We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WESTGATE RESORTS COULD BE BETTER” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   10000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off Room Rate
Ranked #173 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Sebring, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“WESTGATE RESORTS COULD BE BETTER”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

When we checked in they sent us to a second VIP TIMESHARE desk TO GET US SET UP FOR A PRESENTATION, WHICH WE HAD NO IDEA WAS THERE..We should have declined at that point. With a $20 deposit to meet in the morning for their presentation, which included breakfast..WHICH WE ALREADY HAD FROM TRAVELZOO..We canceled their Presentation in the morning and 3 desks later got our $20 back... Thanks to our TRAVELZOO reservation to save the trip. Our 89.00 per night, for two nights and a Welcome Drink , and four Great Breakfasts at their Smoke house Restaurant..Had the ham and cheese omlet,rye toast and fruit dish.VERY GOOD and.No potatoes, yuk.
They had a lot of young family's there..The Pools were busy..The property was attractive with a lot of activities..This is not a quiet resort. We had young people screaming andrunning around a midnight. Furniture being dragged across the floor at midnight too..
The had a family fire pit burning between our buildings#1700 and # 1400.. Nice except the smoke was being sucked into the A/C intake vents and we got a headache until the odor cleared..
Our bed was nice and lower to the floor than most hotels.. The room was ok and the WiFi worked great. The Bath was perfect as was the walk-In shower. Nice towels also..
The wet sink in the Dinnette area faucet were reversed..Hot and Cold..
The Storage Rooms by the Elevator smelled bad and were totally upside down..Sorry I opened the door..Ice machine was out or broke the second night..I went to Bld# 1800 to get Ice..Bring your own Wine or Bourbon if you don't want to be disappointed..The JIM BEAM Manhattan is a one even shot over ice in a plastic cup for $6.00..not up to par..( SEE PICTURES)
We went to Orlando to Shop and eat good food and enjoy our drinks in the evening..We managed to do this, But we were prepared.. Also bring our special blend coffee for the morning..
Life is Great but we probably will not return to WESTGATE RESORTS..

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th floor to avoid some of the NOISE.We had room # 1752..Fifth floor..Not so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your vacation stay at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. Feedback from our guests is very important to us so we know how our visitors perceive our service, value and amenities. We were pleased to know you enjoyed our resort and discovered the vast amount of amenities we offer. The resort is large, but we have seven pools to use so there is always an opportunity to find the perfect location for whatever your needs may be. Your comments have been shared with members of our management team so they are aware of your comments. Thank you for selecting Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa for your vacation destination when visiting Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    890
    430
    324
    448
See reviews for
1,607
601
51
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here the end of January.
Went with family including kids 13, 12, 10. Had a two bedroom unit. Was very nice place, about a ten minute drive max to universal islands of adventure, sea world.
Check in was about 11pm and was easy. Not sure how it would be during the day.
Resort seemed pretty empty when we went. Not sure i would like when full as parking is limited.
For the price a great place to stay. Full kitchen, two bathrooms, etc. much better than a motel and not any more expensive than a decent hotel.

For area in general:
Lots of places to eat close, that said you want a rental car. Nothing off property within walking distance, but minutes by car.
I know most people don't want to pull kids out of school to go on vacation, but if this is a once in a lifetime or once in several year trip pull them out and go in slow season. Whatever you do don't go over spring break or Christmas. I would imagine summer time the lines and the heat would be terrible.

We went January 26 to February 2. Weather was perfect. Some mornings we wore a sweatshirt to park. Could take off by noon at latest.
Lines for best rides at park no more then 15 minutes max for the whole week. Some of the coaster rides we could get off and get back in line and back on in minutes. We heard that over Christmas break lines for Harry potter ride were 2-3 hrs. Some said got 6 rides in all day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your response about your Orlando vacation and your stay at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. You are correct, you visited during a great time when the weather is nice. However, it is always nice in Florida and before actual spring break. We were pleased you were satisfied with your accommodations and found how convenient we are to all the theme parks. We hope we were able to create a great vacation memory when staying and hope you will consider Westgate again when visiting Orlando, Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

when we first arrived we were greeted by everyone! the line to check in was a little long but they moved along pretty fast then a nice older lady gave my 2 year old cookies before they showed us to our room. I didnt like how the rooms were two sided with A&B because all night we heard the people next door coming in and out but the good thing was you couldnt hear them once they were in! they also gave us a room over the lake in the building 5 where we could see the fireworks from disney that was a plus! The Villa was an ok clean could have been alot better!we stayed here for a weekend getaway to take our little boy to universal wish we could have stayed longer to use more of the resorts amenities! I dont know where people are getting asked about timeshare nobody not once approached me or my family about it! We would defiantly stay again!!!!!

Room Tip: ask for a new building the old ones look pretty old!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We appreciate you and your family visiting Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa and your comments on your stay. It was great to know we met your expectations when staying with us and you would like to return to stay longer. We offer some great views of the lake which allows our guests to watch the Disney fireworks display. Knowing we greeted you upon arrival is nice to know because we strive to excel in providing great guest service to everyone. Thank you for selecting Westgate Lakes Resort for your weekend getaway. We look forward to you staying long next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I got a good deal on Expedia for this hotel. As we were going to be at disney all day I didn't want to spend a lot on a hotel and this seemed in a good location at a good price. I had pretty low expectations of this hotel and when we had to wait 45 minutes in a que at 2am to check in I thought my expectations were correct. However, when we got to the desk, ready to complain, the staff were lovely and gave us a room upgrade and helped us with little things like free wi-fi. The apartment was huge, we could have had 6 people stay there. The pools were lovely and clean. The restaurant is tasty and there is a Starbucks in reception which I was great!! Check out took 2 seconds. Job well done.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your visit to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. We want our guests to enjoy themselves along with providing a good value. Sorry it took so long to check you in. However, it was good to read how we addressed the issues and turned the situation around. We were happy you enjoyed all the amenities of the resort, our Starbucks and the Smokehouse restaurant. Thank you for the compliments. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The rooms and the resort are very nice, well taken care of, and clean. The room was quiet. The pools at the far ends of the hotel were very nice, and fairly empty...which was a good thing. However, check in took forever and then they pass you off to a welcome specialist or something who then passes you off to someone else who wants to sell you a timeshare. They weren't too pushy, but it was still annoying after traveling all day, and just wanting to get to your room. Also, the resort is very busy. Finding a parking spot was sometimes difficult.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa with us. It was great to know you found the resort nice and everything met your expectations with regards to cleanliness. Our apologies if you felt the check in process was too long especially after a long journey. Like all of Orlando we were very busy during the time you stayed with us, so if you found it difficult to find a close parking space we are sorry. We were pleased to know you had a good time and hope to see you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Normally before making reservations at any Hotel/Motel/Resort I check TripAdvisor to see if there's any reason I should stay else where. With Westgate Resorts I didn't as my sister made the arrangements for her, my wife, daughter, cousin and wife to stay for 2 nights. I'm certainly glad I didn't read the reviews because I would not have given the place a second thought. However upon check-in I was impressed. We were greeted by Mr. Brahim Aitdaud the on duty Front Office Manager who was just a pleasent individual and took us to the Registration Desk where MS Detoria Hargis checked us in. MS Hargis displayed a keen sense of humor not often seen in the hospitality industry. She was just a nice young lady. Upon entering the first adjoining room I was rather disappointed by it's size but when we got to the next room my disappointment turned to astonishment at the size of the room. This room had the jetted tub and the walk in shower which were really large. Everything was very clean and well maintained contrary to the negative reviews I read upon returning home. Other than the towels being a bit thin nothing was wrong. Would have liked to have been able to stay longer than the two nights as the facility was so pleasent. One more example of the friendlyness of Westgate's employees was the morning I was walking to the Starbucks to get a cup of coffee I was asked twice if I needed a ride.

Room Tip: The facility is right off a busy highway so I would recommend a roon in the rear of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your visit to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. It was nice to know your arrival was impressive and you were welcomed by our Front Office Manager, Mr. Aitdaud, who assisted you along with Ms. Hargis. In addition, we were happy to know you were satisfied with the villa you were given and the rest of your visit was a pleasant one. Our goal is to provide a quality vacation experience with great value in an effort to create great memories. We trust from your review we were able to do this. Thank you for choosing our resort for your getaway. We hope you will consider returning when you have more time to spend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Westgate Lakes. I just wish we had more time to enjoy the amenities. The location was convenient and I truly appreciate the fact that they honor our military. Thanks Westgate Lakes!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Welcome back to Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa! It’s always a pleasure to have you visit us at the resort. We love that you were able to enjoy the quiet location, the comfortable beds and our amenities. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

Address: 10000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#137 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa in Orlando, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home! All villas are non-smoking and range from Studio Villas with kitchenette and large jetted tub that sleep 4 to spacious Four-Bedroom Villas with full kitchen plus two kitchenettes that sleep up to 16, all within minutes of Orlando's world-class theme parks and tourist attractions. With scheduled shuttle service to Disney, Universal, SeaWorld and the Orlando Premium Outlets, 7 pools, full service Serenity Spa, Marketplace, Smokehouse Grill restaurant, Sid's Bistro serving Starbucks, extensive Activities program and lakefront Marina there is sure to be something for everyone. Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa is also pet friendly, allowing one pet under 60 lbs (fees apply). Come enjoy your Orlando vacation in comfort at the Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Lake Resort Spa
Westgate Resort Orlando
Westgate Lakes Florida
Westgate Lakes Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lake Resort Orlando
Westgate Hotel Orlando
Westgate Lakes Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.