We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BUGS BUGS BUGS!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   10000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 329 hotels in Orlando
South Plainfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“BUGS BUGS BUGS!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We booked this hotel for a short vacation. We have an 8 month old w us. We woke up in the middle of the night w bugs all over the counter. Then went into the bathroom and found more!! When we called to complain they said they would exterminate the room but of course we couldn't be in the room for hours due to the fumes. I told them we weren't comfortable w that because of our 8 month old. No compensation, no money off room - nothing! I would never recommend this hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We value and appreciate your feedback. We understand you had some issues during your stay. We are located in Florida and issues like this may occur due to warm weather. However, we want you to know that our maintenance staff do run through pest control maintenance throughout all of our units. We also would like to advise you that we do not use toxic chemicals when treating a room. Rest assured, we care about our guest’s health and safety and we take all precautions to avoid anything from harming anyone. We hope you allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future!

Sincerely,
Idalise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,594 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    851
    735
    341
    265
    402
See reviews for
1253
482
35
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Our stay at this resort was excellent. We liked our room, it was spacious and very clean. Location was in close proximity to the parks. We took a ride to Tampa, only one hour away, we went to the zoo and it was well worth it.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your response. We are thrilled you had an excellent stay with us. It is great to hear that you made use of our convenient location and enjoyed our spacious rooms. On behalf of the entire Westgate Staff, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you soon!


Sincerely,
Idalise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Me and my family were in an apartment for a holiday in Florida. Nice and clean place. The parking lot it's a bit complicated, there are few spots in front of the buildings, so there's a good chance (if you don't get in very early) that there won't be room for your car, so you'll have to park a little far away. Other than that, everything was pretty great. Very secure and great cleaning service.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
We are delighted that you had a great stay with us at the Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. During times of high occupancy, our parking situation sometimes can be challenging. Please accept our apologies if you were inconvenienced. If available, our employees would be glad to give you a ride on their golf cart. We appreciate your comments and look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This by far is the worst place we have ever stayed. Terrible location. It's right on the expressway. Very noisey. Not to mention tons of traffic in the parking lots not a good place to have small children. Even some of the employes were racing golf carts around I think this place is waiting for a accident. We checked out two days early and stayed with family do to a roach problem. We even had droppings in the bed. Good luck trying to find a open bar/rest by the pool areas. Pools were nice plenty of chairs not the most comfortable but several to pick from. Although remember this was off season. I couldn't even begin to imagine the busy season here because it didn't seem like anyone wanted to work and poorly maintained. I always read reviews before booking a resort this one has mixed reviews which is actually the reason we stayed thinking if all were poor or excellent it was not a fair review. In this case I would say stay away. The bad reviews are true. I heard several people complaining about different things the whole time.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay ask for a room away from the roads. Tops floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear about the challenges you had during your stay. The comfort of our guests is a top concern for us. The challenges you have described are being reviewed by our Management Team, as they share a common interest to ensure that these issues are corrected. We remain hopeful you will give us a second chance to serve you again.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Been an owner 20+ years (platinum) and watched this resort service go downhill. 3 yrs since last visit and it really tanked. Just took me over 45 minutes to get a newspaper . 4 "employees" did not know they had a paper box, after 3 desks finally got change. Machine took money, door not open, had to insist on getting money back person at counter told me they cannot do that?? Finally she learned about petty cash! I tried the other machine same issue. Told cannot give money because we advised you to go to store which meant a trip in the car (no car keys with me) ask for a manager (never did see one) told to have a seat and they would send some one to get you one. "i have no idea how long it will take!!!" i had to tell her to send it to the room, excuse me! What happened to westgate service??? 45 minutes and they could have taken care of this in 5 minutes by sending the paper to the room on first complaint ! Yearly fees go up and service goes down steer clear of westgate!!!!!!!!!!! Too late for me, but believe me will exchange for any other resort in the future.

Room Tip: If you are folish enough to go as for room on west side fro quiet. ask to see the map and pick your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
It is of deepest regret to learn that your recent stay with us was anything less than exceptional. We appreciate that you took the time to provide this feedback as the points you have described are being reviewed by our Management Team. I know they share a common interest to ensure that these issues do not occur again. I apologize that we have missed the level our guests have come to expect from us.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I like to start the property is very nice. Our room was wonderful and the location was excellent. We checked in for a three night stay. Front desk was nice and let us check in early.

The room was clean, and the view from the balcony was very pretty. The security is excellent and felt safe the entire visit. I would recommend staying there.

I would have given five stars but not this place as their ploys to get guests to attend a presentation are unacceptable.

Beware of the VIP desk they send you to after check in. It is a trick to get you involved in a timeshare presentation.

We attended and you would not believe how rude the presenter got when we kept saying no. It got to the point of us leaving after time was up and he threatened us with no gifts if we left. He even used off color language during the presentation. We got our gifts once I went to the hotel lobby and spoke to the manager. What a waste of time the presentation was.

I would stay at this property but if you want to save your day, pass on the VIP desk and move on. It isn't worth the gifts you get and the possiblility of making a purchase of a timeshare you didn't want in the first place.

Room Tip: Beware of the VIP desk during check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your honest and fair feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your last visit with us. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced as a result of attending one of our timeshare presentations and are sorry that this distracted you from your family vacation. Participation in our timeshare presentations is voluntary and we do offer all of our owners/guest the opportunity to participate and for opting to do so, we do offer breakfast, and other incentives. We certainly hope that you will stay with us again giving us chance to exceed your expectations in the future.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We loved every minute of our stay at the Westgate Resort! As soon as we arrived to check in, we were welcomed so nicely & someone showed us to our room. The rooms were beautiful & in great condition. We were told our building was recently renovated & it was indeed quit obvious when we walked into our room. The grounds are so big & beautiful! It's difficult to be bored there, being as there are so many pools & great amenities. We would definitely love to go back!

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view of the lake. It was blissful to sit out on the water front terrace i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Your kind review is very much appreciated. We are happy we were able to provide you with a quality vacation experience. It’s great that you were able to take advantage of our conveniently located resort near lots to do in town. Our staff is there to assist you in any way they can and we are happy they were able to accommodate your needs. We hope that the next time you are in the area you will stop by again and stay with us.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Westgate Lake Resort Spa
Westgate Lake Resort
Westgate Lakes Resort Spa
Westgate Lakes
Westgate Lakes Resort
Westgate Resort Orlando
Westgate Lakes Florida
Westgate Lakes Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lake Resort Orlando
Address: 10000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#148 Family Hotel in Orlando
#171 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#171 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa in Orlando, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home with accommodations ranging from studios to large four-bedroom spacious suites, all within minutes of Orlando’s world-class theme parks and tourist attractions, as well as many family-friendly restaurants. A nonsmoking Orlando resort, Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa is pet friendly, allowing pets under 60 lbs. With a variety of onsite amenities, Westgate Lakes Resort offers something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Otel, Venere, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.