We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Propety -- Great for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Palace Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate Palace Resort to your Saves list
Westgate Palace Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6145 Carrier Drive, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off Room Rate
Ranked #193 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
“Very Nice Propety -- Great for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The room was exactly as advertised, nicely appointed and very comfortable for a family of 4. The beds were extremely comfortable and having the 2 bedrooms was a must with 2 kids. The timeshare presentation was advertised as 60 minutes but was going to exceed 2 hours at the current rate. The associate ended up being very rude to my wife after 1 hr 40 minutes and they push extremely hard and don't really listen to reasoning.

Be aware that the shuttle from the resort to the parks is free as advertised but only runs 2 times in the morning and 2 times in the evening (last return time is actually before closing time at the parks).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We appreciate your responses concerning your stay. Thank you for your nice words on our great property for families. This feedback will surely help us to improve the overall guest experience. Please accept our apology if a member of our staff was less than courteous. We hope you will stay with us again once more.

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    276
    102
    64
    81
See reviews for
563
49
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I have stayed a number of places in the Orlando area, This place was very nice for the money! We needed a place the kids would have their own room and own bed. This worked out perfect. Yes it is not as big as some others but it was perfect for us. The only issue was parking. If you are going to stay out late it might be a challenge to find a place to park when you get back. As the title says Best Value in Orlando!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our resort. It is absolutely wonderful that you got the best value for your money. We are always looking to enhance our guests stay. Please come back to visit us soon!

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

First we too experienced problems with shower leaked everywhere had to use alot of towels place was nice tried to be high class but was made cheap we went to activities center three times trying to rent paddle boat all three times a different reason why they were closed we did the time share presentation said we would eat then see video guy sit with us while we eat stared at us and talked garbage was nice till we said no thanks for buying and then turned hostile very demanding then went to get his supervisor then another lady at a different angle never got to eat would not waste my money again loud music couldnt think and real high interest

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
We appreciate your responses concerning your stay at Westgate Palace. We strive to provide the ultimate vacation for our guests. It’s disappointing to know that this was not the experience you received. Thank you for this information for this will be relayed to the appropriate management team. Please revisit us in the future to see how we are working hard to exceed your expectations.

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Last February, my family and I had a very bad experience at one of your hotels in Orlando, Westgate Resort Palace My 4 year old son had an accident. He slipped getting out of the shower. The shower leaked and water over the threshold to floor outside. He slipped and hit back and elbows in fall. Shoer threshold has no protective rubber cover on edge. My husband and I had to take care of the situation and paid for all the expenses that derived from the said incident. The hotel manager promised a refund with 10 business days. A month later there is no refund. Costumer service can't really help us. I am very disappointed with the way we have been treated and I will warn the next customers. Why were we treated so badly? I want to be sure that this complaint reaches someone who understands this is not quality service. Nadejda Y Mellado México

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Guest satisfaction is our top priority and the issues you experienced are not our usual standard of service. The issues you experienced are very rare and we are glad that we were able to research this situation and bring you a resolution. We hope that you will make Westgate Resorts your choice in the future so that we may provide a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Lissy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed in one of the suite rooms at Westgate Palace and thought it was great. The layout was ideal for a family with small kids, one room had a king sized bed, another room had two twins and a comfortable couch could easily accommodate another person. The suite has a small kitchen with a refrigerator and stove, and washer/dryer in the larger room. I only stayed for one night but wish I could have stayed longer because of the location (5 minutes to Universal) and because the amenities would have made it easy to stay without having to go out for every meal.

I didn't get a chance to go in the pool but it looked great. My room had a great view of the lake and Wet n' Wild.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We appreciate you taking a moment to review Westgate Palace. It’s great to hear you had such a great time with your family. As mentioned, we are located close to a lot of attractions, such as theme parks, restaurants, and shopping. We’re glad you enjoyed the great view and the room amenities. We really hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Our stay at Westgate Palace in Orlando was less than we hoped for.
There was some minor construction going on during our stay, but had no effect to our stay.
When we arrived Wednesday at 6pm or there about, there was only one person working at the front desk, we stood in line for over 15 minutes while other management looking staff wandered and stood around the entry. There was only one bellhop working at this time too. The front desk agent was nice, but very quiet, she was impersonable, but nice and got us checked it without issue.
We got to the room and it was nice, a 2 bedroom suite with a descent view, the appearance of the room unfortunately was better than the function of the room.
The room is not cheap and the rules of the hotel are to charge you for wifi $10.00 per day, wasn't worth it since we weren't going to be in the room for much other than showers and sleep.
The shower was very small in one of the rooms, the shower also leaked so bad that we had to use all the towels in the room to clean up after we showered. The room had a washer and a dryer which was handy for washing the hotels towels each day we were there.
When we informed the hotel staff of the leaking shower, they didn't seem to be too concerned and their solution was to bring us more towels to use and wash to clean up the faulty shower. The shower in the other bathroom was larger and more comfortable to use, but still leaked just as bad as the crackerbox shower.
The recent rennovation of the rooms also came with electrical issues. The TV, Alarmclock, Ceiling Fan and Light and vanity light are all on the same circuit, so if you have all running at the same time, they breaker trips. We tripped the breaker in this room more than once during our visit, which was annoying more than anything.
The kitchen was nice and was fully supplied as a kitchen needs to be, but the kitchen faucet was badly worn and needs to be replaced, it was difficult to turn on and off and it wasn't more than a few years old. The faucet was so loose it wouldn't take much to pull it apart and right off the sink.
Every night there were at least 3 flyers from fast food delivery places. This was nice, but in searching the food places on Yelp, most had horrible reviews, which was interesting that such a nicely appearing place with an emphasis on security would allow these people in to advertise terribly reviewed dining solutions.

There are two nice automatic storefront entry doors that require your room key to open from the outside, but only one side worked during our trip.

All in all the place was nice and looked really good on the surface, but the function of the property needs some more attention. It's location to major attractions makes it a great place to stay, but some more work and care would make this place so much better. It gets an average rating because it's really a "lipstick on a pig" property.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to evaluate Westgate Palace. At our resort we try to check our guests into their units in the shortest time possible. Our management team is there to overlook the entire resort process and step in to assist if needed. We do not tolerate any outside solicitations and we appreciate you for bringing this to our attention. The issues you encountered during your stay will be forwarded to the general manager. This will allow us to make future visits for our guests even better.

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Don't be fooled by the fancy facade. If you will be satisfied with a nice room and a great location, by all means stay here, but if you expect even a modicum of service while on a week-long vacation, flee for your life!!!

The hotel itself looks pretty, but this is an entirely superficial observation. A closer look reveals that the building was clearly constructed on the strictest, most flimsy budget--corners cut at each opportunity more aggressively than edward scissorhands on adderall with a stack of construction paper. Upon closer inspection, the towers are a quartet of cracker-jack boxes that seem to be of comparable structural integrity. The room itself has lovely counters, but this impressive first impression belies the junk appliances furnishing the suite. Do not use the dryer unless you want your clothes coming out in such a manner that you will look like a snowman when you put them back on (provided that your things even emerged clean from the washer). The dish washer could have easily been hauled out by an ambitious thief as reparations for the mischief yet to come, as the resort apparently could not even spare a few extra cents to buy bolts to fix it into position. The thing was flopping around tippy-like; never seen anything like it. These are not deal-breakers for me anyway, but certainly says something for the overall quality of the place.

As guests of the timeshare owner, we were promised all the owner priveledges, including a complementary breakfast the morning following check-in. After we got ready and went down early, we were promptly turned away by the attendant as we were not the timeshare owners. What a great first day. Sheer madness.

A few days later, we requested housekeeping come remove the trash, and this was promised by the front desk. We returned that night to find everything quite as it was left. The following day housekeeping came by at a rousing 8:30am call. As we were not yet vacated (imagine that!), they left. Never to return. When on the following morning I asked that housekeeping return the next day, for a third night in a row we returned to a sadly neglected room. I am a very patient sort, but three strikes and you're out, by George!!! We began to notice a pattern which would suggest that this veritable customer service vacuum was no unfortunate coincidence.

Another fun experience was when we purchased park tickets through their discount service desk. The woman did not bother to return my credit card. Though I assume full responsibility for my part in this oversight, let it be known that zero attempt was made by the staff to return it to me. No one contacted me to let me know that it was left behind. The card was not even turned in to security! Just before having lost all hope, I learned that it was left lying around the ticket desk until upon request they were finally able to locate it the next day, in plain sight.

These depressing anecdotes demonstrate that the helpless and generally indifferent staff (bartender excepted) will go to no lengths whatsoever to ensure your comfort and satisfaction during your stay.

After a long day on the down my girlfriend and I had the privilege of parking off-site on our last night of the week. As there was not enough parking at the resort and customers were reduced to circling the lot like angry vultures, we had to park across the street (a main four-lane road, mind you). We were lucky that our vehicle was not towed for it, nevermind that we were not flattened by the speeding traffic.

This experience was by far the worst example of customer service I have ever experienced. The "palace" is one in name only. I may as well have stayed in a palace on the moon.

I would return strictly for the above-mentioned reasons. If you choose to visit, please learn from these obnoxious experiences that your stay may be more pleasant. Expect nothing from this incompetently staffed resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
We truly appreciate your comments about your recent stay with us. Please accept our apologies in regards to your vacation stay at our resort. The issues encountered by you will be shared with management in order to make sure we are providing the best service we can. We are diligently working on the upgrades of our units, through a renovating and maintenance schedule. We hope you allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Palace Resort

Address: 6145 Carrier Drive, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#98 Business Hotel in Orlando
#166 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate Palace Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Palace, located off International Drive, is walking distance from Wet 'n' Wild, shops and restaurants and only minutes from tourist attractions like Universal Studios, SeaWorld, Premium Outlets and Convention Center. Just a short 15 minute drive to Walt Disney World as well. All Two-Bedroom, Two-Bathroom Villas at Westgate Palace offer spectacular aerial views of the nearby attractions, as well as fully equipped kitchens, living areas, jetted tubs and washer/dryers. On-site amenities include a deli and marketplace that serves Starbucks coffee, outdoor heated pool, children's pool, poolside bar, lakefront marina with paddle boats and fishing, nightly fire pit, activities center with movie theater, a steam room and arcade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westgate Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Palace Hotel Orlando
Westgate Palace Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Palace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.