We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Nice hotel - housekeeping not so much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Palace Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate Palace Resort to your Saves list
Westgate Palace Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6145 Carrier Drive, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off Room Rate
Ranked #169 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good location, Nice hotel - housekeeping not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed 3 days at hotel for second time as part of large golfing event. The look of the hotel has improved since last visit a few years ago. Front desk staff nice and friendly. Very nice pool area and fitness facility. Hot tub wasn't hot only lukewarm, but very large. We had a 2 bedroom 1 king and 2 twins. Furnishing were modern and comfortable. Great location between International dr and Universal Dr. Close to shopping, eating and attractions.

Issues:
Housekeeper accosted me when I was getting off elevator returning to my room at 10am demanding I let her clean my room because she "had to go and my room was on her list". I advised her I would be out of the room in 2 hours and it could be cleaned then. With agitation she tells me well she is just going to leave towels and I need anything else call front desk. We exchanged a few more words prior to me heading back to the front desk to speak with management about their housekeeping policies.

After waiting 15 minutes, Manager Carlos comes to tell me that the room would be serviced when I needed and to contact him directly. He was polite. I'm sure the housekeeper had forwarned him I was on my way. However, he did not directly answer my query on is it common practice for housekeeping to follow guest around the property as part of the housekeeping policy when the staff has to leave due to shift changes.....

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    313
    114
    72
    94
See reviews for
639
56
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Orlando has thousands of hotels just choose one that offer you a decent internet connection (here you have to pay 4$ to upgrade to the 1990, with the free wifi you can't even twit!
The fake "Cesar palace" (if the Cesar palace is not fake enough for you!) decoration with plastic cheap sofa.
A normal endowed receptionist would certainly help!


Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our family of five went to Universal over Spring Break and stayed here. We had a great two-bedroom place with a fold-out couch and good-sized kitchen. It was right next to the Wet N Wild Water Park, so we could walk, and it was a short drive to Universal City Walk and Parks. The only reason it got 4 instead of 5 stars is because the pool was fairly unimpressive, but since the water park is right next door we didn't even use it. This was definitely the best hotel for the price in the area that we found!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Floirida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was our first and last stay at a Westgate property. The rooms are very nice but that is where the pleasantries end. After waiting in a long to register, we were told we had to go to another desk (hijacked) for the "welcome gift" which was just another sales pitch to attend a time share presentation. We had no choice as they kept the room keys until we did. We were never told there was NO DAILY HOUSEKEEPING or LACK OF AVAILABLE PARKING ON PREMISES or about NON-GUESTS USING THE POOL & SPA or about the overflow PARKING LOCATED ACROSS A BUSY 4 LANE HIGHWAY with no security or not being able to get help or a luggage cart for luggage. Staff and security were very rude and uncaring. People by the pool were obnoxious with behavior and language (I found this true throughout the hotel,) yet, not one staff member appeared to notice or care. Unsupervised young children with pool floats were allowed to play, jump and splash in the hot tub and mess with the timer controls while staff walked by and did nothing. There were 3 people at the poolside Tiki-bar yet we waited quite a while for service then the bartender rolled her eyes and seemed quite annoyed when we didn't order one of the "special" drinks on the laminated menu. All in all, the room was clean, roomy and quite nice. The kitchen was ample with plenty of space to cook and sit. I particularly liked the tile floors; however, the uncaring staff, the deceitfulness, the lack of secure parking and obnoxious clientele this place attracts is quite unacceptable no matter the price or "deal" and I would never consider purchasing a time share with these people. There are way to many other places in Orlando that are just as nice and nicer. I will go elsewhere from now on and not repeat the discomfort, I would advise others do likewise.

Room Tip: another hotel would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Otima localizacao, acomodacoes muito boas, todo aparato para cozinhar, lavar e secar! Wi-fi gratis em todo hotel, otima academia e uma piscina 10! Recomendo!
Great direction towards parks and outlets, good accomodations on room and full device kitchen and laundry inside room. Free wifi, great fitness room and awesome swiming pool!

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We booked the room based on the living/kitchen room having enough space to entertain our extended family however in the pictures it shows a living room with an island that seats 4 as well as a couch in the same space but when we got there we discovered that the kitchen we got did not even have one drawer in it. They had to put the utensils in the over for storage. we had a square in the corner for prep space so therefore we could not cook in the room at all. When we called the front desk we were told that the pictures are for owner suites only and you would have to buy into the timeshare to get them. We then found a bottle of half drunk scotch in our room, No coffee maker, ice maker did not work and they do not have an ice maker on property, We were tripping over each other the whole time we stayed.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

after a very bad start of double booking our first night, they did everything to make sure we got our room we booked for the remaining 9 nights and refunded our first night for the inconvenience. They made arrangements for us to stay in a sister hotel but that was terrible so was so pleased when we finally checked into our room.

Having previously stayed at the west gate towers in kissimmee we knew what to expect

the 2 bedroom apaertment had had good sized rooms but not as big as the kissimmee property. master bedroom was smallish, hot tube and shower were tiny. kitchen was a little tight but had all the facilities we required. most importantly a washer dryer. 2 bedroom apartment was exactly as pictured on the website and because they are tall buildings it wasn't too hard to get to your room. Parking as an issue a few nights but easy to park across the road.

What made this place superb was the location. 10 minute walk to wet n wild and 5 minute drive to universal. they even offer a free shuttle service. we saved $50 in parking alone as we just walked to wet n wild

The thing i didn't like was the time share element, we politely declined and were left alone but the hotel reception was busy in the morning were loads of people waiting for timeshare presentations

also the staff and housekeeping were amazing. cleaned room and left supplies, even did the washing up. don't think I've ever had a thank you note for leaving a tip for housekeeping before.

the maintenance people came and sorted out a electrical fault when we spotted them doing another job. could have easily made us call reception to log the job

Also a bonus is they provide free wifi in your room

So it has a few downsides but overall a nice hotel in a superb location

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Palace Resort

Address: 6145 Carrier Drive, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#161 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate Palace Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Palace, located off International Drive, is walking distance from Wet 'n' Wild, shops and restaurants and only minutes from tourist attractions like Universal Studios, SeaWorld, Premium Outlets and Convention Center. Just a short 15 minute drive to Walt Disney World as well. All Two-Bedroom, Two-Bathroom Villas at Westgate Palace offer spectacular aerial views of the nearby attractions, as well as fully equipped kitchens, living areas, jetted tubs and washer/dryers. On-site amenities include a deli and marketplace that serves Starbucks coffee, outdoor heated pool, children's pool, poolside bar, lakefront marina with paddle boats and fishing, nightly fire pit, activities center with movie theater, a steam room and arcade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Westgate Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Palace Hotel Orlando
Westgate Palace Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Palace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.