We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   10000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off Room Rate
Ranked #173 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Lady Lake, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

You just can't beat staying at Westgate Lakes Resort. The rooms are beautiful the pools are clean and refreshing and the staff is the best. We went to Epcot and Magic Kingdom and both days couldn't wait to get back to the Resort. Beautiful place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. Our whole team strives to provide a great vacation experience, from the rooms to the clean pools to excellent customer service. We look forward to being your "perfect getaway" again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    892
    431
    324
    448
See reviews for
1,609
603
51
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel is honestly just a scam. They show you the nice fancy things that are inexpensive. It is near all the parks. They do a great job of getting you to stay with them. But then you're forced to sit through a "90 minute" sales pitch breakfast/lunch thing. Yeah it definitely didn't last 90 minutes. I was forced to stay for like two and a half hours where they try no matter how many times you say no to get you to sign papers to purchase one of their suites. Horrible experience. Would never suggest this to anyone, especially families who simply want to enjoy their vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direct0r0fOPS, Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We appreciate your feedback about your visit to our resort. We are sorry you feel the way you do however it is at the discretion of our guests if they wish to sit down for a presentation to purchase vacation ownership with Westgate Resorts. We do offer timeshare and we have many great resorts to visit and enjoy, however it is up to the individual guest if they wish to inquire and listen to a presentation. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while going to Magic Kingdom and Epcot with my 2 year old. We had such a great time that we stayed an extra day. The room was very nice and we loved having the balcony. When you have a two year old asleep at 8pm it is nice to sit outside and be able to talk. The Jacuzzi tub was great! My little one loved filling it up with bubbles and playing! I had a massage the morning before we headed home, and I think her name was Beatrice, she was the sweetest lady ever and did a great job with my massage. The restaurants on site delivered to the room too! Would go back to this resort. Only problem was the line to check in took forever!!! but they gave free lemonade and popcorn while you wait which was nice for my daughter. :) You can see the Disney fireworks from the balcony!! However we had a big tree in the way lol

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you can see the Disney Fireworks at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for any issues that you may have experienced during your stay with us. We are so happy to know you and your family had a great time! We will make sure Beatrice gets proper recognition for her service. We hope that you will stay with us in the future giving us another chance to show you how we can meet and exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My trip to Orlando was Awesome. Everyone was really great especially VIP service w/shuttle service. The sales department was cool, came off a little strong. I enjoyed the spa tub, very relaxing. They have so much to offer at the hotel and i was glad i chose this hotel. I regret nothing, the hotel was great. We were able to check in at 1pm, and that was perfect timing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa with us. It's satisfying to hear you found everyone really great, enjoyed the shuttle service, the relaxing spa tub and all of our amenities. We're also glad that we were able to accommodate your early check in as well. Spring Break should be awesome, and we'd like to see you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I arrived at Westgate Lakes as I was attending a conference in Orlando and preferred to stay at a timeshare rather than the conference hotel.

This property is very well located, very close to Disney and to International Drive. The property is directly across the highway from Seaworld.

Arriving at the front desk, the greeting was quick and the check-in process was smooth (unlike some other reviews here). Once the check-in process is completed, you will be assigned a "personal concierge" who will escort you to your room and who provides their cell number for anything that comes up. So far, so good.

The room I had was a 1 bedroom suite, with a small refrigerator, 2 stove burners, a microwave and a dishwasher. The unit also has a combo washer/dryer. It was nicely decorated and was clean. If you want a bigger TV than a 26" flat panel and terrible cable service, go somewhere else. The one awful thing with my room is that it was facing hwy 4. The hum from the highway was deafening all the time and when large trucks were rolling by I thought some were driving into the room. MAKE SURE that your room is NOT facing the highway. Since my family didn't join me on this trip, I chose to only mention the noise to the front desk without putting in an "official complaint" as offered by the person at the front desk as you walk into the hotel lobby.

I did sign up for the internet service as I had work to do in the evenings - it's expensive, about $40 for a week. The wireless signal strength I had was awful as it was spotty (up and down). I complained to the front desk who essentially said "too bad" and wouldn't remove the charge even though I complained about it to 3 people over the week. I promoted my complaint to "my personal concierge" who said he would take care of it. It wasn't. I complained during checkout and the supervisor again said that "its been charged to the room so there's nothing he can do". I paid the $40. Awful.

I had asked my concierge for 2 separate items during the week I was there and my requests were never completed.

Overall, I would not stay at this property again and considering the multitude of options in this area of Orlando, you would be better served looking somewhere else. Try the various Marriott timeshares in the area - they're awesome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a great family vacation and took advantage of free shuttles to several parks. Played mini put put, ping pong and fished too. Great pools. Central from airport, universal, sea world, & Disney. Kitchen kept our food costs down. So much better than a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are honored to be your home away from home. We are glad that you were able to make use of the full size kitchen during your stay. We like incorporating kitchens in our units, because we know it can help make a family vacation much more affordable. We look forward to your next vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

First if all the resort is huge. So as you know there are benifits and negatives to that. It's all about location of your room. We stayed in the 2300 building which are the older rooms with a 80's feel. We stayed in 2331 which has a great view of a tree from the screened in balcony not the lake in which we thought it was. Make sure if you have kids to stay as close to the main gate as possible because they have 2 main pools where all the action, games, and food is. There are other basic smaller pools on property. They do have row boats we tried which was fun and a put put course. Both are free if you have the VIP activity card which cost $5 when you book. The gym is also great but located in the main building. They also have a activities bldg. which has free crafts along with ones costing $2-5 each. There is a Walmart down the street where you can get food because as I said you have a full kitchen plus a w/d to clean clothes. You also have a option to listen to timeshare here for cheaper rooms or just rent the rooms. Just count on 3 hrs. Of your time. So remember if you stay make sure you stay closer to the main bldg. the rooms are very modern and you will be closer to the larger pools,gym, row boats, rental bikes, and tennis courts. They do have 1 shuttle to the parks so book your reservation early so you can catch a free ride to the parks. This is located right around the corner from I-drive.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We thank you for reviewing Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. Yes, you are correct, we have a large property that includes sports, water activities such as boating and kayaking, miniature golf, crafts & activities, an award winning restaurant, Smokehouse Grill, a large amount of pools and hot tubs and so much more. We are doing renovations and apologize if you received a room that has not yet been done. With our great location close to the attractions and International Drive, amenities and dining, there is a lot to do on your vacation. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Address: 10000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#137 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa in Orlando, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home! All villas are non-smoking and range from Studio Villas with kitchenette and large jetted tub that sleep 4 to spacious Four-Bedroom Villas with full kitchen plus two kitchenettes that sleep up to 16, all within minutes of Orlando's world-class theme parks and tourist attractions. With scheduled shuttle service to Disney, Universal, SeaWorld and the Orlando Premium Outlets, 7 pools, full service Serenity Spa, Marketplace, Smokehouse Grill restaurant, Sid's Bistro serving Starbucks, extensive Activities program and lakefront Marina there is sure to be something for everyone. Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa is also pet friendly, allowing one pet under 60 lbs (fees apply). Come enjoy your Orlando vacation in comfort at the Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Lake Resort Spa
Westgate Resort Orlando
Westgate Lakes Florida
Westgate Lakes Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lake Resort Orlando
Westgate Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lakes Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.