smoking and range from Studio Villas with kitchenette and large jetted tub that sleep 4 to spacious Four-Bedroom Villas with full kitchen plus two kitchenettes that sleep up to 16, all within minutes of Orlando's world-class theme parks and tourist attractions. With scheduled shuttle service to Disney, Universal, SeaWorld and the Orlando Premium Outlets, 7 pools, full service Serenity Spa, Marketplace, Smokehouse Grill restaurant, Sid's Bistro serving Starbucks, extensive Activities program and lakefront Marina there is sure to be something for everyone. Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa is also pet friendly, allowing one pet under 60 lbs (fees apply). Come enjoy your Orlando vacation in comfort at the Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Lake Resort Spa
Westgate Resort Orlando
Westgate Lakes Florida
Westgate Lakes Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lake Resort Orlando
Westgate Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lakes Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.