We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westgate lakes resort and spa, orlando” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   10000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #172 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Westgate lakes resort and spa, orlando”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved this hotel...stayed here with my husband, daughter, son-in-law, his mum and my two granddaughters. We were here for three nights but would love to have stayed longer, we found the rooms, pools, crazy golf and reception were excellent...would definitely recommend this resort and would return ourselves...wonderful views of lakes...

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
It's so nice that you and your family absolutely loved our resort and had a wonderful three nights. You are always welcome here. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    812
    396
    298
    427
See reviews for
1478
545
46
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This past summer my family and I went down to Orlando for a Disney vacation and we stayed at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. As we were heading down we were hoping that the room would be good, but we tried to keep our expectations in check. Our first experience with the staff was when we accidentally pulled into the wrong area of the compound (it's pretty big) and the security guard and one of the staff that were just standing there chatting quickly greeted us, joked around with us and let us know we were in the wrong place. They then got into their car and escorted us over to where we were supposed to be for check in--1st impressions are very important and these 2 inadvertently made a great 1st impression! Check in took a little long but the staff was obviously pretty swamped by the amount of people checking in that weekend. Regardless, they were friendly and efficient and kept apologizing for the delay. Upon entering the rooms our jaws dropped. We had a 3 BR unit (we had friends that were meeting us later in the week) and the room was HUGE! Everything was pristine, clean, and looked like it was in excellent condition. The master BR had a roman tub that could easily fit 4 people, each section had access to a screened in balcony with tables and chairs. The kitchen was a little tight but that didn't really bother us. The beds were comfortable and the shower in the master bath was spacious with good water pressure. We were right across from the pool hot tub (the resort has 7 I believe) and there was a bar at every pool. We were a little annoyed that the bar closed at 9 every night and you couldn't bring your own alcohol in but I guess that's for safety reasons? We ordered in one night from the BBQ joint they have on location and while I wouldn't put it up for the best BBQ joint in the country, it was still quite good. The resort itself is only about 15 min away from Disney and about 8 min away from Sea World (Universal is supposed to be closer, but we didn't go). All the staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful and we would definitely recommend this place to anyone who asks!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the lake...if you can, get one of those, great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. It's so nice that you really enjoyed your 3 bedroom unit and our close location to the theme parks. It's our wish to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We spent 6 days and 5 nights here for our anniversary. Everything was first class all the way. We would definitely stay here again and have recommended Westgate Lakes Resort to all of our friends. We enjoyed the spa, very clean. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The smokehouse restaurant has very good quality food at reasonable prices. The breakfast was 2 for 1 if you went between 8 and 9 am. We ate there everyday. We enjoyed the jacuzzi tub in out master suite. We had the two bedroom unit and it was just beautiful. You can't go wrong by staying at this resort!

Room Tip: On the lake where you can see fireworks from Disney
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Happy Anniversary! It's gratifying to read that you found it first class all the way and you would definitely stay here again. Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcmo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great location to Orlando CC - $16 Cab ride
Staff was very helpful
Room was clean, loved the private balcony
Fitness center was great if anything - too much equipment
The only negative comment concerning this facility was the music played in the reception and front desk area was very loud - night or day
I would stay at this facility again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We really appreciate you taking a moment to share your experience. As you mentioned, we are located close to the Orange County Convention Center. We're pleased that you found the room clean, the staff helpful and that you enjoyed the fitness center. We thank you for the suggestion regarding the music, and it will be passed on to the appropriate persons. We would love to have you come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT WAYNE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed one night at Westgate near the end of our honeymoon. The guest service was professional. Do keep in mind that if you book here, they are going to approach (repeatedly) you about purchasing a time share property. Book a tour with your money, get a refund when you show up for it, and incentives..same old story. We stayed in a studio with a jetted tub right in the room. It would have been so much nicer if the furnishings were from this era. There was pink formica particle board and mirrors everywhere! It was kind of like being in the old show Miami Vice. Beautiful location though, sweet staff, I guess it depends on how much you like the 1980's.

Room Tip: Ask for one on an upper floor, the view and private balcony is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We appreciate you taking a moment to share with us your experience at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. Congratulations on your wedding! We're glad that you enjoyed our location and staff. Some of our units have yet to be updated, and we apologize if you received one without a makeover. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The staff was very nice and professional. The studio room we rented was cozy. Our coffee maker was broken so we called the front desk and they had a new one right out of the box deliver with in 10 min. The kids loved the jet tub! Would highly recommend staying here if you want to feel at home after a long day at the parks.

Room Tip: Sofa bed was ok but will rent a 2 bedroom so kids can have a real bed instead next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
We appreciate you choosing to stay here at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. We couldn't be happier that you are pleased, you found the staff to be nice & professional, and you enjoyed the cozy studio. We're glad that we were able to immediately address your coffeemaker issue. It would be our pleasure to have you visit here again!

Sincerely,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks at the end of October/beginning of November. There were 4 of us, 2 adults and 2 children aged 10 and 11.Checking in was no problem, it was evening so no one in the queue. We were then given keys and handed over to a guy (Rich I think his name was) who booked us in for a "welcome breakfast" that would last 90 minutes. I knew this was a timeshare presentation and there was no way it was gonna last 90 minutes but we did agree and paid the $20 refundable deposit.
Upon reflection we decided to cut our losses and cancel the breakfast/presentation though and forfeit the $20 as we didn't want to waste any time there when we could be at the parks. We told the guy this the next morning and he gave us our money back. Didn't try to get us to change our minds or anything, just said that was fine and didn't hear anything else about it for the entire holiday which I was most surprised about after reading the strong arm tactics on here.
A lovely young man took us by golf caddy to our room which was 1122A so not at all far from the entrance and overlooked a pool which was nice. The room was very spacious, the kids loved their room with double beds and had their own bathroom which was nice for us all not to share in the mornings. NB - kids bathroom could've done with a hairdryer though and the room was very poorly lit. Not major issues to be fair just a couple of suggestions. The adult room was lovely also, lovely big bed, big hot tub/jacuzzi and good bathroom. The decor is the issue I have. I did ask at reception for an updated room after reading reviews on here and she assured me that's what we had. It was most definately NOT an updated room. The curtain rail and upholstery was a horrible 80's green colour and the carpet in the bedroom was threadbare in places. The sofa was also a horrid green colour and ripped in places.
I think if we'd spent more time there I may have complained but we literally used it as a place to go to bed after the theme parks. We had a Pizza from the Pizza Hut one night but that was about as much time as we spent there. On the last day my husband found a cockroach climbing up the wall but we only ever saw one and swiftly killed it.
The other issue I had was when my son was ill. He threw up on the carpet in our bedroom and as you can imagine, the room smelt bad. Really bad. I cleaned it up but still the smell lingered. My husband went down to reception to see if they could clean the carpet where he was asked ''are you a guest or an owner?'' When we said we were a guest they then informed him that he would have to pay for the carpet to be cleaned! So WE have to pay to clean YOUR carpets? erm I don't think so!! Luckily the day it happened it was raining and windy all day so we opened the bedroom and patio doors and let the room air out and by the evening the smell had gone. Still think it's a cheek though.
One thing I cannot fault was the location. Turkey Lake Road is a pretty major road and you really can't miss it. It's also about a 10 minute drive East as you leave the parking lot to Universal Studios and the same West to DisneyWorld. It also has a humungous Walmart that sell EVERYTHING you could ever imagine such as Car Tyres, Luggage, Ping Pong Tables. Just everything. That is a day trip in itself!
I also never had a problem with parking. Only once on a saturday night did we have to drive around looking for a space but we didn't park that far away in the end and we were coming and going at all times of the day.
So would I stay here again? For the location, absolutely. I would definately demand an upgraded room next time though but if you're using it just as a base inbetween theme parks as we were, it's fine.
Unfortunately, I cannot comment on any of the pools as we didn't use them, nor the Smokehouse Grill or the Spa. Nor did we do any of the activities. Pools didn't seem to overcrowded to be fair though. and the cleaner came 3 times in two weeks which was fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. We're glad that check in went smoothly and that Rich was able to accommodate you. Additionally, we're pleased that you found the unit spacious and lovely. We have been rolling out updates across our resorts, and we regret that you didn't receive one with a makeover. We hope that your son is feeling fine now-please accept our apologies about the response by the front desk. We would have gladly cleaned the carpet for you. We're glad that you liked our ideal location, close to everything. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It's our wish to have you come back and visit again so that we may exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Address: 10000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#121 Business Hotel in Orlando
#140 Family Hotel in Orlando
#172 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa in Orlando, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home! All villas are non-smoking and range from Studio Villas with kitchenette and large jetted tub that sleep 4 to spacious Four-Bedroom Villas with full kitchen plus two kitchenettes that sleep up to 16, all within minutes of Orlando's world-class theme parks and tourist attractions. With scheduled shuttle service to Disney, Universal, SeaWorld and the Orlando Premium Outlets, 7 pools, full service Serenity Spa, Marketplace, Smokehouse Grill restaurant, Sid's Bistro serving Starbucks, extensive Activities program and lakefront Marina there is sure to be something for everyone. Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa is also pet friendly, allowing one pet under 60 lbs (fees apply). Come enjoy your Orlando vacation in comfort at the Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Lake Resort Spa
Westgate Resort Orlando
Westgate Lakes Florida
Westgate Lakes Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lake Resort Orlando
Westgate Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lakes Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.